Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fundamentals of Electrical Engineering by
Publication Date: 2016
"Fundamentals of Electrical Engineering" is an interdisciplinary subject of great importance in the domain of not only electrical engineering but also to the other disciplines of engineering. This book is a compendium of the basics and fundamentals of electrical engineering.
Linear Circuit Transfer Functions by
Publication Date: 2016-05-31
Linear Circuit Transfer Functions: An introduction to Fast Analytical Techniques teaches readers how to determine transfer functions of linear passive and active circuits by applying Fast Analytical Circuits Techniques. Building on their existing knowledge of classical loop/nodal analysis, the book improves and expands their skills to unveil transfer functions in a swift and efficient manner. Starting with simple examples, the author explains step-by-step how expressing circuits time constants in different configurations leads to writing transfer functions in a compact and insightful way. By learning how to organize numerators and denominators in the fastest possible way, readers will speed-up analysis and predict the frequency response of simple to complex circuits. In some cases, they will be able to derive the final expression by inspection, without writing a line of algebra. Key features: Emphasizes analysis through employing time constant-based methods discussed in other text books but not widely used or explained. Develops current techniques on transfer functions, to fast analytical techniques leading to low-entropy transfer functions immediately exploitable for analysis purposes. Covers calculation techniques pertinent to different fields, electrical, electronics, signal processing etc. Describes how a technique is applied and demonstrates this through real design examples. All Mathcad® files used in examples and problems are freely available for download. An ideal reference for electronics or electrical engineering professionals as well as BSEE and MSEE students, this book will help teach them how to: become skilled in the art of determining transfer function by using less algebra and obtaining results in a more effectual way; gain insight into a circuit's operation by understanding how time constants rule dynamic responses; apply Fast Analytical Techniques to simple and complicated circuits, passive or active and be more efficient at solving problems.
Ugly's Electrical Safety and NFPA by
Publication Date: 2015-06-30
Ensure Your Jobs Comply with Important Safety Standards with Ugly's Electrical Safety and NFPA 70E®, 2015 Edition! Ugly's Electrical Safety and NFPA 70E®, 2015 Edition is the market leading pocket-sized reference manual for electrical safety. Based on NFPA 70E 2015, this new edition summarizes current OSHA regulations as well as the National Electrical Code®. Designed for electricians, engineers, contractors, designers, maintenance workers, inspectors, instructors, and students, this invaluable resource provides fast access to the most commonly referenced sections of the latest NFPA 70E and related safety standards. Important updates in the 2015 NFPA 70E include: * Arc flash hazard analysis is now arc flash risk assessment * Hazard/risk category (HRC) is now arc flash PPE category * A new table has been added to identify when arc flash PPE is required * A new table has been added to determine the arc flash PPE category
Advanced Electric Drives by
Publication Date: 2014-07-22
With nearly two-thirds of global electricity consumed by electric motors, it should come as no surprise that their proper control represents appreciable energy savings. The efficient use of electric drives also has far-reaching applications in such areas as factory automation (robotics), clean transportation (hybrid-electric vehicles), and renewable (wind and solar) energy resource management. Advanced Electric Drives utilizes a physics-based approach to explain the fundamental concepts of modern electric drive control and its operation under dynamic conditions. Author Ned Mohan, a decades-long leader in Electrical Energy Systems (EES) education and research, reveals how the investment of proper controls, advanced MATLAB and Simulink simulations, and careful forethought in the design of energy systems translates to significant savings in energy and dollars. Offering students a fresh alternative to standard mathematical treatments of dq-axis transformation of a-b-c phase quantities, Mohan's unique physics-based approach "visualizes" a set of representative dq windings along an orthogonal set of axes and then relates their currents and voltages to the a-b-c phase quantities. Advanced Electric Drives is an invaluable resource to facilitate an understanding of the analysis, control, and modelling of electric machines. * Gives readers a "physical" picture of electric machines and drives without resorting to mathematical transformations for easy visualization * Confirms the physics-based analysis of electric drives mathematically * Provides readers with an analysis of electric machines in a way that can be easily interfaced to common power electronic converters and controlled using any control scheme * Makes the MATLAB/Simulink files used in examples available to anyone in an accompanying website * Reinforces fundamentals with a variety of discussion questions, concept quizzes, and homework problems
Alternative Energy in Power Electronics by
Publication Date: 2014-10-28
This new resource is a practical overview of designing, testing and troubleshooting power electronics in alternative energy systems, providing you with the most important information on how power electronics components such as inverters, controllers and batteries can play a pivotal role in the successful implementation of green energy solutions for both stand-alone and grid-connected applications. You will learn how to choose the right components for diverse systems, from utility-scale wind farms to photovoltaic panels on single residences, how to get the most out of existing systems, and how to solve the tough challenges particular to alternative energy applications. Whether you are a renewables professional who needs to understand more about how power electronics impact energy output, or a power engineer who is interested in learning what new avenues the alternative energy revolution is opening for your work, start here with advice and explanations from the experts, including equations, diagrams and tables designed to help you understand and succeed. Provides a thorough overview of the key technologies, methods and challenges for implementing power electronics in alternative energy systems for optimal power generation Includes hard-to-find information on how to apply converters, inverters, batteries, controllers and more for stand-alone and grid-connected systems Covers wind and solar applications, as well as ocean and geothermal energy, hybrid systems and fuel cells
Reliability Characterisation of Electrical and Electronic Systems by
Publication Date: 2014-12-24
This book takes a holistic approach to reliability engineering for electrical and electronic systems by looking at the failure mechanisms, testing methods, failure analysis, characterisation techniques and prediction models that can be used to increase reliability for a range of devices. The text describes the reliability behavior of electrical and electronic systems. It takes an empirical scientific approach to reliability engineering to facilitate a greater understanding of operating conditions, failure mechanisms and the need for testing for a more realistic characterisation. After introducing the fundamentals and background to reliability theory, the text moves on to describe the methods of reliability analysis and charactersation across a wide range of applications. Takes a holistic approach to reliability engineering Looks at the failure mechanisms, testing methods, failure analysis, characterisation techniques and prediction models that can be used to increase reliability Facilitates a greater understanding of operating conditions, failure mechanisms and the need for testing for a more realistic characterisation
Dataflow Processing by
Publication Date: 2015-02-06
Since its first volume in 1960, Advances in Computers has presented detailed coverage of innovations in computer hardware, software, theory, design, and applications. It has also provided contributors with a medium in which they can explore their subjects in greater depth and breadth than journal articles usually allow. As a result, many articles have become standard references that continue to be of significant, lasting value in this rapidly expanding field. In-depth surveys and tutorials on new computer technology Well-known authors and researchers in the field Extensive bibliographies with most chapters Many of the volumes are devoted to single themes or subfields of computer science
Principles of Electromagnetics Five by
Publication Date: 2014-12-01
Electromagnetics is not an easy subject for students. The subject presents a number of challenges, such as: new math, new physics, new geometry, new insights and difficult problems. As a result, every aspect needs to be presented to students carefully, with thorough mathematics and strong physical insights and even alternative ways of viewing and formulating the subject. The theoretician James Clerk Maxwell and the experimentalist Michael Faraday, both shown on the cover, had high respect for physical insights. This book is written primarily as a text for an undergraduate course in electromagnetics, taken by junior and senior engineering and physics students. The book can also serve as a text for beginning graduate courses by including advanced subjects and problems. The book has been thoroughly class-tested for many years for a two-semester Electromagnetics course at Syracuse University for electrical engineering and physics students. It could also be used for a one-semester course, covering up through Chapter 8 and perhaps skipping Chapter 4 and some other parts. For a one-semester course with more emphasis on waves, the instructor could briefly cover basic materials from statics (mainly Chapters 2 and 6) and then cover Chapters 8 through 12.
Energy Efficient Servers by
Publication Date: 2015-03-28
Energy Efficient Servers: Blueprints for Data Center Optimization introduces engineers and IT professionals to the power management technologies and techniques used in energy efficient servers. The book includes a deep examination of different features used in processors, memory, interconnects, I/O devices, and other platform components. It outlines the power and performance impact of these features and the role firmware and software play in initialization and control. Using examples from cloud, HPC, and enterprise environments, the book demonstrates how various power management technologies are utilized across a range of server utilization. It teaches the reader how to monitor, analyze, and optimize their environment to best suit their needs. It shares optimization techniques used by data center administrators and system optimization experts at the world's most advanced data centers.
Power Quality in Power Systems and Electrical Machines by
Publication Date: 2015-07-14
The second edition of this must-have reference covers power quality issues in four parts, including new discussions related to renewable energy systems. The first part of the book provides background on causes, effects, standards, and measurements of power quality and harmonics. Once the basics are established the authors move on to harmonic modeling of power systems, including components and apparatus (electric machines). The final part of the book is devoted to power quality mitigation approaches and devices, and the fourth part extends the analysis to power quality solutions for renewable energy systems. Throughout the book worked examples and exercises provide practical applications, and tables, charts, and graphs offer useful data for the modeling and analysis of power quality issues. Provides theoretical and practical insight into power quality problems of electric machines and systems 134 practical application (example) problems with solutions 125 problems at the end of chapters dealing with practical applications 924 references, mostly journal articles and conference papers, as well as national and international standards and guidelines
Wireless Transceiver Architecture by
Publication Date: 2014-10-07
A fully comprehensive reference combining digital communications and RFIC (Radio Frequency Integrated Circuits) in one complete volume There are many books which focus on the physical implementation of the RF/analog part of transceivers, such as the CMOS design, or the signal processing involved in digital communications. However, there is little material dedicated to transceiver architecture and system design. Similarly, much of the existing literature looks at concepts useful for dimensioning, yet offers little practical information on how to proceed for dimensioning a line-up from scratch, and on the reasons for proceeding that way. This book redresses the balance by explaining the architecture of transceivers and their dimensioning from the perspective of a RFIC architect from within industry. It bridges the gap between digital communication systems and radiofrequency integrated circuit design, covering wireless transceiver architecture and system design from both system level and circuit designer aspects. * Covers digital communication theory, electromagnetism theory and wireless networks organization, from theories to implementation, for deriving the minimum set of constraints to be fulfilled by transceivers * Details the limitations in the physical implementation of transceivers to be considered for their dimensioning, in terms of noise, nonlinearity, and RF impairments * Presents transceiver architecture and system design in terms of transceivers budgets, transceivers architectures, and algorithms for transceivers
Offshore Wind Energy Generation by
Publication Date: 2014-06-03
The offshore wind sector's trend towards larger turbines, bigger wind farm projects and greater distance to shore has a critical impact on grid connection requirements for offshore wind power plants. This important reference sets out the fundamentals and latest innovations in electrical systems and control strategies deployed in offshore electricity grids for wind power integration. Includes: All current and emerging technologies for offshore wind integration and trends in energy storage systems, fault limiters, superconducting cables and gas-insulated transformers Protection of offshore wind farms illustrating numerous system integration and protection challenges through case studies Modelling of doubly-fed induction generators (DFIG) and full-converter wind turbines structures together with an explanation of the smart grid concept in the context of wind farms Comprehensive material on power electronic equipment employed in wind turbines with emphasis on enabling technologies (HVDC, STATCOM) to facilitate the connection and compensation of large-scale onshore and offshore wind farms Worked examples and case studies to help understand the dynamic interaction between HVDC links and offshore wind generation Concise description of the voltage source converter topologies, control and operation for offshore wind farm applications Companion website containing simulation models of the cases discussed throughout Equipping electrical engineers for the engineering challenges in utility-scale offshore wind farms, this is an essential resource for power system and connection code designers and pratitioners dealing with integation of wind generation and the modelling and control of wind turbines. It will also provide high-level support to academic researchers and advanced students in power and renewable energy as well as technical and research staff in transmission and distribution system operators and in wind turbine and electrical equipment manufacturers.
Ten Essential Skills for Electrical Engineers by
Publication Date: 2014-03-31
The book is a review of essential skills that an entry-level or experienced engineer must be able to demonstrate on a job interview and perform when hired. It will help engineers prepare for interviews by demonstrating application of basic principles to practical problems. Hiring managers will find the book useful because it defines a common ground between the student's academic background and the company's product or technology-specific needs, thereby allowing managers to minimize their risk when making hiring decisions. Ten Essential Skills contains a series of "How to" chapters. Each chapter realizes a goal, such as designing an active filter or designing a discrete servo. The primary value of these chapters, however, is that they apply engineering fundamentals to practical problems. The book is a handy reference for engineers in their first years on the job. Enables recent graduates in engineering to succeed in challenging technical interviews Written in an intuitive, easy-to-follow style for the benefit of busy students and employers Book focuses on the intersection between company-specific knowledge and engineering fundamentals Companion website includes interview practice problems and advanced material
A First Course on Electronic Engineering by
Publication Date: 2013-10-22
A FIRST COURSE ON ELECTRONIC ENGINEERING comprehensively covers both the basic and advanced aspects of Electronic Engineering and various Communication Technologies. It explains the physics and principles of operation of semiconductor diodes, various special purpose diodes, BJT, MOSFET and power semiconductor devices and discusses a majority of the important configurations and applications of each device. Various modern day audio and video technologies and systems are elucidated in the consumer electronics section. This book meets the needs of those readers who want to gain sound understanding of microwave and cellular communication.