Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Beginner's Guide to Reading Schematics by
Publication Date: 2018-08-08
This up-to-date book shows, step-by-step, how to read, interpret, and create schematic diagrams This revised, illustrated guide explains in plain language how to understand high-precision electronics schematics--and how to draw them. The book starts by defining what is meant by schematic representation and goes on to present and discuss increasingly complex electronic components and circuitry. Beginner's Guide to Reading Schematics, Fourth Edition, shows you how to identify parts and connections, decipher element ratings, and apply diagram-based information in your own electronics projects. Written with the novice in mind, yet useful to more advanced technicians, the book features new coverage of digital electronics and functional circuits. "Follow the Flow" explanations show you how signals move through circuits and electrical systems. *Presented in a no-nonsense style with clear, easy-to-understand graphics *Contains valuable appendices that cover symbols and resistor color codes *Written by an electronics engineer and experienced author
Introduction to Electrical Circuit Analysis by
Publication Date: 2017-05-02
A concise and original presentation of the fundamentals for 'new to the subject' electrical engineers This book has been written for students on electrical engineering courses who don't necessarily possess prior knowledge of electrical circuits. Based on the author's own teaching experience, it covers the analysis of simple electrical circuits consisting of a few essential components using fundamental and well-known methods and techniques. Although the above content has been included in other circuit analysis books, this one aims at teaching young engineers not only from electrical and electronics engineering, but also from other areas, such as mechanical engineering, aerospace engineering, mining engineering, and chemical engineering, with unique pedagogical features such as a puzzle-like approach and negative-case examples (such as the unique "When Things Go Wrong..." section at the end of each chapter). Believing that the traditional texts in this area can be overwhelming for beginners, the author approaches his subject by providing numerous examples for the student to solve and practice before learning more complicated components and circuits. These exercises and problems will provide instructors with in-class activities and tutorials, thus establishing this book as the perfect complement to the more traditional texts. All examples and problems contain detailed analysis of various circuits, and are solved using a 'recipe' approach, providing a code that motivates students to decode and apply to real-life engineering scenarios Covers the basic topics of resistors, voltage and current sources, capacitors and inductors, Ohm's and Kirchhoff's Laws, nodal and mesh analysis, black-box approach, and Thevenin/Norton equivalent circuits for both DC and AC cases in transient and steady states Aims to stimulate interest and discussion in the basics, before moving on to more modern circuits with higher-level components Includes more than 130 solved examples and 120 detailed exercises with supplementary solutions Accompanying website to provide supplementary materials www.wiley.com/go/ergul4412
Power Electronics, Motor Drive Systems by
Publication Date: 2016-11-08
Power Electronics and Motor Drive Systems is designed to aid electrical engineers, researchers, and students to analyze and address common problems in state-of-the-art power electronics technologies. Author Stefanos Manias supplies a detailed discussion of the theory of power electronics circuits and electronic power conversion technology systems, with common problems and methods of analysis to critically evaluate results. These theories are reinforced by simulation examples using well-known and widely available software programs, including SPICE, PSIM, and MATLAB/SIMULINK. Manias expertly analyzes power electronic circuits with basic power semiconductor devices, as well as the new power electronic converters. He also clearly and comprehensively provides an analysis of modulation and output voltage, current control techniques, passive and active filtering, and the characteristics and gating circuits of different power semiconductor switches, such as BJTs, IGBTs, MOSFETs, IGCTs, MCTs and GTOs. Includes step-by-step analysis of power electronic systems Reinforced by simulation examples using SPICE, PSIM, and MATLAB/SIMULINK Provides 110 common problems and solutions in power electronics technologies
High-Speed Circuit Board Signal Integrity, Second Edition by
Publication Date: 2017-04-28
This thoroughly updated leading-edge circuit design resource offers the knowledge needed to quickly pinpoint transmission problems that can compromise the entire circuit design. This new edition demonstrates how to apply EM theory to solve signal integrity problems with a practical application-oriented approach. Discussing both design and debug issues at gigabit per second data rates, the book serves as a practical reference for projects involving high-speed serial signaling on printed wiring boards.Step-by-step, this book goes from reviewing the essentials of linear circuit theory, to examining practical issues of pulse propagation along lossless and lossy transmission lines. It provides detailed guidelines for crosstalk, attenuation, power supply decoupling, and layer stackup tradeoffs (including pad/antipad tradeoffs). Other key topics include the construction of etched conductors, analysis of return paths and split planes, microstrip and stripline characteristics, and SMT capacitors. Filled with on-the-job-proven examples, this hands-on reference is the book that engineers can turn to time and again to design out and troubleshoot circuit signal loss and impedance problems.
Linear Circuit Transfer Functions by
Publication Date: 2016-05-31
Linear Circuit Transfer Functions: An introduction to Fast Analytical Techniques teaches readers how to determine transfer functions of linear passive and active circuits by applying Fast Analytical Circuits Techniques. Building on their existing knowledge of classical loop/nodal analysis, the book improves and expands their skills to unveil transfer functions in a swift and efficient manner. Starting with simple examples, the author explains step-by-step how expressing circuits time constants in different configurations leads to writing transfer functions in a compact and insightful way. By learning how to organize numerators and denominators in the fastest possible way, readers will speed-up analysis and predict the frequency response of simple to complex circuits. In some cases, they will be able to derive the final expression by inspection, without writing a line of algebra. Key features: Emphasizes analysis through employing time constant-based methods discussed in other text books but not widely used or explained. Develops current techniques on transfer functions, to fast analytical techniques leading to low-entropy transfer functions immediately exploitable for analysis purposes. Covers calculation techniques pertinent to different fields, electrical, electronics, signal processing etc. Describes how a technique is applied and demonstrates this through real design examples. All Mathcad® files used in examples and problems are freely available for download. An ideal reference for electronics or electrical engineering professionals as well as BSEE and MSEE students, this book will help teach them how to: become skilled in the art of determining transfer function by using less algebra and obtaining results in a more effectual way; gain insight into a circuit's operation by understanding how time constants rule dynamic responses; apply Fast Analytical Techniques to simple and complicated circuits, passive or active and be more efficient at solving problems.
Reliability Characterisation of Electrical and Electronic Systems
Publication Date: 2014-12-24
This book takes a holistic approach to reliability engineering for electrical and electronic systems by looking at the failure mechanisms, testing methods, failure analysis, characterisation techniques and prediction models that can be used to increase reliability for a range of devices. The text describes the reliability behavior of electrical and electronic systems. It takes an empirical scientific approach to reliability engineering to facilitate a greater understanding of operating conditions, failure mechanisms and the need for testing for a more realistic characterisation. After introducing the fundamentals and background to reliability theory, the text moves on to describe the methods of reliability analysis and charactersation across a wide range of applications. Takes a holistic approach to reliability engineering Looks at the failure mechanisms, testing methods, failure analysis, characterisation techniques and prediction models that can be used to increase reliability Facilitates a greater understanding of operating conditions, failure mechanisms and the need for testing for a more realistic characterisation