Surgical Technology: Books

For more than 65 years, Alexander''s Care of the Patient in Surgery has been a trusted source for detailed information on perioperative nursing. Well-known author and educator Jane C. Rothrock sets up a solid foundation for practice, and offers step-by-step instructions for over 400 surgical interventions as well as many minimally invasive surgical procedures, all backed by the latest research. More than 1,000 full-color illustrations and photos depict procedures and methods, as well as surgical anatomy and instrumentation. This edition adds Rapid Response Team boxes with suggested interventions, plus coverage of new trends in patient and staff safety, the increase in interventional radiology, and the growth of outpatient ambulatory surgery. Alexander''s gives you the tools you need to provide safe, cost-effective, high-quality patient care. Cutting-edge information keeps you up to date with the latest technological advances related to surgical procedures, both invasive and non-invasive, including areas such as interventional radiology. 1,250 full-color illustrations and photos show surgical anatomy, instrumentation, procedures, and methods. Over 400 specialty surgical interventions are included, as well as many minimally invasive surgical procedures. A full-color design highlights special features and makes it easier to focus on essential concepts. Patient and Family Education boxes include specific guidelines for preprocedural and postprocedural care, side effects and complications, home care, discharge/follow-up care, psychosocial care, and referrals. Surgical Pharmacology tables summarize and offer quick reference to the drugs most commonly used for specific surgical procedures, including generic and trade names, purpose/description, and pharmacokinetics. Patient Safety boxes highlight recent Joint Commission initiatives and important safety topics. Evidence for Practice boxes apply scientific research to perioperative nursing. Research Highlight boxes provide the latest research and apply it to patient care. History boxes summarize significant historical events related to surgery and perioperative nursing. A clear and consistent chapter format makes it easy to find information, including general discussions of surgical anatomy and perioperative nursing considerations followed by more specific discussions of procedural considerations and operative procedure for each surgical intervention. Sample plans of care include nursing diagnosis, outcome, and interventions, linking specific interventions to clearly identified outcomes. An emphasis on workplace safety includes recent OSHA guidelines, and helps you recognize and address an unsafe work environment. Comprehensive discussions of Perioperative Nursing Considerations cover Assessment, Nursing Diagnosis, Outcome Identification, Planning, Implementation, Evaluation, Patient and Family Education and Discharge Planning. Coverage of emergency preparedness and bioterrorism helps you know what to look for and how to handle different situations. Coverage of cross-specialty areas includes special considerations for pediatric, geriatric, and trauma surgeries, as well as interventional radiology, complementary and alternative therapy, plus workplace issues and staff safety. Expanded Evolve website now includes new printable flashcards, OR Live links, and AHRQ case studies, and continues to have medical animations, surgical instrumentation photos, content updates, patient and family education tables, and surgical pharmacology tables. Patient Safety and Risk Management chapter addresses growing concerns for patient safety and liability within the OR, including issues related to documentation, legal issues, and patients'' rights. Interventional Radiology chapter covers the patient care needs associated with outpatient procedures done via scopes. Workplace Issues and Staff Safety chapter explores how a positive workplace can improve morale, safety, and productivity. Ambulatory Surgery Considerations boxes highlight information related to outpatient surgery. Risk Reduction Strategies boxes describe ways to minimize negative outcomes in the perioperative setting. Unique Rapid Response Team boxes suggest ways to intervene earlier in critical situations with the goal of preventing an emergency crisis response. Unique pharmacology index provides a quick and easy reference to drug information.

Deliver the best patient care before, during, and after surgery with this straightforward, step-by-step guide to surgical skills and operating room procedures. It provides comprehensive coverage of all the updated AST Core Curriculum, 6th Edition components - health care sciences, technological sciences, patient care concepts, surgical technology, and surgical procedures. A mentoring approach makes even complex skills and techniques easy to understand. User-friendly features such as full-color illustrations, chapter outlines and summaries, review questions, critical thinking exercises, and technique boxes help you focus on the most important concepts and make it easier to retain and recall critical information. Chapter objectives correspond to the latest AST Core Curriculum objectives to ensure you have access to the most reliable information in the operating room. Enhanced critical thinking scenarios at the end of each chapter help you strengthen your critical thinking and clinical decision-making skills and highlight practical applications of key concepts. Additional information on special populations, including bariatric, pregnant, physically or mentally challenged, isolation, trauma, language barrier, and substance abuse patients, highlights important considerations for the surgical technologist regarding transfer, preparation, and procedure set up. Expanded coverage of surgical lasers keeps you up to date with the latest technology so you can effectively assess the function, assembly, use, and care of equipment in the surgical suite. UPDATED! Coverage reflects the new AST Core Curriculum, 6th Edition to keep you current. NEW! Chapters on Disaster Preparedness and Response and Transplant Surgery offer cutting-edge information on these key topics. Coverage of the Assistant Circulator role, as well as a break down of first and second scrub roles, help you better understand the responsibilities of each member of the surgical team.

Provides basic consumer health information about common surgical procedures, potential risks and complications, pain control options, and recovery issues. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.

Given the wide-ranging nature of the literature one must study in plastic surgery training, a solid grounding in many fundamental principles and procedures is an absolute prerequisite to becoming a competent plastic surgeon. And yet, until now there has been no single source that collects these fundamental topics in one volume; rather, the information has had to be gleaned from the introductory chapters of multiple comprehensive textbooks. The present volume takes a new approach, and provides the trainee an opportunity to learn these fundamentals more efficiently and comprehensively through a single book. This work will prepare the trainee to confidently advance to the more specific core topics in reconstructive and aesthetic plastic surgery. Key Features: Highly efficient presentation and organization of all fundamental plastic surgical topics 21 chapters cover such topics as patient safety; normal and abnormal wound healing; local anesthesia and nerve blocks; soft tissue infections and antibiotics; implants and biomaterials; basic surgical techniques; grafting of fat, skin, bone, and other tissues; flaps; burns; and much more. Each chapter closes with a summary of key points. Ideal for all surgeons in training, Fundamental Topics in Plastic Surgery is a complete introduction to the science and technical expertise of aesthetic and reconstructive plastic surgery.

Comprehensively covers the key technologies for the development of tactile perception in minimally invasive surgery Covering the timely topic of tactile sensing and display in minimally invasive and robotic surgery, this book comprehensively explores new techniques which could dramatically reduce the need for invasive procedures. The tools currently used in minimally invasive surgery (MIS) lack any sort of tactile sensing, significantly reducing the performance of these types of procedures. This book systematically explains the various technologies which the most prominent researchers have proposed to overcome the problem. Furthermore, the authors put forward their own findings, which have been published in recent patents and patent applications. These solutions offer original and creative means of surmounting the current drawbacks of MIS and robotic surgery. Key features:- Comprehensively covers topics of this ground-breaking technology including tactile sensing, force sensing, tactile display, PVDF fundamentals Describes the mechanisms, methods and sensors that measure and display kinaesthetic and tactile data between a surgical tool and tissue Written by authors at the cutting-edge of research into the area of tactile perception in minimally invasive surgery Provides key topic for academic researchers, graduate students as well as professionals working in the area