Ivy Tech Libraries: Surgical Technology: Websites

Websites

Association of Surgical Technologists
The AST website provides information on news, practices, and professional conferences.
Encyclopedia of Surgery
The Encyclopedia of Surgery has been written by various experts in the field of surgery and has been written specifically for healthcare students and patients. The Encyclopedia covers 450 surgical procedures and topics such as laser surgery, hysterectomy, endoscopy, cryosurgery, anesthetics, biopsy, angioplasty, medications and postoperative care, and many related subjects. Each entry in the Encyclopedia of Surgery consists of a standardized format which includes the definition, purpose, diagnosis, aftercare, risks, mortality rates, and alternatives.
Martindale's Anesthesiology and Surgery Center
This site provides collections of links to websites providing information on medical surgery.
MedlinePlus
Watch health videos on topics such as anatomy, body systems, and surgical procedures. Test your knowledge with interactive tutorials and games. Check your health with calculators and quizzes.
National Board of Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting
The mission of the NBSTSA is to provide professional certification of surgical technologists (CST) and surgical first assistants (CSFA), thus promoting quality patient care in the surgical setting.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Career and educational on the field of Surgical Technology (from the Occupational Outlook Handbook).
WebSurg
WebSurg is IRCAD’s online university, completely free of charge. It was launched by Professor Jacques Marescaux and his team at the European Institute of TeleSurgery (EITS) in 2000 in Strasbourg. It is a charge-free website specialized in minimally invasive surgery and dedicated to the promotion of medical and surgical training skills. It was created by surgeons for surgeons, in order to help them with their training and allow them to communicate with surgeons and experts from all over the world. It quickly became the international online reference for surgical training in minimally invasive surgery.