Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Clinical Chemistry by
Publication Date: 2017-02-04
The most student-friendly clinical chemistry text available today, this fully updated 8th Edition keeps students at the forefront of what continues to be one of the most rapidly advancing areas of laboratory medicine. With clear explanations that balance analytic principles, techniques, and correlation of results with coverage of disease states, the book not only demonstrates the how of clinical testing, but also the what, why, and when of testing correlations to help students develop the knowledge and interpretive and analytic skills they'll need in their future careers. Comprehensive and easy to understand, the 8th Edition now features an entirely new chapter, new and updated learning aids, and an unparalleled suite of teaching and learning resources. New Case Studies , which include scenarios, lab results, and questions, stimulate critical thinking and encourage students to apply content to clinical practice. Rewritten presentations condense large and difficult concepts into easier-to-understand presentations. Enhanced photos and illustrations clarify key concepts. Coverage of the latest equipment and technologies used in today's modern lab prepares students for real-world practice. The basic principles of analytic procedures discussed reflect the most recent or commonly performed techniques in the clinical chemistry laboratory, while material on non-essential topics such as Phlebotomy and Specimen Collection has been moved online on thePoint. Insightful coverage of the impact of problem solving, quality assurance, and cost effectiveness on the laboratory professional prepares students for clinical practice. Updated in-text learning aids include chapter outlines and chapter objectives, tables that condense and augment theory coverage, and end-of-chapter questions that give students an opportunity to assess their level of mastery.
Guide to Diagnostic Tests by
Publication Date: 2017-03-14
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The essential guide to more than 450 of the most commonly performed diagnostic tests - updated with the latest molecular, genetic, and microbiological tests A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Guide to Diagnostic Tests, Seventh Edition is a concise guide to the selection and interpretation of more than 450 of the laboratory and microbiology tests most relevant to the general practice of medicine. This on-the-spot clinical companion also includes coverage of diagnostic imaging, electrocardiology, echocardiography, and the use of tests in differential diagnosis. Features: * Covers areas of internal medicine, pediatrics, surgery, neurology, and obstetrics and gynecology * Over 25 new or substantially revised laboratory tests * New and updated coverage of emerging and re-emerging pathogens and infectious agents,including the Zika and Ebola viruses * Updated material on molecular and genetic tests, including pharmacogenetics tests * An entire section of diagnostic algorithms * Full literature citations with PubMed identification (PMID) numbers included for each reference * Details costs and risks of various procedures and tests * Full section on electrocardiography and echocardiography If you've been looking for an authoritative, up-to-date, and easy-to-carry guide to the latest diagnostic testing procedures, your search ends here.
Clinical Chemistry by
Publication Date: 2016-01-12
Gain a clear understanding of pathophysiology and lab testing! Clinical Chemistry: Fundamentals and Laboratory Techniques prepares you for success as a medical lab technician by simplifying complex chemistry concepts and lab essentials including immunoassays, molecular diagnostics, and quality control. A pathophysiologic approach covers diseases that are commonly diagnosed through chemical tests - broken down by body system and category - such as respiratory, gastrointestinal, and cardiovascular conditions. Written by clinical chemistry educator Donna Larson and a team of expert contributors, this full-color book is ideal for readers who may have minimal knowledge of chemistry and are learning laboratory science for the first time. Full-color illustrations and design simplify complex concepts and make learning easier by highlighting important material. Case studies help you apply information to real-life scenarios. Pathophysiology and Analytes section includes information related to diseases or conditions, such as a biochemistry review, disease mechanisms, clinical correlation, and laboratory analytes and assays. Evolve companion website includes case studies and animations that reinforce what you've learned from the book. Laboratory Principles section covers safety, quality assurance, and other fundamentals of laboratory techniques. Review questions at the end of each chapter are tied to the learning objectives, helping you review and retain the material. Critical thinking questions and discussion questions help you think about and apply key points and concepts. Other Aspects of Clinical Chemistry section covers therapeutic drug monitoring, toxicology, transplantation, and emergency preparedness. Learning objectives in each chapter help you to remember key points or to analyze and synthesize concepts in clinical chemistry. A list of key words Is provided at the beginning of each chapter, and these are also bolded in the text. Chapter summaries consist of bulleted lists and tables highlighting the most important points of each chapter. A glossary at the back of the book provides a quick reference to definitions of all clinical chemistry terms.
Clinical Chemistry by
Publication Date: 2016-09-09
Clinical Chemistry is a comprehensive textbook covering the area of medical science variously known as chemical pathology, clinical chemistry, medical biochemistry and clinical biochemistry. The biochemical processes and physiological interrelationships, of tissues, organs and molecules are discussed in the context of disease processes and related to the diagnosis, monitoring, and management of disease. Also included are analytical processes, such as immunoassay, and how these relate to clinical practice. Although the emphasis of this book is clinical biochemistry, some chapters include sections on haematology, radiology and microbiology where this helps in the understanding of disease processes. The increasing use of the techniques of molecular biology and genetics in the investigation of disease is acknowledged also by appropriate inclusion of these disciplines in a number of chapters. Standard International (SI) units of measurement are used throughout, but for tests where non-SI units are in common use as well as SI units both sets of units are quoted.
Mosby's Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference by
Publication Date: 2016-09-28
Gain quick access to today's most important diagnostic tests and procedures with Mosby's Diagnostic & Laboratory Test Reference, 13th Edition! In this bestselling handbook, concise test entries are arranged alphabetically and reflect the latest in diagnostic testing and research. Each test includes vital information such as alternate or abbreviated test names, test explanation, normal and abnormal findings, possible critical values, and guidelines to patient care before, during, and after the test. To simplify lookup, related tests are cross-referenced. From the expert author team of Kathleen, Timothy, and Theresa Pagana, this reference offers convenient A-to-Z thumb tabs, a compact size, and a durable cover for everyday use on the job. UNIQUE! Each test entry begins on a new page, making tests easy to find. Alphabetically organized tests offer quick reference with A-to-Z thumb tabs, so you'll never have to search for a test by having to first determine its correct category or body system. User's Guide to Test Preparation and Performance provides an overview and guidelines for each type of laboratory test and diagnostic procedure, so you can minimize worry about having to repeat a test due to an error. Icon for patient teaching-related care indicates information that should be shared with patients and their families. Normal findings for adult, elderly, and pediatric patients are included where applicable. Abnormal findings are highlighted with directional arrows to show increased or decreased test results. Possible critical values are highlighted to alert you to situations requiring immediate intervention. Convenient appendix lists tests by body system and test type, making it easy to quickly locate related studies. Drug interference with test results is indicated by a mortar and pestle icon. Cross-referencing of related tests makes them easy to find. Abbreviations for tests are listed in the front and the back of the book, and symbols and units of measurement are listed in an appendix. A durable cover with rounded edges helps prevent the book from being damaged and makes it easier to handle. NEW test entries include the latest diagnostic tests and laboratory procedures. NEW! Updated coverage reflects the latest research on the diagnostic values of results, accuracy of testing, and patient care and education for each test.
Henry's Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory Methods by
Publication Date: 2016-05-12
Recognized as the definitive reference in laboratory medicine since 1908, Henry's Clinical Diagnosis continues to offer state-of-the-art guidance on the scientific foundation and clinical application of today's complete range of laboratory tests. Employing a multidisciplinary approach, it presents the newest information available in the field, including new developments in technologies and the automation platforms on which measurements are performed. Provides guidance on error detection, correction, and prevention, as well as cost-effective test selection. Features a full-color layout, illustrations and visual aids, and an organization based on organ system. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Features the latest knowledge on cutting-edge technologies of molecular diagnostics and proteomics. Includes a wealth of information on the exciting subject of omics; these extraordinarily complex measurements reflect important changes in the body and have the potential to predict the onset of diseases such as diabetes mellitus. Coverage of today's hottest topics includes advances in transfusion medicine and organ transplantation; molecular diagnostics in microbiology and infectious diseases; point-of-care testing; pharmacogenomics; and the microbiome. Toxicology and Therapeutic Drug Monitoring chapter discusses the necessity of testing for therapeutic drugs that are more frequently being abused by users.
Linne and Ringsrud's Clinical Laboratory Science by
Publication Date: 2015-04-09
Updated and easy-to-use, Linne & Ringsrud's Clinical Laboratory Science: The Basics and Routine Techniques, 6th Edition delivers a fundamental overview of the laboratory skills and techniques essential for success in your classes and your career. Author Mary Louise Turgeon's simple, straightforward writing clarifies complex concepts, and a discipline-by-discipline approach helps you build the knowledge to confidently perform clinical laboratory tests and ensure accurate, effective results. Hands-on procedures guide you through the exact steps you'll perform in the lab. Review questions at the end of each chapter help you assess your understanding and identify areas requiring additional study. A broad scope makes this text an ideal introduction to clinical laboratory science at various levels, including CLS/MT, CLT/MLT, and Medical Assisting, and reflects the taxonomy levels of the CLS/MT and CLT/MLT exams. Detailed full-color illustrations show what you will see under the microscope. An Evolve companion website provides convenient online access to all of the procedures in the text, a glossary, audio glossary, and links to additional information. Case studies include critical thinking and multiple-choice questions, providing the opportunity to apply content to real-life scenarios. Learning objectives help you study more effectively and provide measurable outcomes to achieve by completing the material. Streamlined approach makes it easier to learn the most essential information on individual disciplines in clinical lab science. Experienced author, speaker, and educator Mary Lou Turgeon is well known for providing insight into the rapidly changing field of clinical laboratory science. Convenient glossary makes it easy to look up definitions without having to search through each chapter. NEW! Procedure worksheets have been added to most chapters; perforated pages make it easy for students to remove for use in the lab and for assignment of review questions as homework. NEW! Instrumentation updates show new technology being used in the lab. NEW! Additional key terms in each chapter cover need-to-know terminology. NEW! Additional tables and figures in each chapter clarify clinical lab science concepts.
Mathematics for the Clinical Laboratory by
Publication Date: 2015-08-19
Filled with easy-to-follow explanations and loads of examples and sample problems, Mathematics for the Clinical Laboratory, 3rd Edition is the perfect resource to help you master the clinical calculations needed for each area of the laboratory. Content is divided into three sections: a review of math and calculation basics, coverage of particular areas of the clinical laboratory (including immunohematology and microbiology), and statistical calculations. This new third edition also includes a new full-color design, additional text notes, formula summaries, and the latest procedures used in today's laboratories to ensure you are fully equipped with the mathematical understanding and application skills needed to succeed in professional practice. Examples of calculations for each different type of calculation are worked out in the chapters, step by step to show readers exactly what they're expected to learn and how to perform each type of calculation. Practice problems at the ends of each chapter act as a self-assessment tool to help readers determine what they need to review. Example problems and answers throughout the text can also be used as templates for solving laboratory calculations. Quick tips and notes throughout the text help readers understand and remember pertinent information. Answer key to the practice problems appears in the back of the book. Updated content and calculations reflect the latest procedures used in today's laboratories. Learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter provide a measurable outcome to achieve by the completing the chapter material. NEW! Summaries of important formulas are included at the ends of major sections. NEW! Full-color design creates a more accessible look and feel. NEW! Greek symbol appendix at the end of the book provides a quick place for readers to turn to when studying. NEW! Glossary at the back of the textbook includes definitions of important mathematical terms.
A Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests by
Publication Date: 2014-02-04
Prepare your students to deliver safe, effective, and informed care for patients who are undergoing diagnostic tests and procedures with the Ninth Edition ofA Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests. Organized the way a nurse thinks--by specimen and function--this proven book describes an extensive array of tests for diverse populations, providing step-by-step guidance on correct procedure, tips for accurate interpretation, and expert information on patient preparation and aftercare. Featuring additional tests, updated reference values, and coverage of the latest advances in CT scans, nuclear scans, and genetics, this edition maintains the organization and coverage that have made it the ideal reference and point-of-care guide for educational and practice settings. This Ninth Edition is accompanied by a complete online teaching and learning package that includes case studies for application, a wide range of in-class activities and assignments, and Blackboard and WebCT cartridges for course management. Prepare for practice with tests grouped according to specimen, function, and test type (blood, urine, stool, cerebrospinal fluid, etc.). Learn vital information to keep in mind when implementing tests with "Clinical Alerts" that highlight critical safety information. Easily find the test you're looking for even if you don't know the exact name with a presentation that supports the way a nurse thinks. Master key information with helpful tips, inclusion of both conventional and SI units, and coverage of clinical implications for increased and decreased values.
Clinical Diagnostic Tests : How to Avoid Errors in Ordering Tests and Interpreting Results by
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
Clinical Diagnostic Tests is a convenient, quick-reference guide to common errors and pitfalls in test selection and result interpretation for practitioners and trainees in all areas of clinical medicine. Authored by recognized experts and educators in laboratory medicine, it provides timely, practical guidance about what to doóand what not to doófor practitioners ordering or interpreting clinical tests. Each topic features a concise overview and summary followed by a list of bulleted ìstandards of careî that will enable practitioners to quickly recognize and avert a potential problem. Organized for easy access to critical information, this pithy guide addresses all major issues practitioners are likely to encounter during their day-to-day clinical work. It is intended for practitioners in pathology, laboratory medicine, primary care as well as nurse practitioners and physician assistants. It is also a valuable resource for clinical trainees and students who need to learn effective, efficient use of the clinical lab in practice. Key Features: Provides practical guidance for avoiding common errors and pitfalls in lab test selection and interpretation Includes pithy overviews and recommendations for quick reference Written by expert authors and educators in laboratory medicine Presents bulleted ìstandards of careî Serves as a concise, to-the-point teaching guide About the Author: Michael Laposata, MD, PhD , is Chair of Pathology, Director of Division of Laboratory Medicine and Clinical Laboratories, University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston
Fundamental Laboratory Mathematics by
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Conquer the math skills essential for the laboratory... and reduce the anxieties math often induces! Step by step, skill by skill... you’ll progress from simple to complex calculations, building your proficiencies and testing them along the way. Perfect for classroom, clinical, and professional success!Begin by reviewing the basics—algebra, scientific notation, and units of measure. Then, progress to dilutions and standard curve calculations and logarithms. You’ll also find easy-to-understand explanations and real-world examples that show you how to apply what you’ve learned to enzyme chemistry, hematology, urinalysis, molecular biology, and molecular diagnostics.
Quick Review Cards for Medical Laboratory Science by
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
A complete study guide Use these handy cards for course review now...and exam prep later. More than 500 cards deliver concise, but complete coverage of the major disciplines on the Board of CertificationOCOs content outlineOCogeneral lab practice; hematology; immunology/serology; immunohematology; clinical chemistry; body fluids; clinical microbiology; and management and education."