Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Inclusion for Special Needs
Inclusion for Primary School Teachers by
Call Number: LC1200 -- .G434 2016eb
Publication Date: 2016-05-19
This book will help you to understand what inclusion is, what it means for teachers, parents and the wider community and how to create an inclusive environment in your own classroom. By busting some myths and looking beyond the labels, Nancy Gedge believes that every teacher can improve their practice for every child - because what is good for special needs is good for everyone! That's what being an inclusive teacher means.Full of practical ideas and advice, this warm and inspiring book is an accessible introduction to inclusion for primary school teachers. It translates the SEND Code of Practice into practical classroom strategies covering topics such as: an inclusive classroom environment and what it looks like, the responsibilities of the teacher and how to set meaningful targets, plus lots of tips on how to get the best out of available support and intervention strategies. Nancy Gedge provides impassioned guidance in the form of real classroom anecdotes and tried-and-tested exercises together with a 'jargon buster' to help you decipher unfamiliar terms.NANCY GEDGE has been a primary school teacher for over 20 years, and is currently a SEND specialist in a mainstream school in Gloucestershire. Her knowledge in, and passion for, this area extends beyond the classroom - her eldest child has Down's Syndrome, and Nancy's inspirational blog, 'The Diary of a Not So Ordinary Boy', won the first TES Teacher Blogger of the Year Award in 2015.
Of Teaching, Learning and Sherbet Lemons by
Publication Date: 2015-06-30
Education is like a sherbet lemon: we need the structures and systems - the hard exterior - but we can easily lose sight of the magic that is at the heart of this; the teaching and learning - the fizz in the centre. Nina Jackson’s mission in Of Teaching, Learning and Sherbet Lemons is to put the fizz back into classrooms by solving some of the toughest dilemmas facing teachers. You know the child in the class who never asks that burning question because they worry it might make them look silly, even if everyone else is thinking the same thing? Sometimes teachers can be like that child. And they don’t know where to turn to get the answers. That is where Nina comes in. The teachers’ questions in Of Teaching, Learning and Sherbet Lemons have been anonymised, but Nina’s answers will resonate with teachers everywhere, offering support and practical advice. Nina doesn’t have a magic wand but what she does have is years of experience, honesty and a commitment to help everyone be the best they can be. After all, second best just won’t do! Whether you are wondering about difficulties and disagreements with colleagues, pushy parents, promotion and ambition or losing the love for teaching, Nina has plenty of tips and advice. There is wise guidance on what to do when learners keep shouting out, or chit-chatting, or won’t say anything. Nina also shares her valuable insights into inclusion and learning differences including dyslexia, dyspraxia, dysgraphia, ADD and ADHD, stutters and stammers, as well as addressing the sensitive issues of bereavement and self-harm. Topics covered also include: learner engagement and motivation, group work, learning styles, spoon feeding, feedback, unveiling learners’ skills and talents, music in the classroom, transition from primary to secondary school, digital leaders, action research, school councils and INSET days. Suitable for all teachers - from NQTs to experienced teachers - across all subject-specialisms and phases; from primary to higher education.
The Whole Spectrum of Social, Motor and Sensory Games by
Publication Date: 2013-07-16
Fun easy games for parents and teachers to play with kids of all ages Play is increasingly recognized by neuroscientists and educators as a vital component in brain development, academic success and learning social skills. In this inspiring and useful resource, Barbara Sher provides step-by-step directions for how to use children's natural interests at different stages of their development to help them develop a wealth of sensory motor and social skills. All the games have also been designed to provide plenty of joyful opportunities for encouraging inclusion. Offers strategies for helping all kids, but especially those with special needs, to develop social, motor and sensory skills Filled with simple games using common materials that can be used by teachers, parents, and caregivers with both individual kids and groups Provides explanations and examples of how the games can aid in a child's development This resource offers parents and teachers a fun and easy way to include all children in activities that will engage all of their senses and promote important skills.
Autism, Access and Inclusion on the Front Line by
Publication Date: 2006-03-24
Working towards greater access and inclusion in education and employment for young people with autism spectrum disorders (ASDs) continues to be a challenge with varying degrees of success. Matthew Hesmondhalgh outlines the inherent problems with improving services for people on the autism spectrum, from specialised schooling to supported living schemes and examines the social issues and attitudes that people with ASDs confront in so many aspects of life. The author draws on his own experience of working at The Integrated Resource, which offers educational opportunities for secondary school aged pupils with ASDs and provides a charity funded supported employment programme for young adults with ASDs. He includes a host of case examples of young people and their parents who have fought battles for inclusion, explaining the obstacles they faced, their failures and their inspiring successes. Autism, Access and Inclusion on the Front Line is a frank and honest appraisal of service provision for young people with ASDs that will both inform and encourage parents and professionals.
Commonsense Methods for Children with Special Needs by
Publication Date: 1993-04-19
This book provides teachers with an immediate and comprehensive source of practical ideas for use in regular classrooms. The author has drawn upon his own teaching experience and upon research to identify well tried and tested approaches covering basic academic skills improvement, behaviour management, social skills development and curriculum adaptation.
Rotten to the (Common) Core by
Publication Date: 2016-07-18
Joseph P. Farrell, well known for his widely-discussed investigations on contemporary banks and ruling structures, co-writes this fascinating book regarding contemporary schooling with long-time New York state instructor Gary Lawrence. Say Farrell and Lawrence: Standardized Testing in America has a troubled history. Its agenda has long remained veiled behind "expert opinions" and "latest studies." The future of American education stands in a tradition of social engineering, data mining, pseudo-psychology, and dumbing down classroom strategies. Common Core promises great advances though its true benefits are monetary ones for software companies and partner politicians. It it is our contention that the goal of Common Core, or rather, of its assessment process, is nothing less than a massive addition to the power of the surveillance state, to the privileged corporations destined to manage it, to the further drastic curtailment of our civil liberties, and to the eventual inhibition of any individual creativity, genius, responsibility, and any general or popular intellectual culture resulting from them. Our argument is different than that leveled by many critics against the Common Core standards, for our focus is thus not upon pedagogy, or content but rather upon its assessment process and its implicit consequences for parents, students, and the teaching profession. Our goal is to stimulate not only discussion of Common Core's radical agenda for the consolidation of the surveillance state, but for its ultimate rejection.
School Reform by
Call Number: LB2806 .S3424 2011
Publication Date: 2010-10-29
This collection of essays, which are sequenced in a pro versus con format, will help readers understand what school reform is and how it works. Readers will explore the politics of school reform, including the No Child Left Behind and Race to the Top programs. This book examines the value of standardized testing in evaluating students, teachers, and schools. Also discussed is the relationship between school choice and school reform, focusing on the effectiveness of school vouchers and charter schools.
Call Number: LA217.2 .E34 2009
Publication Date: 2008-10-09
Educational Standards by
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
The public education system in the United States has always been a pressing matter, subject to continuous debate. Sweeping educational reforms passed in 2001 sharply divided teachers and policy makers over the direction of our nation's schools. This work explores both sides of the debate surrounding this critical issue.
Project and Problem-Based Learning
Learner-centered Theory and Practice in Distance Education by
Publication Date: 2003-12-08
Learner-Centered Theory and Practice in Distance Education: Cases From Higher Educationbrings the voice of the learning sciences to the study and design of distance learning. The contributors examine critical issues in the design of theoretically and pedagogically based distance education programs. Eight distance education programs are described in enough detail to allow readers with different interests to understand the pedagogical approaches and the implications of implementing those approaches. Issues of theory, pedagogy, design, assessment, communities of practice, collaboration, and faculty development are discussed. Each section of the book includes: *a primary chapter written by an author or authors involved with a distance education program that reflects learner-centered principles; *a formal reaction to the chapter by a specialist from the learning sciences, educational evaluation and policy, administration, or the corporate sector with expertise in issues of distance learning; and *an edited transcript of the authors' discussion of the primary chapter held at a symposium at the Asilomar Conference Center. A final "summing up" section offers two perspectives--from leading scholars outside the fields of instructional design, evaluation, and the learning sciences--on the approaches and thinking reflected in the rest of the book. This book is essential for researchers, as well as all those engaged in delivering, supporting, or administrating distance education programs at the post-secondary level. The descriptions, strategies, and principles will inform the design of continuing education, as well as degree-based education and corporate education and training, and distance education programs for adults.n, or the corporate sector with expertise in issues of distance learning; and *an edited transcript of the authors' discussion of the primary chapter held at a symposium at the Asilomar Conference Center. A final "summing up" section offers two perspectives--from leading scholars outside the fields of instructional design, evaluation, and the learning sciences--on the approaches and thinking reflected in the rest of the book. This book is essential for researchers, as well as all those engaged in delivering, supporting, or administrating distance education programs at the post-secondary level. The descriptions, strategies, and principles will inform the design of continuing education, as well as degree-based education and corporate education and training, and distance education programs for adults.
STEM or STEAM
Experiences in Liberal Arts and Science Education from America, Europe, and Asia by
Publication Date: 2016-07-27
This book highlights the experiences of international leaders in liberal arts and science education from around the world as they discuss regional trends and models, with a specific focus on developments in and cooperation with China. Focusing on why this model responds to the twenty-first century requirements for excellence and relevance in undergraduate education, contributors examine if it can be implemented in different contexts and across academic cultures, structures, and traditions.
STEM to Story by
Publication Date: 2015-01-07
Bring STEM to life for students with zombies, rockets, celebrities, and more STEM to Story: Enthralling and Effective Lesson Plans for Grades 5-8 inspires learning through fun, engaging, and meaningful lesson plans that fuse hands-on discovery in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) with creative writing. The workshop activities within the book are the innovative result of a partnership between 826 National's proven creative writing model and Time Warner Cable's Connect a Million Minds, an initiative dedicated to connecting young people to the wonders of STEM through hands-on learning. Authentically aligned with both the Common Core State Standards and the Next Generation Science Standards, this book provides teachers, after-school and out-of-school providers, and parents with field-tested lessons, workshops, and projects designed by professionals in each field. Including reflective observations by arts and science celebrities like Jon Scieszka, Mayim Bialik, and Steve Hockensmith, lessons feature bonus activities, fun facts, and teaching points for instructors at every level. These quirky, exploratory lessons will effectively awaken student imaginations and passions for both STEM and creative writing, encourage identity with scientific endeavors, and make both science and writing fun. Grades five through eight is the critical period for engaging students in STEM, and this book is designed specifically to appeal to - and engage - this age group. The guided curricula fosters hands-on discovery, deep learning, and rich inquiry skills while feeling more like play than school, and has proven popular and effective with both students and teachers. Awaken student imagination and get them excited about STEM Fuse creative writing with STEM using hands-on activities Make scientific principles relevant to students' lives Inspire students to explore STEM topics further The demand for STEM workers is closely linked to global competitiveness, and a successful future in STEM depends upon an early introduction to the scientific mindset. The challenge for teachers is to break through students' preconceptions of STEM fields as "hard" or "boring," to show them that STEM is everywhere, it's relevant, and it's loads of fun. For proven lesson plans with just a dash of weird, STEM to Story is a dynamic resource, adaptable and applicable in school, after school, and at home.
STEM Integration in K-12 Education by
Publication Date: 2014-02-28
"STEM Integration in K-12 Education" examines current efforts to connect the STEM disciplines in K-12 education. This report identifies and characterizes existing approaches to integrated STEM education, both in formal and after- and out-of-school settings. The report reviews the evidence for the impact of integrated approaches on various student outcomes, and it proposes a set of priority research questions to advance the understanding of integrated STEM education. "STEM Integration in K-12 Education" proposes a framework to provide a common perspective and vocabulary for researchers, practitioners, and others to identify, discuss, and investigate specific integrated STEM initiatives within the K-12 education system of the United States. "STEM Integration in K-12 Education" makes recommendations for designers of integrated STEM experiences, assessment developers, and researchers to design and document effective integrated STEM education. This report will help to further their work and improve the chances that some forms of integrated STEM education will make a positive difference in student learning and interest and other valued outcomes.
STEM Learning Is Everywhere by
Publication Date: 2014-09-03
Science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) permeate the modern world. The jobs people do, the foods they eat, the vehicles in which they travel, the information they receive, the medicines they take, and many other facets of modern life are constantly changing as STEM knowledge steadily accumulates. Yet STEM education in the United States, despite the importance of these subjects, is consistently falling short. Many students are not graduating from high school with the knowledge and capacities they will need to pursue STEM careers or understand STEM-related issues in the workforce or in their roles as citizens. For decades, efforts to improve STEM education have focused largely on the formal education system. Learning standards for STEM subjects have been developed, teachers have participated in STEM-related professional development, and assessments of various kinds have sought to measure STEM learning. But students do not learn about STEM subjects just in school. Much STEM learning occurs out of school--in organized activities such as afterschool and summer programs, in institutions such as museums and zoos, from the things students watch or read on television and online, and during interactions with peers, parents, mentors, and role models. To explore how connections among the formal education system, afterschool programs, and the informal education sector could improve STEM learning, a committee of experts from these communities and under the auspices of the Teacher Advisory Council of the National Research Council, in association with the California Teacher Advisory Council organized a convocation that was held in February 2014. Entitled "STEM Learning Is Everywhere: Engaging Schools and Empowering Teachers to Integrate Formal, Informal, and Afterschool Education to Enhance Teaching and Learning in Grades K-8," the convocation brought together more than 100 representatives of all three sectors, along with researchers, policy makers, advocates, and others, to explore a topic that could have far-reaching implications for how students learn about STEM subjects and how educational activities are organized and interact. This report is the summary of that meeting. "STEM Learning is Everywhere" explores how engaging representatives from the formal, afterschool, and informal education sectors in California and from across the United States could foster more seamless learning of STEM subjects for students in the elementary and middle grades. The report also discusses opportunities for STEM that may result from the new expectations of the Next Generation Science Standards and the Common Core Standards for Mathematics and Language Arts.
The Case for STEM Education by
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
If youOCOre an education leader concerned with science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) initiatives, this book will help you both understand and implement STEM action plans. The book starts by putting STEM in context, as the early chapters outline the challenges facing STEM education, draw lessons from the Sputnik moment of the 1950s and 1960s, and contrast contemporary STEM with other education reforms. The author then explores appropriate roles for the federal government as well as states, districts, and individual schools. Finally, the book offers several ideas you can use to develop actual action plans for STEM."
Gifted and Talented
Meeting the Needs of Gifted and Talented Students by
Publication Date: 2009-02-26
This introductory guide for class teachers in primary and secondary schools looks at current strategies for identifying able, gifted and talented children and meeting their social, emotional and educational needs. Illustrated throughout with case studies and FAQs, the book will also be of interest to PGCE students, G&T coordinators and those undergoing training as leading teachers.
Science Education for Gifted Learners by
Publication Date: 2007-04-13
Science is central to our modern technological society, yet many of the most able pupils who could become the scientists of tomorrow turn away from science as soon as they have a choice in their studies. Science is often seen to be difficult or boring, and fails to engage or challenge those who are most suited to excel in scientific studies. This book asks what classroom teachers can do to make sure that their science teaching is stimulating and challenging for their students. Topics covered include: what do we mean by gifted and able children? gifted children that slip through the net challenging science through modelling asking questions in science exploring topical issues challenging science through talk after-school enrichment. Set in the wider context of debates about the provision for those labelled 'gifted' and 'exceptionally able', this book explores the meaning of these categories, and considers what they may imply in such approaches as setting, streaming, acceleration and enrichment.
Meeting the Needs of Your Most Able Pupils by
Publication Date: 2007-12-18
Meeting the Needs of Your Most Able Pupils: English provides specific guidance on: Recognising high ability and multiple intelligences Planning, differentiation and extension/enrichment in English Teacher questioning skills Support for more able pupils with special educational needs (dyslexia, ADHD, sensory impairment) Homework Recording and assessment Beyond the classroom: Visits, competitions, summer schools, masterclasses, links with universities, businesses and other organisations This book includes comprehensive appendices with linked resources available online that feature: Useful contacts and resources Lesson plans Liaison sheets for Teaching Assistants Homework activities Monitoring sheets This book is an essential resources for secondary teachers, subject heads of departments, leading teachers for G&T Education (Gifted and Talented co-ordinators), SENCos and LA advisers.
Includ Gift and Tal Mak Incl Wrk More by
Publication Date: 2006-06-01
This single volume presents the views of experts from the field which challenge the assumption that educational inclusion relates only to those pupils with learning difficulties. In this book, the authors examine the extent to which a truly inclusive context can provide a challenging environment for gifted and talented pupils. Key issues explored include: the social and emotional aspects of being a gifted and talented pupil the pros and cons of being labelled gifted and talented in very young children why 'regular' classrooms are the best place to educate gifted and talented pupils modifying the basic school curriculum to meet the needs of gifted and talented pupils What is submerged talent and how can it be found? As the Government has recently initiated the Excellence in Cities scheme, this thought-provoking volume is an invaluable read to student teachers, practitioners, academics and researchers who wish to further their study in this hot topic. scheme, this thought-provoking volume is an invaluable read to student teachers, practitioners, academics and researchers who wish to further their study in this hot topic.
Philosophy : education by
Publication Date: 2017
Philosophy: Education is composed of twenty-six chapters covering such topics as feminism, multiculturalism, creativity, democracy, race, globalization, friendship, and video games, as they relate to education, as well as such issues as dress codes, school choice, sex education, and religious education.
Reconceptualizing Literacy in the New Age of Multiculturalism and Pluralism by
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
A volume in Literacy, Language and Learning Series Editors: Claudia Finkbeiner, Universitaet Kassel; Althier M. Lazar, Saint Joseph's University; Wen Ma, Le Moyne College The 2nd Edition of Reconceptualizing Literacy in the New Age of Multiculturalism and Pluralism honors the genius of Dr. Peter Mosenthal. His contributions to the field of literacy were unprecedented. Many described him as a superb researcher who never lost sight of the purpose of education. He made us laugh as he led us in a nursery rhyme song during his National Reading Conference (LRA) Presidential Address and made us think as he explained the significance of educational implications in all research articles. He also mentored and taught graduate students in gentle and carefully attentive ways, showing his respect and appreciation for the work of each individual in the field. He was a remarkable person. The second edition of this book includes many experienced and new scholars from around the world. Qualitative and quantitative research methodologies are scattered throughout and the practical and theoretical are well represented. New Literacies and Global Perspectives are added sections in this volume. In this era of the "Common Core," Reconceptualizing Literacy in the New Age of Multiculturalism and Pluralism, presents a rational educational balance for literacy development across the curriculum.
Language and Learning in Multilingual Classrooms by
Publication Date: 2012-06-25
This book is a research-based practical guide for educators who work with students whose linguistic and cultural background is different from their own. Illustrated with many practical examples of classroom activities, projects, and teaching strategies, the book is also an introduction to immigrant education for school administrators and educational planners in communities or regions that are in the process of developing plans and programs for newcomer students. Although the focus is on first-generation immigrant children, many of the recommended approaches and instructional strategies described in this book can be used or adapted for use with second-generation children and historical linguistic and cultural minorities, such as children from Aboriginal communities in North America or children of Roma background in Europe.
Response to Intervention
Integrated Multi-Tiered Systems of Support by
Publication Date: 2016-02-04
Many schools have implemented academic response to intervention (RTI) and schoolwide positive behavioral interventions and supports (PBIS) as separate initiatives. This book provides keys to making these programs more effective, seamless, efficient, and sustainable by combining them into a single multi-tiered system of support (MTSS). Steps and strategies are outlined for integrating data structures, practices, teams, and district systems. Contributing authors present detailed case examples of successful MTSS implementation in three states. In a large-size format with lay-flat binding, the book features 27 reproducible checklists and evaluation tools. Purchasers get access to a companion website where they can download and print the reproducible materials plus other helpful resources. This book is in The Guilford Practical Intervention in the Schools Series, edited by T. Chris Riley-Tillman.
Teaching Emergent Bilingual Students by
Publication Date: 2016-08-12
Recent educational reform initiatives such as the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) largely fail to address the needs--or tap into the unique resources--of students who are developing literacy skills in both English and a home language. This book discusses ways to meet the challenges that current standards pose for teaching emergent bilingual students in grades K-8. Leading experts describe effective, standards-aligned instructional approaches and programs expressly developed to promote bilingual learners' academic vocabulary, comprehension, speaking, writing, and content learning. Innovative policy recommendations and professional development approaches are also presented.
Middle Schools vs Junior Highs
Social and Emotional Learning
Handbook of Social Influences in School Contexts by
Publication Date: 2016-01-13
The Handbook of Social Influences in School Contexts draws from a growing body of research on how and why various aspects of social relationships and contexts contribute to children's social and academic functioning within school settings. Comprised of the latest studies in developmental and educational psychology, this comprehensive volume is perfect for researchers and students of Educational Psychology. Beginning with the theoretical perspectives that guide research on social influences, this book presents foundational research before moving on to chapters on peer influence and teacher influence. Next, the book addresses ways in which the school context can influence school-related outcomes (including peer and teacher-student relationships) with specific attention to research in motivation and cognition. Within the chapters authors not only present current research but also explore best-practices, drawing in examples from the classroom. With chapters from leading experts in the field, The Handbook of Social Influences in School Contexts provides the first complete resource on this topic.
Relational Teaching by
Publication Date: 2013-04-16
Explore the complexity of teacher-student relationships in secondary school settings and learn how these largely unscripted relationships function for students and teachers in their learning and socioemotional development. For teachers, the relationships provide a foundation for pedagogical and curricular endeavors and lead to their increased investment in students' growth, development, and academic success. Students who have such relationships feel more comfortable in their learning environments, interested in the material, and motivated to perform well. We discuss what these relationships look like from the perspectives of teacher and student. Topics include: Drawing appropriate boundaries School-provided guidelines and guidance Formats for supporting teachers A whole school approach to working on students' emotional challenges Relationships in after-school programs. The voices of teachers and students in this volume show how much young people want to feel known and engage with teachers and how much teachers feel rewarded and invigorated by taking the step to connect with students on this level. This is the 137th volume of New Directions for Youth Development, the Jossey-Bass quarterly report series dedicated to bringing together everyone concerned with helping young people, including scholars, practitioners, and people from different disciplines and professions.
Promoting Emotional Education by
Publication Date: 2009-08-15
Unlike IQ, emotional competence can be nurtured and developed, and is a key factor in physical and mental health, social competence, academic achievement and other aspects in the personal and social development of children and young people. Promoting Emotional Education connects with the contemporary shift from an exclusively academic focus towards a more balanced and broader approach to education, with an emphasis on both academic and emotional literacy. The book suggests adopting educational practices which encourage feelings of emotional security, promote trusting and supportive relationships and reflect students' views and feelings; essential qualities for healthy personal and social development in children and young people. The contributors emphasise evidence-based practice, proposing various student-centred and emotion-focused approaches and strategies which have proven to be effective in improving the social and academic behaviour of children and young people with social, emotional and behavioural difficulties. These include student voice approaches, peer-mediated support strategies, personal and social education, nurture groups and aggression replacement training amongst others. An illuminating read, this book will be of interest to school staff and professionals, psychologists, social workers, health workers, researchers and practitioners and anyone interested in developing innovative approaches to the promotion of emotional education among children and young people.
Contemporary Research in Technology Education : Helping Teachers Develop Research-Informed Practice by
Publication Date: 2016-12-15
This book provides an overview of contemporary postgraduate research in Technology Education, bringing recent research on technology education to the attention of teachers so that they can use the findings to inform their practice, while also informing the education research community about studies being carried out in the field of Technology Education. The book brings together significant international research on Technology Education by focusing on contemporary PhD theses. While the conceptual underpinnings of each research project are explained, the focus is on elaborating the findings in ways that are relevant for practitioners. The book features contributions from doctoral students who completed their research in 2013. Each chapter employs a similar structure, with a focus on what the research means for classroom teachers. The book offers a valuable resource for researchers, teachers and potential researchers, with suggestions for further study. Each chapter also includes references to the digital edition of the respective full thesis, allowing readers to consult the research in detail if necessary.
Leading an Inclusive School by
Publication Date: 2016-12-06
Richard A. Villa and Jacqueline S. Thousand provide an in-depth, research-based guide for ensuring that your school provides the federally guaranteed "least restrictive environment" for students no matter the severity of the challenges they face. Leading an Inclusive School: Access and Success for ALL Students offers administrators, teachers, and other educators working to promote inclusion a wealth of information about the history and research base of inclusive education in the United States, including pivotal amendments to and reauthorizations of the EHCA, landmark court cases, and the philosophical underpinnings of the movement; essential curricular and instructional practices for inclusive schools, such as heterogeneous grouping, creative problem solving, and co-teaching; powerful organizational structures such as Multitiered System of Support and Schoolwide Positive Behavior Supports to help optimize the benefits of differentiation for all students; and a conceptual framework for coordinating educational initiatives and best practices for educating all students in general education. Also included are vivid personal stories of students with disabilities that illustrate how these students flourish when they learn alongside their general education peers. Educators who are serious about committing to the success of learners at all levels of perceived physical, intellectual, communication, and social/emotional ability will find the examples, advice, and tools in this book indispensable for planning, implementing, and promoting inclusion in their schools.
Drumming to the Beat of Different Marchers by
Publication Date: 2014-02-01
The revised edition of Drumming to the Beat of Different Marchers features Dr. Debbie Silver's poetry, wisdom, and humor with the art of award-winning illustrator Peter H. Reynolds. Teachers and administrators will be inspired by Debbie's poignant stories and thrilled with the practical advice as they learn about relevant research findings. A valuable discussion guide is included to help interested teams find the rhythm of the differentiated learners in their classrooms. Don't miss your opportunity to read this exciting new resource!
The Differentiated Classroom by
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Although much has changed in schools in recent years, the power of differentiated instruction remains the same--and the need for it has only increased. Today's classroom is more diverse, more inclusive, and more plugged into technology than ever before. And it's led by teachers under enormous pressure to help decidedly unstandardized students meet an expanding set of rigorous, standardized learning targets. In this updated second edition of her best-selling classic work, Carol Ann Tomlinson offers these teachers a powerful and practical way to meet a challenge that is both very modern and completely timeless: how to divide their time, resources, and efforts to effectively instruct so many students of various backgrounds, readiness and skill levels, and interests. With a perspective informed by advances in research and deepened by more than 15 years of implementation feedback in all types of schools, Tomlinson explains the theoretical basis of differentiated instruction, explores the variables of curriculum and learning environment, shares dozens of instructional strategies, and then goes inside elementary and secondary classrooms in nearly all subject areas to illustrate how real teachers are applying differentiation principles and strategies to respond to the needs of all learners. This book's insightful guidance on what to differentiate, how to differentiate, and why lays the groundwork for bringing differentiated instruction into your own classroom or refining the work you already do to help each of your wonderfully unique learners move toward greater knowledge, more advanced skills, and expanded understanding. Today more than ever, The Differentiated Classroom is a must-have staple for every teacher's shelf and every school's professional development collection.
Teaching for Results by
Publication Date: 2012-08-01
Collaborative teaching has the potential to improve the performance of both students and teachers. However, this method is not regularly capitalized in many schools because teachers who are assigned to co-teach often lack task-specific knowledge and skills to better prepare them. Fortunately these skills can be learned. In addition to establishing a solid foundation of teamwork skills, Teaching for Results will explain how to use the structure of co-teaching to practically and effectively implement differentiated instruction in their classrooms. This essential guide will demonstrate to readers how to use best practices in differentiated instruction in order to effectively co-manage, co-assess, co-plan, and co-instruct a diverse group of learners in any general education classroom.
Learning That Lasts by
Publication Date: 2016-02-17
A practical guide to deeper instruction--a framework for challenging, engaging, and empowering students of all ages For schools to meet ambitious new standards and prepare all students for college, careers, and life, research has shown unequivocally that nothing is more important that the quality of daily instruction. Learning That Lasts presents a new vision for classroom instruction that sharpens and deepens the quality of lessons in all subject areas. It is the opposite of a 'teacher-proof' solution. Instead, it is predicated on a model of instruction that honors teachers as creative and expert planners of learning experiences for their students and who wish to continuously grow in their instructional and content knowledge. It is not a theoretical vision. It is a model of instruction refined in some of the nation's most successful public schools--schools that are beating the odds to create remarkable achievement--sited primarily in urban and rural low-income communities. Using case studies and examples of powerful learning at all grade levels and in all disciplines, Learning That Lasts is a guide to creating classrooms that promote deeper understanding, higher order thinking, and student independence. Through text and companion videos, readers will enter inspiring classrooms where students go beyond basics to become innovators, collaborators, and creators. Learning That Lasts embraces a three-dimensional view of student achievement that includes mastery of knowledge and skills, character, and high-quality work. It is a guide for teachers who wish to make learning more meaningful, memorable, and connected to life, and inspire students to do more than they think possible.
How to Reach and Teach Children and Teens with ADD/ADHD by
Publication Date: 2016-07-26
The most up-to-date and comprehensive vital resource for educators seeking ADD/ADHD-supportive methods How to Reach and Teach Children and Teens with ADD/ADHD, Third Edition is an essential guide for school personnel. Approximately 10 percent of school-aged children have ADD/ADHD--that is at least two students in every classroom. Without support and appropriate intervention, many of these students will suffer academically and socially, leaving them at risk for a variety of negative outcomes. This book serves as a comprehensive guide to understand and manage ADHD: utilizing educational methods, techniques, and accommodations to help children and teens sidestep their weaknesses and showcase their numerous strengths. This new 2016 edition has been completely updated with the latest information about ADHD, research-validated treatments, educational laws, executive function, and subject-specific strategies. It also includes powerful case studies, intervention plans, valuable resources, and a variety of management tools to improve the academic and behavioral performance of students from kindergarten through high-school. From learning and behavioral techniques to whole group and individualized interventions, this indispensable guide is a must-have resource for every classroom--providing expert tips and strategies on reaching kids with ADHD, getting through, and bringing out their best. Prevent behavioral problems in the classroom and other school settings Increase students' on-task behavior, work production, and academic performance Effectively manage challenging behaviors related to ADHD Improve executive function-related skills (organization, memory, time management) Apply specific research-based supports and interventions to enable school success Communicate and collaborate effectively with parents, physicians, and agencies
Making Every Lesson Count by
Publication Date: 2015-06-16
Packed with practical teaching strategies, Making Every Lesson Count bridges the gap between research findings and classroom practice. Shaun Allison and Andy Tharby examine the evidence behind what makes great teaching and explore how to implement this in the classroom to make a difference to learning. They distil teaching and learning down into six core principles - challenge, explanation, modelling, practice, feedback and questioning - and show how these can inspire an ethos of excellence and growth, not only in individual classrooms but across a whole school too. Combining robust evidence from a range of fields with the practical wisdom of experienced, effective classroom teachers, the book is a complete toolkit of strategies that teachers can use every lesson to make that lesson count. There are no gimmicky ideas here - just high impact, focused teaching that results in great learning, every lesson, every day. To demonstrate how attainable this is, the book contains a number of case studies from a number of professionals who are successfully embedding a culture of excellence and growth in their schools. Making Every Lesson Count offers an evidence-informed alternative to restrictive Ofsted-driven definitions of great teaching, empowering teachers to deliver great lessons and celebrate high-quality practice. Suitable for all teachers - including trainee teachers, NQTs, and experienced teachers - who want quick and easy ways to enhance their practice and make every lesson count.
Project Based Literacy by
Publication Date: 2015-11-30
Project Based Learning; it's a term that most educators have heard and probably have heard good things about, Often, though, they aren't quite sure precisely what its defining characteristics are other than involving students in projects that are supposed to somehow result in their learning things of value. A great many teachers are reluctant to make it part of what they do with their students due to unfounded fears of unrealistic workloads and classroom management issues associated with it. This book should help change that, making the nature of PBL (Project Based Learning) clear and illustrating how it can be a manageable, effective, and very enjoyable aspect of instruction. The book will present an exciting, alternative approach to literacy instruction that its authors call Project Based Literacy. This will principally be done through the presentation of 20 appealing projects, all of them carefully designed to engage and inspire students (grades 3 - 8) in literacy activities that are both core to the required curriculum and deeply in synch with the Common Core Standards in English Language Arts. The book will also present support material for this, providing sufficient theory, instructional and classroom management tips, and technology and other 'How To' information to ensure that rank and file classroom teachers can adopt, adapt, and enjoyably and successfully implement the projects and maximize learning in relation to the Common Core Standards for ELA."