Ivy Tech Libraries: Early Childhood Education: Research

By Subject - Education

EDUCATION

Audio-Visual

Early Childhood Education: The Research

TED Talk: How Does Income Affect Childhood Brain Development?

TED Talk: The Healthy Child, Assembly Required

Books, print and online:

Open Access/Free Online Journals

Children's Literature in English Language Education
CLELE journal is a new, bi-annual, comprehensively peer-reviewed online journal for scholars, teacher educators and practitioners involved in using and researching children’s literature in the field of English learning as a second, additional or foreign language. The journal investigates children’s literature as an art form, and as a framework with which to connect L2 literature teaching across the school years. The scope covers the affordances of children’s literature for L2 acquisition with pre-school infants through to young adults.
Early Childhood Research Quarterly
For over twenty years, Early Childhood Research Quarterly (ECRQ) has influenced the field of early childhood education and development through the publication of empirical research that meets the highest standards of scholarly and practical significance. ECRQ publishes predominantly empirical research (quantitative or qualitative methods) on issues of interest to early childhood development, theory, and educational practice (Birth through 8 years of age).
National Institute for Early Education Research (NIEER)
NIEER conducts academic research to inform policy supporting high-quality, early education for all young children promoting the physical, cognitive and social development needed for children to succeed in school and later life. NIEER provides independent, research-based analysis and technical assistance to policymakers, journalists, researchers, and educators.

Research: Finding Articles

Most of the library's journal titles are online and available 24/7 via the Virtual Library. The following links will take you to library databases with journals dealing with education. Search for the topic of your choice once you are in the database.

o CQ Researcher--In-depth coverage of a broad range of current topics (social issues, government, more)

o EBSCO Professional Development Collection - Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of 520 high quality education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports

o ERIC (EBSCO) - Educational Resource Information Center, contains more than 1,194,000 records and links to more than 100,000 full-text documents from ERIC. Search terms: Education, Early Childhood Education.

o Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) - Provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for more than 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

o Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center--Gale - Essays and articles on different sides of an issue (from books and periodicals)

o Rand Education - Research and analysis to help educators find solutions to challenges in education and economics

Research: Statistics

· IDOE -- Indiana K-12 Education Data

· National Center for Education Statistics

· Stats Indiana -- Indiana Business Resource Center, Indiana University

· SAVI -- Social Assets and Vulnerabilities Indicators database and mapping software for

Central Indiana

Early Childhood Education: Research

Research Assistance