DNA and Genetics: Home

This category includes the DNA Overview Learning Module (Instructor guide, Participant guide and PowerPoint presentation). The learning module provides an overview of DNA (Deoxyribonucleic acid), its role as genetic material, its molecular components and structure, and DNA replication. This information is necessary to better understand the role of microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) in DNA analysis, disease diagnostics, and gene therapy. There are three activities that allow the participants to further explore DNA using several on-line tutorials. An assessment is provided in the Instructor Guide.

Open access journal

The NHGRI Image Gallery provides imagery related to the genomics research, people, and programs of the institute. Unless otherwise noted, images are in the public domain and may be used, linked or reproduced without permission.

There are a number of public DNA databases that can be used by the genetic genealogist. Some provide a facility for people to enter their DNA results and search for close or exact matches. Other databases are publicly searchable but it is not possible to input your own results.

GenBank ® is the NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences (Nucleic Acids Research, 2013 Jan;41(D1):D36-42). GenBank is part of the International Nucleotide Sequence Database Collaboration, which comprises the DNA DataBank of Japan (DDBJ), the European Nucleotide Archive (ENA), and GenBank at NCBI. These three organizations exchange data on a daily basis.