"Nobody realizes that some people expend tremendous energy merely to be normal." ~ Albert Camus
Stress, anxiety, depression . . . these almost seem to be the watchwords for this era of COVID-19. What many don't realize is there are people everywhere who live with stress, anxiety, and depression on a daily basis, without a break, for most of their lives without the added pressure of a pandemic, economic upheaval, and civic unrest. Learning to cope with stress and anxiety when the causes are not so crystal clear takes more strength than "normal" people are used to expending. This guide provides resources to help anyone who is dealing with stress, anxiety, panic attacks, depression, or any of the feelings in the above illustration.
Time 22:01
Cool Down by
Tap into the power that cool thinking generates-learn how going slower can actually help you get more done, faster. Before you check your wireless e-mail for the fourth time this hour, ask yourself, is this truly helping you get further ahead? Or is the pressure to address the immediate actually pushing you backwards? Cool Down takes a look at our innate and powerful addiction to high-speed activity, and shows how it is robbing us of the ability to think creatively and to connect with others (clients, colleagues, managers, and even family) just when we need to the most. Cool Down offers a provocative look at the value of slowing down in many aspects of our lives and demonstrates clearly that to get further ahead, faster, people do actually need to cool down. It's not about doing less; it's about achieving more by slowing down. Cool Down highlights the harmful effects of speed on productivity and reveals the value of slow in helping us to think clearly and prioritize more effectively. Cool Down is a fascinating look at the world of work, revealing how and why slow is the next tool of strategic advantage. Shows why and how to consciously step away from reactionism, pressure, and overload. Reveals the numerous ways in which cooling down will improve your potential and abilities--intellectually, emotionally, and creatively--making you more productive by going slower. Contains practical advice that will help you apply cool techniques to real-world situations: at work, on the road, and at home. Explains how to improve communication with your boss, your colleagues, and your family. Features lots of examples, practical tips, to-dos, and concepts that are memorable and easy to apply. Each end-of-chapter summary includes "Key Points to Take Away" and assessment questions to help you honestly observe and change your current habits. A complete approach to managing the pressures of life in a fast-paced world, Cool Down allows you to slow down so you can get ahead--and stay there.
Coping with Anxiety by
Relieve anxiety, fear, and worry for good! Fully revised and based in the latest research, this second edition of Coping with Anxiety includes the latest DSM updates and provides immediate, user-friendly, and effective strategies to stop anxiety at its source. If you suffer from anxiety, you may try to avoid the situations that cause you to feel uneasy. But avoidance isn't the answer--and letting your fears and worries constantly hold you back will keep you from living the life you truly want. So, how can you learn to cope with your anxiety while it's happening? In Coping with Anxiety, Second Edition, renowned anxiety expert and author of The Anxiety and Phobia Workbook, Edmund Bourne, offers a clinically proven, step-by-step program to help you overcome the physical, mental, and emotional symptoms of anxiety. The exercises in this book can be done in the moment, whenever you feel anxious, and will help you move past your fears and start living the life you were meant to live. Don't let anxiety keep you one step behind. This book will show you how to face your fears, overcome panic when it happens, and take charge of your anxiety once and for all.
Miserably Successful No More by
Power Leader and author Debjani Mukherjee Biswas' second book in the 'unity through differences' series asks: "Why is there a global epidemic of the 'miserably successful'." Miserably Successful No More asks how individuals can harness authentic power and emotional intelligence by understanding their unique styles. The author uses an engineering mindset of data harvesting and pattern recognition to identify keys to stress reduction. Dr. Marshall Goldsmith, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Triggers, Mojo and What Got You Here Won't Get You There endorses the book, saying: "This book is a must have for anyone who is, or wants to be, happy in their success. Success should not be miserable! Mukherjee Biswas teaches you how to alleviate these trappings of success - stress, unhappiness, exhaustion. Success should feel good. Miserably Successful No More explores the challenges of success, how to overcome them and be happy." Based on observations and informal data gathering, key M.I.S.E.R.Y. sources are summarized: Materialism, Incongruence, Stress, Emptiness, Relationships and the 'Yeti' (negative self-talk). An original Communications Style Framework - 'Two Truths and a Lie'- asks: are you a blunt 'hammer', a glossy 'brush' or a skillful 'glue gun' - direct yet strong in relationships? Delving further into the M.I.S.E.R.Y framework, she summarizes key sources of S.T.R.E.S.S: Style, Time, Rx i.e. health, Ego, Surroundings and Substance. Each issue is analyzed, with an array of practical solutions. We examine our purpose, uncover deep-rooted style biases, major stressors and practical, powerful solutions. This is an easy read with structured worksheets, informal ways to process information (customized to style and personality), compelling thought-provoking questions, practical tools and original concepts.About The AuthorMukherjee Biswas is a renowned international keynote speaker, inclusion catalyst andtrusted advisor of CEOs and global leaders. She has experienced being 'different' at multiple levels - a female engineer in male-normed environments; an Asian in North America. This led her to ask: "Does being different work for, or against one? What are the business costs of style bias and stereotyping?"
Psychology of Burnout by
A large proportion of today's workforce finds itself coping with major responsibilities at home as well as rising expectations and demands on the job. The combination of work and family demands often leads to time pressure and conflict. As a result, a growing number of employees in today's organisations are suffering from burnout, a stress syndrome characterised by emotional exhaustion, depersonalisation and diminished personal accomplishment. Burnout has consequences for family outcomes, including diminished positive affect, increased marital conflicts, and feelings of stress among family members. Effects on work outcomes have also been reported, such as diminished work performance and organisational commitment and increased absenteeism levels. In response to this problem, a broad array of research has focused on factors that reduce burnout, labelled as social support. This new book gathers the latest research from around the globe in this field.
Mindfulness Made Simple by
Ease Your Anxiety and Find Calm with the Ancient and Popular Practice of Mindfulness A modern practice with ancient roots, mindfulness is widely recognized for its calming, healing, and restorative effects. Mindfulness and meditation can help you relieve stress, regulate your emotions, achieve focus and clarity, strengthen your communication skills, and cultivate an appreciation for what is most important to you. Based on centuries of experience and new techniques in the field of psychology, Mindfulness Made Simple shows how to bring mindfulness and meditation into your daily life. Mindfulness Made Simple offers inspiring and practical guidance, with: Foreword by noted psychologist Elisha Goldstein, Ph.D. Brief history of mindfulness and its growing impact in the present day Step-by-step introduction to your first meditation 5 further meditations and 8 advanced meditations to deepen your practice Simple exercises and journal prompts to support your mindfulness journey Inspirational quotes and tips to help you stay focused and motivated With Mindfulness Made Simple, the full benefits of a soothing and healthy mindfulness practice are only a few simple exercises away.
Science of Stress Management by
Stress is an inevitable part of everyday life. Sometimes we manage it well. Other times, not so much. But understanding the role of stress in our overall health and wellness is essential to taking it head-on. It's not just that stress can take over our thoughts; it can take over our bodies. From the flight or fight response to inflammation, from feeling anxious to feeling sick, it can deteriorate our bodies and our minds from the inside out. While many books promise tips on managing stress, this book takes it one step further to consider the science behind stress and how it affects our minds and bodies, offering evidence-based approaches to managing stress for optimum results. Amitava Dasgupta guides readers to a greater understanding of the mechanisms at work when stress is present and provides guidance for dealing with those physical and mental responses. While grounded in the science of stress, this work also helps readers employ those strategies that will best manage stress for better overall health.
Unwind! by
This book by Michael Olpin, a top-notch stress expert, and Sam Bracken, a no-longer-stressed-out writer, stands out from other books on stress management in one significant way: its "whole-person" approach. Unwind! is about optimizing your body, heart, mind, and soul, recognizing that any and all of these dimensions of your life affect your anxiety level. It helps you get clear about who you are as well as your priorities and goals. The authors show you how to take charge of your life and how to make better choices that will prevent stress in the first place. The authors explore seven key paradigm shifts, from reactive to proactive; unmotivated to inspired; pressured to prioritized; hassled to harmonious; anxious to empathic; defensive to diverse; and tense to tranquil. Delving deep into each of these paradigm shifts, readers learn how to prevent most of the daily stresses people typically experience, by getting at the roots of stressors.
The Anxiety and Phobia Workbook by
Celebrating 30 years as a classic in its field and recommended by therapists worldwide, The Anxiety and Phobia Workbook is an unparalleled, essential resource for people struggling with anxiety and phobias. Living with anxiety, panic disorders, or phobias can make you feel like you aren't in control of your life. Tackle the fears that hold you back with this go-to guide. Packed with the most effective skills for assessing and treating anxiety, this evidence-based workbook contains the latest clinical research. You'll find an arsenal of tools for quieting worry, ending negative self-talk, and taking charge of your anxious thoughts, including: Relaxation and breathing techniques New research on exposure therapy for phobias Lifestyle, exercise, mindfulness and nutrition tips Written by a leading expert in cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), this fully revised and updated seventh edition offers powerful, step-by-step treatment strategies for panic disorders, agoraphobia, generalized anxiety disorder (GAD), obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD), post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), worry, and fear. You will also find new information on relapse prevention after successful treatment, and updates on medication, cannabis derivatives, ketamine, exposure, nutrition, spirituality, the latest research in neurobiology, and more. Whether you suffer from anxiety and phobias yourself, or are a professional working with this population, this book provides the latest treatment solutions for overcoming the fears that stand in the way of living a meaningful and happy life. This workbook can be used on its own or in conjunction with therapy.
Burnout by 
Managing Stress by 
Restorative Yoga for Ethnic and Race-Based Stress and Trauma by
Coming out in August 2020! Presenting ways in which Restorative Yoga can contribute to healing emotional wounds, this book invites yoga teachers, therapists and practitioners to consider the psychological impact of ethnic and race-based stress and trauma. It aids in the process of uncovering, examining, and healing one's own emotional wounds and offers insight into avoiding wounding or re-wounding others. The book describes how race-based traumatic stress differs from PTSD and why a more targeted approach to treatment is necessary, as well as what can trigger it. It also considers the implications of an increasingly racially and ethnically diverse and global yoga community, as well as the importance of creating conscious yoga communities of support and connection, where issues of race and ethnicity are discussed openly, non-defensively and constructively. By providing a therapeutic structure that assists those directly and indirectly impacted by ethnic and race-based stress and trauma, Restorative Yoga for Ethnic and Race-Based Stress and Trauma provides valuable tools for aiding in the processing of stressful experiences and in trauma recovery.
Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers by
Renowned primatologist Robert Sapolsky offers a completely revised and updated edition of his most popular work, with over 225,000 copies in print Now in a third edition, Robert M. Sapolsky's acclaimed and successfulWhy Zebras Don't Get Ulcers features new chapters on how stress affects sleep and addiction, as well as new insights into anxiety and personality disorder and the impact of spirituality on managing stress. As Sapolsky explains, most of us do not lie awake at night worrying about whether we have leprosy or malaria. Instead, the diseases we fear-and the ones that plague us now-are illnesses brought on by the slow accumulation of damage, such as heart disease and cancer. When we worry or experience stress, our body turns on the same physiological responses that an animal's does, but we do not resolve conflict in the same way-through fighting or fleeing. Over time, this activation of a stress response makes us literally sick. Combining cutting-edge research with a healthy dose of good humor and practical advice,Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers explains how prolonged stress causes or intensifies a range of physical and mental afflictions, including depression, ulcers, colitis, heart disease, and more. It also provides essential guidance to controlling our stress responses. This new edition promises to be the most comprehensive and engaging one yet.
