Clinical Nursing Calculations by
Clinical Nursing Calculations is an essential text for teaching dosage calculation to undergraduate nursing students. The text employs the CASE approach, which is a step-by-step method for performing dosage calculations. The author team draws from extensive experience across the continuum of care to bring readers a truly informative and dynamic resource. Clinical Nursing Calculations has been expertly organized into four sections for easy navigation: Mathematics Overview, Principles of Medication Administration, Basic Dosage and Intravenous Calculations, and Advanced Calculations. In addition to clinical calculation coverage, the text also features expanded content on nutrition, insulin pencalculations, and the legal implications of medication administration.The Joint Commission and the Institute for Safe Medication Practice guidelines regarding safe medication administration are also featured. To facilitate learning, students will find examples in both electronic medication administration record (eMAR) and electronic health record format. This text can be used as a primary text for a dosage calculations course or as a supplemental text within a nursing program or pharmacology course.Three methods of dosage calculation are presented side-by-side in table format for every dosage calculationUpdated chapter referencesUpdated content for dosing and safe injection practices per CDC Guidelines and The Joint CommissionNew information on heparin dosage protocol to reflect clinical environment practices New drug titration examples and questions NCLEX®-style review questions are includedBasic math concepts are highlighted in equations throughout the text for visual learners
Mosby's Drug Guide for Nursing Students - E-Book : Mosby's Drug Guide for Nursing Students - E-Book by
Find the information you need to administer drugs safely, accurately, and professionally! Mosby's Drug Guide for Nursing Students, 15th Edition provides concise profiles of more than 4,000 generic and trade name drugs, including the drugs most recently approved by the FDA. Each drug monograph includes clear guidelines to dosing, administration, and the nursing process, so you'll always be sure that you're practicing medication safety. What sets this handbook apart is its detailed coverage of rationales and explanations, IV drugs, and the similarities and differences in common classes of drugs. From well-known pharmacology expert Linda Skidmore-Roth, this drug guide has been trusted by nursing students for more than 25 years! More than 4,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug students will administer in practice or in clinicals. Alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, and a full-color design highlights important information. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. High Alert headings indicate drugs that pose the great risk if administered improperly. Additional drug monographs on the Evolve websiteprovide information on the most recently approved drugs. Individual drug monographs include generic name, pronunciation, functional and chemical classification, do-not-confuse drug names, action, therapeutic outcome, uses, unlabeled uses, pharmacokinetics/pharmacodynamics, contraindications, precautions, dosages and routes, adverse effects, interactions (including drug/herb, drug/food and lab test), nursing considerations, black box warnings, patient/family education, and treatment of overdose. Drug Categories sections promote the safe administration of common classes of drugs, explaining the similarities and differences among drugs in the same functional class including their common side effects and interactions. Common and life-threatening side effects are organized by body system, showing signs to watch for during assessments. Coverage of IV drug administration highlights dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Complete pharmacokinetic information includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug, as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Photo atlas of drug administration includes full-color illustrations showing physical landmarks and administration techniques used for IV and other drugs. Cross-references indicate drug information that may be found in the appendixes. Flexible, water-resistant cover provides durability in the clinical setting. NEW! Updated content covers the latest information on drug dosages, adverse effects, Black Box Warnings, nursing considerations, patient education, drug research, and more.
Pediatric Injectable Drugs (the Teddy Bear Book) by
If you work with children, you must have this book. For more than two decades, Pediatric Injectable Drugs (The Teddy Bear Book) has served an important and continuing need for reliable evidence-based information specific to pediatric injectable drugs, including all drugs commonly used in the treatment of infants and children from neonates to adolescents, with age-specific dosing and administration guidelines throughout. ASHP's classic reference on pediatric drugs is now fully revised with the eleventh edition of Pediatric Injectable Drugs. Included in this edition are 15 new monographs, with 241 monographs in total. Each monograph now includes a new category on obesity dosing. All information is compiled in an evidence-based manner from the primary literature, including case reports, observational reports, and comparative trials. As with previous editions, the structure of each of the drug monographs covers the following areas: Brand names. Medication error potential. - Contraindications and warnings. Infusion-related cautions. Age-specific dosage. Dosage adjustment in organ dysfunction. Maximum dosage. Additives. Suitable diluents. Maximum concentrations. Preparation and delivery. IV push. Intermittent infusion. Continuous infusion. Other routes of administration. Comments. When it comes to pediatric injectable drugs, valid safety and efficacy research can be hard to locate: this indispensable reference changes all that.
Saunders Nursing Drug Handbook 2024 - E-Book : Saunders Nursing Drug Handbook 2024 - E-Book by
Ensure safe and effective drug therapy with this easy-to-use handbook! Saunders Nursing Drug Handbook 2024 provides you with current, detailed information on more than 1,000 generic and 4,000 trade name drugs. This handy, user-friendly guide includes updated uses, dosage forms, warnings, side effects and adverse reactions, IV drug administration, nursing considerations, and much more. Organized alphabetically by generic drug name for quick reference, this book stands out from the others in guiding the nurse through the steps essential to quality patient care. New drug monographs cover 12 new FDA-approved medications! More than 1,000 generic name drugs, encompassing over 4,000 trade name drugs, are organized alphabetically with A-to-Z tabs for quick and easy access. UNIQUE! Herbal information is included in the appendix and on the Evolve website, covering the interactions and effects of commonly encountered herbs. Detailed information for each drug includes side effects listed by frequency, and adverse effects and reactions requiring prompt intervention. Drugs by Disorder are listed in the front of the book for easy reference, showing common disorders and the drugs most often used for treatment. Drug Classifications section features an overview of actions and uses for drug families. Black Box Alerts and High Alert drugs are highlighted to promote safe administration of drugs that pose the greatest risk for patient harm, and Do Not Confuse With warnings call out drug names that sound alike or look alike. Top 100 Drugs list helps you easily identify the most frequently administered drugs. Cross-references to the 400 top U.S. brand-name drugs are located throughout the book for easy access. List of newly approved medications in the front of the book makes it easy to locate the latest drugs. Nursing considerations are organized in a functional nursing process framework and include baseline assessment, intervention/evaluation, and patient/family teaching. Information on lifespan and disorder-related dosage variations covers special considerations for pediatric, geriatric, hepatic, and immune- or renal-compromised patients. Extensive IV content includes IV compatibilities/IV incompatibilities and breaks down key information on reconstitution, rate of administration, and storage, as well as an IV Compatibility Chart foldout covering 65 intravenous drugs. Customizable and printable monographs for 100 of the most commonly used drugs are located on Evolve. NEW! Drug monographs for 12 new FDA-approved medications equip you with the most current drug information. NEW! Updates include uses, dosage forms, interactions, precautions, and other need-to-know information to help prevent medication dispensing errors.
