Respiratory Therapy - Indianapolis

Book - One Author

Format:

(Author Last Name, Date)

Example:

(Smith, 2004)

Format:

Author last name, First initial, Middle initial. (Date). Title of book. Publisher.

Example:

Smith, K.C. (2004). Children's literature of the Harlem renaissance. Indiana University Press.

Format:

(Author Last Name, Date)

Example:

(Smith, 2004)

Format:

Author last name, First Initial. Middle initial. (Date).  Title of chapter. In A. Editor & B. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pp xxx-xxx). Publisher.

Example:

Arthur, K. (2004). High school reform in Arizona. In A. Squires (Ed.), Dismal state of American education (pp. 56-84). Knopf.

E-book

[When doi (digital object identifier) is available, you should use it at end of entry as noted in examples]

Format:

(Author Last Name, Date)

If no author but has editor:

Format:

(Editor Last Name, Date)

Possible Formats:

Author last name, First initial. Middle initial. (Date). Title of book.  Doi:xxxxx

Author last name, First initial. Middle initial. (Date). Title of book. Publisher. URL

Editor last name, First initial. Middle initial. (Ed.).  (Date).  Title of book.  Publisher. URL.

Possible Examples:

Volz, B.D. (2000). Junior genreflecting: A guide to good reads and series fiction for children. Libraries Unlimited. Doi: 10.1036/0071393724

Zimring, C.A. (2005). Cash for your trash: Scrap recycling in America. Rutgers University Press http://site.ebrary.com/lib/cgcc.

Careful, T. (Ed.). (2003). Children and Ritalin. Academic Press. Doi: 10.1037/10762-000

Source from a Database

**Most library databases have the citation provided.

**When DOI (digital object identifier) is available, you should use it at end of entry as noted instead of where the article was retrieved from.

**If no DOI is available, include the homepage URL of the journal (or newspaper, magazine, etc.) or the database URL where you retrieved the information from.

Format:
(Author last name, Date, Page Number)

Example: 
(Bender, 2006, p. 39)

Formats:

Format is the same as print but add DOI or electronic retrieval information at end.  

With DOI: 

Author last name, First initial. Middle initial. (Year, Month, Day). Title of article.  Title of Magazine, Volume number(issue number), Pages. doi:xxxxxx

Using Journal Homepage:

Author last name, First initial. Middle initial. (Year, Month, Day). Title of article.  Title of Magazine, Volume number(issue number), Pages. Retrieved from journal homepage URL.

Using Database: 

Author last name, First initial. Middle initial. (Year, Month, Day). Title of article.  Title of Magazine, Volume number(issue number), Pages. Retrieved from database URL.

Examples:

With DOI:

Kroon, L. (2007). Drug interactions with smoking. American Journal of Health-System Pharmacy, 64(18), 1917-1921. doi: 10.2146/ajhp060414

Using Article Homepage: 

Vissing, Y.  (2003, December). The yellow school bus project:  Helping homeless students get ready for school.  Phi Delta Kappan, 85(4), 321-323.  Retrieved from http://pdkintl.org/

Using Database Retrieval Information:

Vissing, Y.  (2003, December). The yellow school bus project:  Helping homeless students get ready for school.  Phi Delta Kappan, 85(4), 321-323.  Retrieved from http://www.ebscohost.com

Format:
(Author last name, Date, Page Number)

Example: 
(Bender, 2006, p. 39)

Format:

Author last name, First initial. Middle initial. (Year, Month, Day). Title of article.  Title of Magazine, Volume number, Pages.  

Note:  If no volume number is available, use p. or pp. before page numbers.

Example:

Bender, M. (2006, December). 2-minute winter warm-ups: Wake up your hibernating muscles, starting now.  Health, 20, 38-40.

Format:
(Author last name, Date, Page Number)

Example: 
(Woodyatt , 2019)

Format:

Author last name, First initial, Middle initial. (Year, Month Day). Title.  Retrieved from URL

Example:

Woodyatt, A. (2019, September 10). Daytime naps once or twice a week may be linked to healthy heart, researchers say.  CNN.  https://www.cnn.com/2019/09/10/health/nap-heart/health-wellness-intl-scli/index.html

* When the author and site name are the same, omit the site name from the source element.

Format:
(First two or three words of title, Date)

Example:
(The Trials and Tribulation, 2003)

Format:

Article title. (Date). Retrieved from URL

Example:

The trials and tribulation of the homeless on the streets of Phoenix.  (2003, October 13). Retrieved from http://www.save.the. homeless.org/trials.html

Format:
(Author last name, n.d.)

Example: 
(Jameson, n.d.)

Format:

Author last name, First initial, Middle initial. (n.d.). Title.  Retrieved from URL

Example:

Jameson, E. (n.d.). NCH FACT sheets on homelessness.  Retrieved from http://nch.ari.net/facts.html

Format:
(Author last name, Date, Page Number)

Example: 
(Bender, 2006, p. 39)

Format:

Author last name, First initial. Middle initial. (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Newspaper. Retrieved from http://www.someaddress.com/full/url/

Example:

Parker-Pope, T. (2008, May 6). Psychiatry handbook linked to drug industry. The New York Times. Retrieved from http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2008/05/06/psychiatry-handbook-linked-to-drug-industry/?_r=0

Any Indirect Source
(A source cited in another source).

Whenever possible, find the original source and cite that.

If the original source is not available then cite the source indirectly.

Name the original source in your signal phrase and include the secondary source in the parentheses.

Format:
Original author last name stated “whatever you’re quoting” (as cited in author last name of the work you read, date, page number).

Example: 
Johnson stated “that...” (as cited in Smith, 2013, p. 102).

Include only the secondary source (the book, article etc that you read) on the reference page.

Format:

Author last name, First initial, Middle initial. (Date).  Title of book. Location: Publisher.

Example:

Smith, A.B. (2013). The book of diabetes. New York:  Knopf.

Personal Communication

(This includes interviews, letters, and emails).

Format:
(Communicator’s name, personal communication, date of communication).

Example:
(E. Robbins, personal communication, January 4, 2011).

Do not include personal communication in the reference list.

A work by two authors: 

Name both authors in the signal phrase or in the parentheses each time you cite the work. Use the word "and" between the authors' names within the text and use the ampersand in the parentheses.

Research by Branson and Larson (2003) supports...

(Branson & Larson, 2003)

A work by three or more authors:

Use only the first author's last name followed by "et al." in the signal phrase or parentheses.

(Kernis, et al., 1993)

Format for two authors:

Author last name, First initial. Middle initial., & Author last name, First initial, Middle initial.  (Date).  Title of book. Publisher.

Example for two authors:

Branson, J. J., & Larson, B. (2003).  Educating Rita. Norton.  

Format for three to 21 authors:

Authors’ names in the order in which they appear. (Date). Title of article. Title of Magazine. Volume number (issue number), Pages.

Example for three to 21 authors:

Kernis, M. H., Cornell, D. P., Sun, C. R., Berry, A., & Harlow, T. (1993). There's more to self-esteem than whether it is high or low: The importance of stability of self-esteem. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 65, 1190-1204.

Format for more than 21 authors: 

List 21 Author's last names and initials...final author last name and initials. (Date). Title of article. Title of Magazine. Volume number (issue number), Pages.

Format:
(Editor last name, Date)

Example: 
(Atkinson, 2014)

Format:

Editor, A. A. (Ed.). (Date). Title of book. Publisher.

Example:

Atkinson, S. (Ed.). (2014). The business book: big ideas simply explained.  Dorling Kindersley Limited. 

Organization as Author

Almost all government websites offer no author.  The government agency is the organization author.

Format:
(Organization, Date)

Example: 
1st citation:
(National Fire Protection Association [NFPA], 2009)

Subsequent citations: 
(NFPA, 2009)

Format:

Organization. (Date).  Title of book.  Publisher.

Example:

National Fire Protection Association. (2009). Fundamentals of firefighting skills. Jones and Bartlett

Format: (Author, Date Posted)

Example: (TED, 2013)

The author name is TED in this case because the TED organization posted the video to YouTube, and that’s the information your reader needs to retrieve the reference.

Format:

Author (in this case the organization is the author).  (Date video posted on YouTube).  Title of video. [Video file]. YouTube. Retrieved from URL.

Example:

       TED. (2013, March 1). Amanda Palmer: The art of asking. [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xMj_P_6H69g

Format:

Speaker last name, First initial. Middle initial. (Date). Title of video. [Video file]. Retrieved from URL

Example:

Palmer, A. (2013, February). Amanda Palmer: The art of asking. [Video file].  Retrieved from https://www.ted.com/talks/amanda_palmer_the_art_of_asking

YouTube Video

Format:
(Author, Date)

Example: 
(Harvard University, 2019)

Use the name of the account that uploaded the video as the author.

Format:

Author. (Date).  Title of video. [Video file]. YouTube. Retrieved from URL

Example:

Harvard University. (2019). Soft robotic gripper for jellyfish. [Video file]. YouTube. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=guRoWTYfxMs

Format: 

(Author, Date)

Example: 

(Johnson, 2019)

If you cannot find an author name, use the screen name or whomever the post was credited to.

Format:

Author last name, First initial. Middle initial. (Date). Title of post. [Blog post]. Retrieved from URL

Example:

Johnson, A. (2019, July 8). Our first story walk. [Blog post]. Retrieved from http://www.abbythelibrarian.com/2019/07/our-first-storywalk.html