Databases: Start research here! - Respiratory Therapy - Indianapolis - Ivy Tech Libraries at Ivy Tech Community College

Research Databases

Biomedical Reference Collection (EBSCO)
This database provides full text for over 100 journals in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study. All titles included in the Biomedical Reference Collection are indexed in MEDLINE.
CINAHL (EBSCO)
This is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 610 journals. Full-text coverage dates back to 1981.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)
MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). PMC contains more than 6 million full-text records, spanning several centuries of biomedical and life science research (late 1700s to present).
Research Library (ProQuest)
This database includes more than 600 scholarly journal titles in the medical sciences, including the areas of nursing, pharmacology, psychiatry, surgery, pediatrics, gerontology and oncology. More than 75% of the journals provide full-text content.

Consumer Health Databases

Alt HealthWatch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers full-text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
more...less...
Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.
Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete is designed for the everyday consumer of health care information. CHC provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is an online consumer health information resource. It provides patients with high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish.
more...less...
MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Reference Sources

Black's Medical Dictionary, 43rd Edition
A reference for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students
Credo Reference: Health & Medicine
Searchable online collection of reference books on nursing topics, pharmacology, anatomy, psychology, alternative medicine, consumer health, and much more.
Oxford Dictionary of Nursing, 8th Ed. (2021)
Written by medical and nursing specialists, and offering more than 10,500 clear and concise entries on nursing theory and practice, the dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of the ever-expanding vocabulary of the nursing professions.
more...less...
As well as nursing-specific terms, there are also many entries in the fields of medicine, anatomy, physiology, ethics, psychiatry, nutrition, dentistry, statistics, and pharmacology. Almost 100 helpful illustrations and tables, and 16 appendices covering thecalculation of drug dosages, religion and nursing practice, recommended alcohol intake, and much more, help to make this an essential reference tool for all nursing students and professionals.

Video Databases

MedlinePlus Videos & Tools
Watch health videos on topics such as anatomy, body systems, and surgical procedures. Test your knowledge with interactive tutorials and games. Check your health with calculators and quizzes.