Books in the library are shelved by Library of Congress call number in the general collection and reference.
Ebooks are also available through our databases or by searching IvyCat.
Browse the BF section to find books about psychology.
Books about psychiatry can be found in the RC section.
To see more information about the books below, hover your cursor over the 
icon.
| Psychology | BF | 1-990 | Differential psychology. Individuality. Self | BF | 697-697.5 |
| Psychoanalysis | BF | 173-175.5 | Developmental psychology | BF | 712-724.85 |
| Psychological tests and testing | BF | 176-176.5 | Psychiatry | RC | 435-571 |
| Consciousness. Cognition | BF | 309-499 | Psychoanalysis | RC | 500-510 |
| Applied psychology | BF | 636-637 | Personality disorders. Behavior problems | RC | 554-569.5 |
| Comparative psychology. Animal and human psychology | BF | 660-685 | Mental disorders. Child psychiatry | RJ | 499-507 |
Becoming Whole by
Ease Emotional Pain. End Aloneness. Find Self-LoveSM Filled with warmth, empathy, and hope, Becoming Whole systematically teaches you how to ease emotional pain in your life and in the lives of those you care about. Powerfully illustrated by "sessions"--stories of patients in treatment--and for the first time unveiling what goes on inside the heart and mind of a psychotherapist as they heal a patient's tangled heart, Becoming Whole is devoted to helping · Someone suffering from emotional distress that just won't go away · Patients in treatment who have not fully recovered · Anyone wanting to improve their love relations Insightful, powerful, and revealing, Becoming Whole is not only a healing companion, but a valuable life companion as well. ​Proceeds from your purchase of this book will be used to directly help victims of child abuse.
Counseling and Psychotherapy Theories in Context and Practice by
Get to know the origins, development, and key figures of each major counseling theory This comprehensive text covers all the major theories in counseling and psychotherapy along with an emphasis on how to use these theoretical models in clinical practice. The authors cover the history, key figures, research base, multicultural implications, and practical applications of the following theoretical perspectives: Psychoanalytic, Individual/Adlerian, Existential, Gestalt, Person-Centered, Behavioral, Cognitive-Behavioral, Choice Theory/Reality Therapy, Feminist, Constructive, Family Systems, Multicultural, and Eclectic/Integrative. This text has case examples that bring each theory to life. The entire book has been updated with the latest research and techniques. Pedagogical features include learner objectives, Putting It in Practice boxes, questions for reflection, case examples and treatment planning, and chapter summaries. Every theory is examined from cultural, gender/sexual, and spiritual perspectives. The instructor supplement package includes a Respondus test bank, chapter outlines, supplemental lecture ideas, classroom activities, and PowerPoint slides. Video demonstrations corresponding to every major theory and linked to each chapter′s contents. In addition, a WPLS course will be available after publication. Expanded video elements closely tied to sections of the text New visuals, including graphics, charts, and tables to facilitate student understanding of theories and how they relate to one another Increased coverage of multicultural and ethical issues in every chapter Cultural, gender, sexuality, and spiritual issues are integrated into every chapter The Sommers-Flanagan s hands-on, practical approach emphasizes how students and practitioners can apply these theories in real-world practice. Students are empowered to develop theoretically-sound and evidence-based approaches to conducting counseling and psychotherapy.
Our Minds, Our Selves by
An original history of psychology told through the stories of its most important breakthroughs and the people who made them Advances in psychology have revolutionized our understanding of the human mind. Imaging technology allows researchers to monitor brain activity, letting us see what happens when we perceive, think, and feel. But technology is only part of how ideas about the mind and brain have developed over the past century and a half. In Our Minds, Our Selves, distinguished psychologist and writer Keith Oatley provides an engaging, original, and authoritative history of modern psychology told through the stories of its most important breakthroughs and the men and women who made them. Our Minds, Our Selves traverses a fascinating terrain: forms of conscious and unconscious knowledge; brain physiology; emotion; stages of mental development from infancy to adulthood; language acquisition and use; the nature of memory; mental illness; morality; free will; creativity; the mind at work in art and literature; and, most important, our ability to cooperate with one another. Controversial experiments--such as Stanley Milgram's investigation of our willingness to obey authority and inflict pain and Philip Zimbardo and his colleagues' study of behavior in a simulated prison--are covered in detail. Biographical sketches illuminate the thinkers behind key insights and turning points: historical figures such as Hermann Helmholtz, Charles Darwin, Sigmund Freud, Jean Piaget, B. F. Skinner, and Alan Turing; leading contemporaries such as Geoffrey Hinton, Michael Tomasello, and Tania Singer; and influential people from other fields, including Margaret Mead, Noam Chomsky, Jane Goodall, and Gabrielle Starr. Enhancing our understanding of ourselves and others, psychology holds the potential to create a better world. Our Minds, Our Selves tells the story of this most important of sciences in a new and appealing way.
Nobody's Normal by
For centuries, scientists and society cast moral judgments on anyone deemed mentally ill, confining many to asylums. In Nobody's Normal, anthropologist Roy Richard Grinker chronicles the progress and setbacks in the struggle against mental-illness stigma-from the eighteenth century, through America's major wars, and into today's high-tech economy. Nobody's Normal argues that stigma is a social process that can be explained through cultural history, a process that began the moment we defined mental illness, that we learn from within our communities, and that we ultimately have the power to change. Though the legacies of shame and secrecy are still with us today, Grinker writes that we are at the cusp of ending the marginalization of the mentally ill. In the twenty-first century, mental illnesses are fast becoming a more accepted and visible part of human diversity. Grinker infuses the book with the personal history of his family's four generations of involvement in psychiatry, including his grandfather's analysis with Sigmund Freud, his own daughter's experience with autism, and culminating in his research on neurodiversity. Drawing on cutting-edge science, historical archives, and cross-cultural research in Africa and Asia, Grinker takes readers on an international journey to discover the origins of, and variances in, our cultural response to neurodiversity. Urgent, eye-opening, and ultimately hopeful, Nobody's Normal explains how we are transforming mental illness and offers a path to end the shadow of stigma.
Cognitive Behavior Therapy by
Hundreds of thousands of clinicians and graduate students have relied on this text--now significantly revised with more than 50% new material--to learn the fundamentals of cognitive behavior therapy (CBT). Leading expert Judith S. Beck demonstrates how to engage patients, develop a sound case conceptualization, plan individualized treatment, structure sessions, and implement core cognitive, behavioral, and experiential techniques. Throughout the book, extended cases of one client with severe depression and another with depression, anxiety, and borderline personality traits illustrate how a skilled therapist delivers CBT and troubleshoots common difficulties. Adding to the third edition's utility, the companion website features downloadable worksheets and videos of therapy sessions. New to This Edition *Chapter on the therapeutic relationship. *Chapter on integrating mindfulness into treatment. *Presents recovery-oriented cognitive therapy (CT-R)--which emphasizes clients' aspirations, values, and positive adaptation--alongside traditional CBT. *Pedagogical features: clinical tips, reflection questions, practice exercises, and videos at the companion website. *New case examples featuring clients with more complex problems. *Demonstrates how to integrate strategies from other modalities, such as acceptance and commitment therapy, dialectical behavior therapy, and mindfulness-based cognitive therapy.
Hidden Valley Road by
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB PICK * ONE OF GQ's TOP 50 BOOKS OF LITERARY JOURNALISM IN THE 21st CENTURY * The heartrending story of a midcentury American family with twelve children, six of them diagnosed with schizophrenia, that became science's great hope in the quest to understand the disease. "Reads like a medical detective journey and sheds light on a topic so many of us face: mental illness." --Oprah Winfrey Don and Mimi Galvin seemed to be living the American dream. After World War II, Don's work with the Air Force brought them to Colorado, where their twelve children perfectly spanned the baby boom: the oldest born in 1945, the youngest in 1965. In those years, there was an established script for a family like the Galvins--aspiration, hard work, upward mobility, domestic harmony--and they worked hard to play their parts. But behind the scenes was a different story: psychological breakdown, sudden shocking violence, hidden abuse. By the mid-1970s, six of the ten Galvin boys, one after another, were diagnosed as schizophrenic. How could all this happen to one family? What took place inside the house on Hidden Valley Road was so extraordinary that the Galvins became one of the first families to be studied by the National Institute of Mental Health. Their story offers a shadow history of the science of schizophrenia, from the era of institutionalization, lobotomy, and the schizophrenogenic mother to the search for genetic markers for the disease, always amid profound disagreements about the nature of the illness itself. And unbeknownst to the Galvins, samples of their DNA informed decades of genetic research that continues today, offering paths to treatment, prediction, and even eradication of the disease for future generations. With clarity and compassion, bestselling and award-winning author Robert Kolker uncovers one family's unforgettable legacy of suffering, love, and hope.
Here is a list of Ebook Databases available through your Ivy Tech library.
Please make sure you are logged in to MyIvy to access content.
Extensive collection of online academic books in all subject areas
Extensive collection of online academic books in all subject areas.
Thousands of ebooks, audio books, videos, and case studies covering computer networking, software development, programming, project management, leadership, business, and more.
To access your playlists offline, download the O'Reilly Mobile App available for iOS, Android, or Kindle devices.
Very Short Introductions offer concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Expert authors combine facts, analysis, new insights, and enthusiasm to make often challenging topics highly readable to develop your core knowledge.
Full-text books and videos on business, computing, and technology. Search through IvyCat. Read online, few downloads. Sign in using your Ivy Tech credentials, save your reading list, notes, and more. To access your playlists on a mobile device, download the Skillsoft Learning App in your app store.
To access any of our ebooks, you will need to be signed in to MyIvy.
You have several options to search for ebooks through the library.
Click here to do an advanced search in IvyCat, Ivy Tech's online catalog. Under the Additional Limits section, choose Electronic Resources from the format type drop-down list.
For other ebook catalogs and databases, take a look at our A to Z list of resources. You can filter the type to Book and Ebook collections to see what's available.
Below are a few examples of the thousands of ebooks we have available:
The Pioneer's Way: Leading a Trailblazing Life that Builds Meaning for your Family, your Community, and You by
Senseless school shootings, cure-defying epidemics, threats of environmental disaster: these are the kinds of headlines that riddle the news every day. We wonder, when will it stop? While many advances have been made, there is still a need for everyday people to create, innovate, and impact their spheres of influence to advance the common good. Motivated by curiosity, conviction, and a conquering spirit, they can move to fill unoccupied spaces to nurture, persuade, understand, and solve some of society's lingering dilemmas. Those who do the initial significant work in these areas are the ones who bring about such needed change. They are pioneers. The Pioneer's Way establishes a working definition of the pioneer, explores pioneering versus leadership, and offers essential characteristics of the pioneer. These are illustrated by colorful examples of pioneers both past and present-motivating listeners with inspirational, frontiering stories, while equipping them with the journey's essentials for moving forward to make needed, significant change. Listeners will journey down a systematic path that will help them navigate unfamiliar territory so they too can respond to the pioneer's call and answer it through effective, beneficial action in both their lives and the lives they touch.
Hardiness by
Learn to embrace the 3 C's of psychological hardiness to overcome stress and increase personal growth Life is full of questions. How you answer these questions can determine which path your life takes. Think about how many questions you are faced with every day. It can be overwhelming. From the mundane to the profound, questions help you navigate everything from your daily routine to your career choices and relationships. Sometimes, asking the right question is just as important as the answer: What do you want out of life? Is it financial success? A loving family? Career achievement? Maybe you are coping with a serious illness. Whatever your goal may be, you have undoubtedly encountered barriers that slow your progress. One of the biggest of these barriers is stress. Scientific research has found that your ability to resist the damaging effects of stress--your hardiness--can reduce stress-related illness and strengthen your ability to thrive under pressure. Hardiness, written by respected clinical and research psychologists, will help develop your psychological hardiness which, in turn, enables you to enjoy more of life's rewards. Mastering the 3 C's of hardiness--commitment, control, and challenge--is essential to increasing hardiness and responding effectively to stressful situations. This invaluable guide provides exercises and activities, based on 30 years of research, specifically designed to increase your hardiness in all areas of your personal and professional life. This book will help you: Understand how hardiness is assessed to evaluate and improve your response to stress Unlock your new potential made possible by a better understanding of hardiness Examine real-life examples and case studies of psychological hardiness Increase your engagement in the surrounding world Capitalize on opportunities for your personal growth Hardiness: Making Stress Work for You to Achieve Your Life Goals can help you move toward becoming healthier, more self-actualized, and increasingly satisfied with your life and future.
Stop Walking on Eggshells by
Isn't it time you stopped walking on eggshells? Learn how with this fully revised and updated third edition of a self-help classic--now with more than one million copies sold! Do you feel manipulated, controlled, or lied to? Are you the focus of intense, violent, and irrational rages? Do you feel you are 'walking on eggshells' to avoid the next confrontation? If the answer is 'yes,' someone you care about may have borderline personality disorder (BPD)--a mood disorder that causes negative self-image, emotional instability, and difficulty with interpersonal relationships. Stop Walking on Eggshells has already helped more than a million people with friends and family members suffering from BPD understand this difficult disorder, set boundaries, and help their loved ones stop relying on dangerous BPD behaviors. This fully revised third edition has been updated with the very latest BPD research on comorbidity, extensive new information about narcissistic personality disorder (NPD), the effectiveness of schema therapy, and coping and communication skills you can use to stabilize your relationship with the BPD or NPD sufferer in your life. This compassionate guide will enable you to: Make sense out of the chaos Stand up for yourself and assert your needs Defuse arguments and conflicts Protect yourself and others from violent behavior If you're ready to bring peace and stability back into your life, this time-tested guide will show you how, one confident step at a time.
Mental Health Disorders SB, 8th Ed by
Mental Health Disorders Sourcebook, Eighth Edition discusses how the brain works, the components of mental wellness, and the lifestyle habits that lead to illness. It offers information about the major types of mental illness and their treatments, including affective disorders, anxiety disorders, psychotic disorders, personality disorders, and disorders that impact behavior, including impulse control disorders, addictions, and eating disorders. A special section looks at pediatric issues in mental health and another examines the distinctive concerns of other specific populations. Information is also included about the relationship between mental health and chronic illnesses, such as cancer, epilepsy, heart disease, pain, and sleep disorders. The book concludes with a glossary of mental-health terms, a list of crisis hotlines, and a directory of mental-health organizations.
The Psychology Book: big ideas simply explained by
The Psychology Book clearly and simply explains more than one hundred groundbreaking ideas of the great scientists and thinkers who contributed to the development of psychological thought. Using easy-to-follow graphics and artworks, succinct quotations, and thoroughly accessible text, The Psychology Book makes abstract concepts concrete. The Psychology Book includes innovative ideas from ancient and medieval thinkers ranging from Galen and RenE Descartes to the leaders of psychotherapy, such as Sigmund Freud and Abraham Maslow. The voices that continue to shape modern psychology, from Nico Fridja to David Rosenhan, are also included, giving anyone with an interest in psychology an essential resource to psychological thinking and history.
