Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Biomedical Reference Collection
Designed for doctors, research scientist, students and clinical specialists, this database provides full text for over 100 journals in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study. All titles included in the Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic Edition are indexed in MEDLINE.
This database provides full text coverage for more than 130 well-known administrative journals. Critical for hospital administrators and managers, this database includes publications covering the business of health care administration and much more. Click here for a complete title list. Click here for more info.
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database containing articles from popular and scholarly sources. Most research projects start with at least one search in Academic Search Premier.
Search for coverage of a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
Here are some useful tips to help you get the most out of your catalog and database searches.
- Start with a keyword search. Keyword searches will give you a broad range of results so you can see more of the types of information available.
- Be sure to try multiple searches and search terms. Think of all the possible terms for a topic including alternate names, spellings, or abbreviations.
- Truncation allows you to search for all possible endings to a root word. For example using Child* in the databases will find results that contain child, children, childhood, child's, etc.
- The databases offer you a tool to limit the publication dates to a specific time period. Publishers will often date ahead of the calendar, so set the end range ahead a few months.
- Check the article type. Many journals will include editorials and book and film reviews that should not be used as research sources.
- The databases Academic Search Premier, Health Business, and MEDLINE are all owned by EBSCO. When you go in to any of these databases you can click on the blue Choose Databases link at the top of the page and select other databases to search all at the same time. This will slow the database down a bit, but can save you time in the long run.
Open Access Medical Databases
The Open Access publishing model allows you to access these journals anywhere, anytime, no strings attached. So, even after you have left school and you need to do some medical research remember these resources.
PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Free Medical Journals
Exactly what the name implies.
All original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication. BioMed Central's portfolio of 214 journals includes general titles BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals (e.g. BMC Bioinformatics, Malaria Journal) that focus on particular disciplines.