Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is Scientific Writing
A scientific paper is a written report describing original research results. They are written in a specific format so that the data is easy to find and retrieve, and so that others can replicate the study. A scientific paper consists of six parts: title, abstract, introduction, materials and methods, results, and discussion.
The following links offer advise on, as well as examples of, scientific writing. There are also websites listed that will show you how to cite the sources you use in your papers.
Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database containing articles from popular and scholarly sources. Most research projects start with at least one search in Academic Search Premier.
Search for coverage of a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Health Source: Nursing/ Academic Edition
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.