Anthropology - Indianapolis

The main professional organization for anthropologists in the United States. The AAA is an umbrella organization composed of many “sections,” each focusing on a particular topic.

One of the two professional organizations for applied anthropologists in the US.

The Society for American Archaeology (SAA) is an international organization dedicated to the research, interpretation, and protection of the archaeological heritage of the Americas. With more than 7,000 members, the society represents professional, student, and avocational archaeologists working in a variety of settings including government agencies, colleges and universities, museums, and the private sector.

The Archaeological Institute of America (AIA) promotes archaeological inquiry and public understanding of the material record of the human past to foster an appreciation of diverse cultures and our shared humanity.

The Institute for Archaeologists (IfA) advances the practice of archaeology and allied disciplines by promoting professional standards and ethics for conserving, managing, understanding and promoting enjoyment of heritage.

Online anthropology collections from the AMNH.

The Anthropological Papers, published continuously since 1907, are monographic volumes that include some of the great ethnographies of the 20th century, particularly on North American Indians. Contains links to full-text papers.

U.S. Landmarks, searchable by name, city, state, etc.

An online collection websites, guides, and dig sites hosted by the Archaeological Institute of America.

National inventory of reports, permits and maps of U.S. archaeological sites, cultural and environmental resources.

Streaming video and audio of dig-sites, interviews, and many other resources.

The Smithsonian Library's 'Digital Library' contains digital publications, collections and objects including online exhibitions, webcasts, digital editions, bibliographies and fact sheets, and finding aids/inventories for collections such as our trade literature collection and artist files.

Federal Government site related to the The Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act. Contains databases like the Native American Consultation Database and Culturally Unidentifiable Native American Inventories Database

Contains digital library of the NWAF papers: reports of field work and of studies of subjects related to Mesoamerican (southern Mexico, Guatemala, Belize, El Salvador and western Honduras) archaeology. The Papers are written by archaeologists as reports of their work.

Full-text versions of selected works in archaeological literature of the 16th through the early 20th century.

The PrimateLit database provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities. Coverage of the database spans 1940 to present and includes all publication categories (articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters, etc.) and many subject areas. The PrimateLit database is no longer being updated as of November 30, 2010.

This website provides an interactive environment in which to examine and learn about skeletal anatomy. The purpose of this site is to enable you to view the bones of both human and non-human primates and to gather information about them from our osteology database.

The Bibliografía Mesoamericana provides a comprehensive and continually updated bibliographic dataset of the published literature pertaining to the anthropology of Mesoamerica. Content includes archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, physical anthropology, and other related disciplines. Citations onlly.

Contains links to online presentations concerning African American archaeology projects, with links listed alphabetically by state within each regional section. Additional links to online resources and presentations concerning African American history and culture, African archaeology, African history and cultures, and the subjects of slavery, resistance and abolition are also provided.

Digital collection and database featuring comparative archeological research on slavery throughout the Chesapeake, the Carolinas and the Caribbean