Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask a Librarian
Hello, I'm Kim, the Children's Librarian at the NMC Library.
I will be glad to help you with your assignments.
You can e-mail me at firstname.lastname@example.org
You can call me at 317-968-1602
And if you need help immediately you can get help 24/7 by connecting to Chat on the Library homepage
Winter 1998 (Vol. 36, no. 4) - present. Bookbird: A Journal of International Children's Literature (ISSN 0006 7377) is a refereed journal published quarterly by IBBY.
Bookbird aims to communicate new ideas to the community of readers interested in children's books and is open to any topic in the field of international children's literature. Bookbird also includes themed issues for which the editor will post calls for manuscripts on the IBBY website.
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
Devoted entirely to the review of current books for children. For each book provides concise summaries and critical evaluations; information on content, reading level, strengths and weaknesses, and quality of format; and suggestions for curricular use.
Children and Libraries
Provides continuing education of librarians working with children, showcases current scholarly research and practice in library service to children and spotlights significant activities and programs of the Association of Library Service for Children.
1998 (Vol. 26) - present (delayed 1 year). Children's Literature is the annual publication of the Modern Language Association Division on Children's Literature and the Children's Literature Association. Encouraging serious scholarship and research, Children's Literature publishes theoretically based articles that address key issues in the field.
Children's Literature Association Quarterly
Spring 2004 (Vol. 29, no. 1/2) - present (delayed 1 year). Each issue features an editorial introduction, juried articles about research and scholarship in children's literature, and book reviews. Free with membership in the Association.
Children's Literature in Education
09/01/1993 to present (with a 12 Month delay). Critical evaluation, analysis or commentary for librarians, teachers, students, writers and interested parents on social issues reflected in books, interviews with authors and illustrators and accounts of classroom practice and experience.
Children's Literature in English Language Education (CLELEjournal)
CLELEjournal is a new, bi-annual, comprehensively peer-reviewed online journal for scholars, teacher educators and practitioners involved in using and researching children’s literature in the field of English learning as a second, additional or foreign language. The journal investigates children’s literature as an art form, and as a framework with which to connect L2 literature teaching across the school years. The scope covers the affordances of children’s literature for L2 acquisition with pre-school infants through to young adults.
Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
Complete and up-to-date reference source on the subject of children's literature.
The Horn Book Magazine
Reviews of the best children's books published, articles about children's books, explorations of children's books from every perspective and news of the children's book world.
A thematic journal focusing on current trends in all areas of library practice; each issue explores topics of interest primarily to practicing librarians and information scientists and secondarily to teachers and students.
Jeunesse: Young People, Texts, Cultures
Jeunesse: Young People, Texts, Cultures is an interdisciplinary, refereed academic journal whose mandate is to publish research on, and to provide a forum for discussion about cultural productions for, by, and about young people. Our scope is international; while we have a special interest in Canada, we welcome submissions concerning all areas and cultures. We are especially interested in the cultural functions and representations of “the child.” This can include children’s and young adult literature and media; young people’s material culture, including toys; digital culture and young people; historical and contemporary constructions, functions, and roles of “the child” and adolescents; and literature, art, and films by children and young adults. We welcome articles in both English and French. Jeunesse was formerly Canadian Children's Literature/Littérature canadienne pour la jeunesse.
Journal of Children's Literature
Spring 2012 (Vol. 38, no. 1) - present. The Journal of Children's Literature is a refereed journal devoted to teaching and scholarship in the field of children's literature. It is the product of the Children's Literature Assembly of NCTE and is published twice annually.
The Lion and the Unicorn
Jun 1996 (Vol. 20, no. 1) - present (delayed 1 year), The Lion and the Unicorn is a theme-and genre-centered journal of international scope committed to a serious, ongoing discussion of literature for children.
Marvels & Tales
Marvels & Tales is a peer-reviewed journal that is international and multidisciplinary in orientation. The journal publishes scholarly work dealing with the fairy tale in any of its diverse manifestations and contexts. Marvels & Tales provides a central forum for fairy-tale studies by scholars of literature, folklore, gender studies, children’s literature, social and cultural history, anthropology, film studies, ethnic studies, art and music history, and others
School Library Journal
School Library Journal aspires to be an accelerator for innovation in schools and public libraries that serve the information, literacy, and technology needs of 21st century children and young adults. SLJ produces resources, services, and reviews that make library and education professionals savvier, and communities stronger.
The ALAN Review
The ALAN Review (TAR) is a peer-reviewed (refereed) journal published by the Assembly on Literature for Adolescents of the National Council of Teachers of English (ALAN). It is devoted solely to the field of literature for young adults. It is published three times per academic year (fall, winter, and summer) and is sent to all ALAN members, individual and institutional. Members of ALAN need not be members of NCTE.
The Deakin Review of Children's Literature
The Deakin Review of Children’s Literature is an electronic quarterly review of contemporary English-language materials of interest to children and young adults. Of particular use to librarians, parents, teachers and anyone working with young people, we also publish news relevant to children’s literacy.
Looking Glass: New Perspectives on Children's Literature
The Looking Glass: New Perspectives on Children's Literature is an electronic journal about children's literature. The journal was launched April 2, 1997 -- International Children's Book Day. As our name suggests, we combine an interest in the traditional with an eye to the modern. Our readers and contributors are academics, librarians, teachers, parents and anyone else fascinated by the world of children's literature.
Papers: Explorations into Children's Literature
Papers was originally published by Magpies Magazine as a publication for a professional and general readership interested in children’s literature. Since its inauguration in 1990, it has evolved into the premier Australian journal in children’s literature with a worldwide circulation.
The Journal of Research on Libraries and Young Adults
The Journal of Research on Libraries and Young Adults is an open-access, peer-reviewed online research journal published by the Young Adult Library Services Association. Its purpose is to enhance the development of theory, research, and practices to support young adult library services, as emphasized in’ YALSA’s National Research Agenda.
Child Development Research
Child Development Research is a peer-reviewed, Open Access journal that publishes original research articles as well as review articles in all areas of child development research.
The Future of Children
The Future of Children is a collaboration of the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs at Princeton University and the Brookings Institution. Our mission is to translate the best social science research about children and youth into information that is useful to policymakers, practitioners, grant-makers, advocates, the media, and students of public policy. We publish one journal and policy brief each year, in addition to other projects. The policy topics we cover range widely – from education to health to families – with children as the unifying element. Our diverse senior editorial team represents two institutions and multiple disciplines.
The journal of International Research in Early Childhood Education (IRECE)
The journal of International Research in Early Childhood Education (IRECE) is an electronic peer-reviewed journal designed to provide an international forum for scholarship and research within the field of early childhood education. Published in Melbourne Australia, it aims to provide a forum for debate in Asia, Latin America, the Middle East and Africa, as well as the regular sources of scholarship in both Western and Eastern Europe, New Zealand, and North America.
The Journal of Child and Adolescent Behavior
Journal of Child & Adoloscent Behaviour (JCALB) , a broad-based journal was founded on two key tenets: To publish the most exciting researches with respect to the subject of Child & Adoloscent Behaviour. Secondly, to provide a rapid turn-around time possible for reviewing and publishing and to disseminate the articles freely for research, teaching and reference purposes.
Encyclopedia on Early Childhood Development
The most up-to-date scientific knowledge on early childhood development, from conception to age five.
Children's Literature Association
The Children’s Literature Association (ChLA) is a non-profit association of scholars, critics, professors, students, librarians, teachers and institutions dedicated to the academic study of literature for children. For our members, children’s literature includes books, films, and other media created for, or adopted by, children and young adults around the world, past, present, and future.
International Children's Digital Library
The ICDL Foundation promotes tolerance and respect for diverse cultures by providing access to the best of children's literature from around the world.
International Reading Association
ILA is a global advocacy organization, and literacy is our cause, our passion, and our reason for being. We publish cutting-edge research on literacy, and we translate this research into practical resources for educators, students, and leaders involved in spreading literacy all across the world.
The Literacy Web at the University of Connecticut
The Literacy Web is designed to promote the use of the Internet as a tool to assist classroom teachers in their search for best practices in literacy instruction, including the new literacies of Internet technologies.
National Council for Teachers of English
"The Council promotes the development of literacy, the use of language to construct personal and public worlds and to achieve full participation in society, through the learning and teaching of English and the related arts and sciences of language.“
National Education Association
The National Education Association (NEA), the nation's largest professional employee organization, is committed to advancing the cause of public education. NEA's 3 million members work at every level of education—from pre-school to university graduate programs.
Smithsonian Education: Educators' Section
Lesson plans, resources, state standards.
United States Department of Education
ED's mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access.
Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University
My desire to increase curriculum time for health education in preK-12 classrooms led me to design the Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University (CPBD@MU) in 1995 – and to continue to sustain and update this award-winning site as an interdisciplinary database for all ages, academic subjects, and reading purposes
Suggested Retail Sites
Bookwire by Bowker
Bookwire offers the most complete list of books with comparison prices of the books you want from all the major online retailers.
The great thing about Amazon.com is the critical book reviews linked to each book sold. The book reviews are from quality children's journals such as Horn Book, Library School Journal, Book Links, and Kirkus.
Helps locate articles and documents relating to children's literature--specifically as a teaching tool.
SOMETHING ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Provides access to biographical information for authors and illustrators of children's and young adult books.
Available from Indiana Inspire databases.
The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
Providing concise summaries and critical evaluations, this invaluable resource assists readers with questions regarding the ever-evolving children's literature field. Each issue of Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books includes expert reviews by a world-renowned staff. These reviews give an in-depth look at selected book's content, reading level, strengths and weaknesses, quality of the format, as well as suggestions for circular use.
Communicate with other librarians
The world's largest listserv for school libraries
The #1 professional development resource for school library professionals serving over 11,000 members around the world.