Explore the library's collections. Our Online collections have magazines, journals, ebooks, as well as audio and video streaming.
Choose from the collections listed below or check out the full list of our collections on the A-Z list. Video tutorials can help you to make the most of your searching experience.
A multi-disciplinary database containing professional and peer-reviewed titles
Portal to all EBSCO databases including Academic Search Complete, Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition, and more; select as appropriate from this entry page.
Reference works, Scholarly journals, Trade publications, and important General interest magazines covering core academic subject areas. Help Guide available.
You can find some examples of scholarly vs popular journals here, and below:
Scholarly Journal Articles about vaccines
COVID-19 vaccine hesitancy: Associations with gender, race, and source of health information
vs
Popular Magazine Articles about vaccines
Why Holding Off Isn't the Answer
A primary source is a document or physical object which was written or created during the time under study. These sources were present during an experience or time period and offer an inside view of a particular event.
Some types of primary sources include:
ORIGINAL DOCUMENTS (excerpts or translations acceptable): Diaries, speeches, manuscripts, letters, interviews, news film footage, autobiographies, official records
CREATIVE WORKS: Poetry, drama, novels, music, art
RELICS OR ARTIFACTS: Pottery, furniture, clothing, buildings
Primary Sources on the Web: Finding, Evaluating, Using
Examples of primary sources include:
Diary of Anne Frank - Experiences of a Jewish family during WWII
The Constitution of Canada - Canadian History
A journal article reporting NEW research or findings
Plato's Republic - Women in Ancient Greece
U.S. Holocaust Memorial Database
Testimonies of Auschwitz SS-Men
A secondary source interprets and analyzes primary sources. These sources are one or more steps removed from the event. Secondary sources may have pictures, quotes or graphics of primary sources in them.
Some types of secondary sources include:
PUBLICATIONS: Textbooks, magazine and journal articles, histories, criticisms, commentaries, encyclopedias
Examples of secondary sources include:
A journal/magazine article which interprets or reviews previous findings
A history textbook
A book about the effects of WWI
A Frantic Effort To Nourish WWII Troops Led To This Common Breakfast Staple
