Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business Law and Ethics Assignment - Columbus: Databases

A short libguide for Professor Jackson's class, concerning the legality of refusing marriage related services to homosexual couples.

Academic search premier

Academic Search Premier (ASP) is a multidisciplinary database used by researchers at all levels-from high school students to university professors.  ASP is just one in a suite of databases developed and produced by the company EBSCO and can be viewed as a great "general purpose" academic article database.  ASP features full-text access to articles from thousands of peer-reviewed, discipline-specific academic journals.  Here you will find articles and information from various academic disciplines and is a great place to go for accurate, reliable scholarly sources.

 

To give you a brief introduction to searching the database, lets say that you access the database and initially type in "gay marriage" and see what results you get.  You should get around 8,977 thousand articles.  To narrow down your results, on the left hand side of the page there are small boxes under "Limit Too" that you can check off that will limit the articles to full text and scholarly peer reviewed. You will get less results but everything you find should be something you can use.  After doing all of this your results should be narrowed down to 458 articles.  That is still quite a bit to sort through, to narrow it down further leave "gay marriage" in your search bar but now type in AND "discrimination." If you do this you should now have 37 results. You will get more articles that pertain to your research question this way.  Don't be afraid to play around with your wording, even typing them in a different order can yield different results.

Opposing Viewpoints

"Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

In addition to the engaging, streamlined interface and media-rich topic pages, the product's unprecedented collection of content and curriculum-focused tools that help students explore issues from all perspectives include:

  • Pro/con viewpoint essays
  • Topic overviews
  • More than 300 primary source documents
  • Biographies of social activists and reformers
  • Court-case overviews
  • Periodical articles
  • Statistical tables, charts and graphs
  • Images and a link to Google Image Search
  • Podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs
  • A national and state curriculum standards search, correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline"

Using this database is very similar to using a search engine like Google.  Simply type in your research question "gay marriage, or "gay marriage equality," or "gay marriage discrimination." You should get lots of results just from these few keywords.  No matter what you choose to search for you should get results.  On opposing viewpoints you should find resources to academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and even to videos.

Business Search Premier

Business Source Premier is the industry's most popular business research database, featuring the full text for more than 2,200 journals. Full text is provided back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1998.

Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Premier's full-text coverage outshines its competitors in all business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
 
To give you a brief introduction to searching the database, lets say that you access the database and initially type in "gay marriage" and see what results you get.  For this database try using "basic search" first to see what you can find.  There are 2,953 articles about gay marriage, but remember to use the "limit too" and check off the peer-reviewed and full text.  After that you should get a result of 162.  Narrow down your search by typing in "gay marriage" AND "discrimination." which yields a result of 13 articles. Again, don't be afraid to play around with words and the word order, it can change your search results drastically.

Subject Guide