Library Resources - Human Services - South Bend-Elkhart - Ivy Tech Libraries at Ivy Tech Community College

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reports related to topics in the news and social and political issues. Recommended for topic overviews and for argumentative essays.

DSM-5 Library This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive and up-to-date resource used for clinical practice by mental health professionals, this resource includes the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5), the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), the DSM-5-TR Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, the DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases, the DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview, and the Spanish edition of Diagnostic Criteria from the DSM-5.

Academic Video Online

Social Work
Counseling and Therapy
Mental Health
Psychology
Substance Use and Abuse
Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Find Articles

You can search Discover! to finds book and articles on your topic from one search box. Discover! searches both IvyCat (a database of all the materials in the South Bend and Elkhart libraries, including over 100,000 ebooks) and all our EBSCOhost and JSTOR databases for articles and books on your topic. You can link out to ProQuest Research Library and other databases from Discover! to find more information (see right column of your result set) on your topic.

You also have access to dozens of subject-specific article databases. Explore all our databases at our A-Z List.

Best Bet: Discover!
Discover! searches thousands of articles in a number of research article databases (Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, etc.), as well as IvyCat, a database for all the materials available in our Library (books, ebooks, videos, etc.).

ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library, like Academic Search Premier, is a general academic database. However, it is very strong in the social sciences and a must-use database for research in the social sciences. The same searching principles apply, though the layout is a bit different. You can access ProQuest by linking out from a search in Discover! (see above), from the A-Z List on the library home page, or by clicking here.