Skip to main content

Mobile Applications - Central Indiana: Research

E-books

Other Book Apps

Downloadable e-books

Here are websites that offer free downloadable e-books.

  • Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts
    Browse Alex by Authors, Date or Title or search by keyword. Alex makes texts available to read online, or download in the following formats: PDF, Newton Paperback, Palm Pilot, or Rocket eBook.
  • Amazon Kindle Free eBook Collections
    Free classics and out-of-copyright, pre-1923 books, as well as limited-time free promotional ebooks available for Kindle.
  • Barnes & Noble Free eBooks
    Use on your Nook, Nook software or Barnes & Noble eReader software or app.
  • Google Books
    While there is no way to restrict search results to downloadable books only, you can limit your results to books that are fully viewable by using the Advanced Search feature of Google Books. Just select the "Full view only" option, enter your search terms and click "Google Search."
  • Houston Area Digital Media Catalog
    Access audiobooks and video through your local Houston and Galveston County public libraries. Must have a library card to access.
  • Internet Archive
    Download free books and texts. The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.
  • LibriVox
    LibriVox provides free audiobooks from the public domain. There are several options for listening.
  • ManyBooks.net
    manybooks.net strives to provide eBooks in as many formats as possible.
  • The National Academies Press
    Download as PDFs or read online. Need a free account to download.
  • Open Library
    Open Library is a project of the non-profit Internet Archive. The goal is one web page for every book ever published. Not every book listed has a free eBook version, but there are many available through Open Library and you can limit your search to eBooks.
  • Project Gutenberg
    One of the most comprehensive collections of electronic texts on the Internet. Many books can be downloaded for iPad, Kindle, Nook, Android, iPhone, iPod Touch, Sony Reader.
  • Free-eBooks.net  
      

Reference

Articles