A Graphic Design Student's Guide to Freelance by
A Graphic Design Student's Guide to Freelance: Practice Makes Perfect helps graphic design students freelance while in college in order to contextualize the material they are learning in their graphic design classes. In doing so, the material in the text assists graphic design students in rounding out and refining their overall education. The book fills an existing gap in the literature connecting the new graphic design college student and the business world. A Graphic Design Student's Guide to Freelance takes students of all academic levels and challenges them to work with a client in order to complement their academic endeavors, make money, and understand the graphic design profession on a deeper level.
Learning Design by
The new field of learning design has the potential to revolutionize not only technology in education, but the whole field of teaching and learning through the application of design thinking to education. Learning Designlooks inside the "black box" of pedagogy to understand what teachers and learners do together, and how the best teaching ideas can be shared on a global scale. Learning design supports all pedagogical approaches, content areas, and fields of education. The book opens with a new synthesis of the field of learning design and its place in educational theory and practice, and goes on to explore the implications of learning design for many areas of education--both practical and theoretical--in a series of chapters by Larnaca Declaration authors and other international experts.
Database Systems by
Database Systems is ideal for a one- or two-term course in database management or database design in an undergraduate or graduate level course. With its comprehensive coverage, this book can also be used as a reference for IT professionals. This best-selling text introduces the theory behind databases in a concise yet comprehensive manner, providing database design methodology that can be used by both technical and non-technical readers. The methodology for relational Database Management Systems is presented in simple, step-by-step instructions in conjunction with a realistic worked example using three explicit phases--conceptual, logical, and physical database design. #65533; Teaching and Learning Experience This program presents a better teaching and learning experience-for you and your students. It provides: Database Design Methodology that can be Used by Both Technical and Non-technical Readers A Comprehensive Introduction to the Theory behind Databases A Clear Presentation that Supports Learning
Move Fast and Break Things by
*The book that started the Techlash* A stinging polemic that traces the destructive monopolization of the Internet by Google, Facebook and Amazon, and that proposes a new future for musicians, journalists, authors and filmmakers in the digital age. Featured in New York Times' Paperback Row A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice An Amazon Best Business & Leadership Book of 2017 Longlisted for Financial Times/McKinsey Business Book of the Year 2017 A strategy+business Best Business Book of 2017 Move Fast and Break Things is the riveting account of a small group of libertarian entrepreneurs who in the 1990s began to hijack the original decentralized vision of the Internet, in the process creating three monopoly firms--Facebook, Amazon, and Google--that now determine the future of the music, film, television, publishing and news industries. Jonathan Taplin offers a succinct and powerful history of how online life began to be shaped around the values of the men who founded these companies, including Peter Thiel and Larry Page: overlooking piracy of books, music, and film while hiding behind opaque business practices and subordinating the privacy of individual users in order to create the surveillance-marketing monoculture in which we now live. The enormous profits that have come with this concentration of power tell their own story. Since 2001, newspaper and music revenues have fallen by 70 percent; book publishing, film, and television profits have also fallen dramatically. Revenues at Google in this same period grew from $400 million to $74.5 billion. Today, Google's YouTube controls 60 percent of all streaming-audio business but pay for only 11 percent of the total streaming-audio revenues artists receive. More creative content is being consumed than ever before, but less revenue is flowing to the creators and owners of that content. The stakes here go far beyond the livelihood of any one musician or journalist. As Taplin observes, the fact that more and more Americans receive their news, as well as music and other forms of entertainment, from a small group of companies poses a real threat to democracy. Move Fast and Break Things offers a vital, forward-thinking prescription for how artists can reclaim their audiences using knowledge of the past and a determination to work together. Using his own half-century career as a music and film producer and early pioneer of streaming video online, Taplin offers new ways to think about the design of the World Wide Web and specifically the way we live with the firms that dominate it.
Professional Web Design by
If you are a web designer, or are on your way to becoming one, you know the importance of staying up-to-date with the latest tools, techniques, and trends of the business. Learning CSS technology and continually improving your design and developer skills are essential elements of your success. In this fifth edition of PROFESSIONAL WEB DESIGN: TECHNIQUES AND TEMPLATES, popular author and web developer Clint Eccher teaches beginning to intermediate web designers, through case studies and helpful tips and techniques, how to create attractive, fast, and efficient websites. In addition to the helpful instruction, readers will also have access to more than 200 completely customizable design templates. Eccher covers essential topics, from understanding how web development works today to working with clients, enhancing usability, understanding graphics, and much more. The included case studies cover a variety of requirements and design types. Get up to speed, and up to date, with modern web design--get PROFESSIONAL WEB DESIGN: TECHNIQUES AND TEMPLATES, FIFTH EDITION.
Web Design and Asp. Net by
About the Book: In this book titled Web Design and ASP.NET you get a complete overview of the subject. In addition, you get ample solved practice exercises. Salient features: Web development (using HTML and ASP.NET technology) and publishing process. Concise explanations of techniques and theories. Practices in real-world applications. The following chapters are covered in this book: Introduction to Web Design, Introduction to HTML, Linking to HTML Documents, Creating Frames, Development of Tables, Including Images, Developing HTML Forms, Introduction to Style Sheets, Introduction to Scripting, Including Multimedia, Beyond HTML, Introduction to ASP.NET, Web Server Controls, Validation Server Controls, Database Concept in ASP.NET. If you want to become a good Web Developer, this book is the best tool you can have. Contents: Introduction to Web Design Introduction to HTML Linking to HTML Documents Creating Frames Development of Tables Including images Developing HTML Forms Style Sheets Introduction to Scripting Including Multimedia Beyond HTML Introduction to ASP.NET Web Server Controls Validation Server Controls Database Concept in ASP.NET
Responsive Web Design with AngularJS by
If you are an AngularJS developer who wants to learn about responsive web application development, this book is ideal for you. Responsive Web Design with AngularJS is intended for web developers or designers with a basic knowledge of HTML, CSS, and JavaScript.
Web Design by
The mechanics of Web design made easy for visual learners An effective Web site combines good graphic design principles with a functional user interface. This colorful, step-by-step guide shows visual learners how to plan, develop, and publish a site, all with easy-to-follow lessons. Each task is illustrated with screen shots accompanied by numbered steps. You'll learn all the tools and techniques for creating great-looking Web sites that users will love. Good Web design incorporates basic graphic design principles as well as the techniques required to make a site easy to navigate and user-friendly Those who learn best when someone shows them how will quickly get up to speed with the full-color screen shots and step-by-step illustrations in this visual guide Covers planning a site, creating eye-popping content with popular Adobe tools, building in functionality with HTML and CSS, testing the site, taking it live, and keeping it up to date Companion Web site features code and design examples for experimentation If you find learning easier when someone shows you how to do something, you'll quickly learn to build Web sites with Teach Yourself VISUALLY Web Design.
Responsive Web Design by Example by
Written as a concise yet practical guide with an explicit focus on showing beginners how to get their very own responsive websites up and running, this essential reference includes coverage of tried-and-tested responsive frameworks in a project-based format that simultaneously provides visible results whilst developing core understanding.Ideal for anybody who wants their online presence to be compatible with devices and resolutions of any size, "Responsive Web Design by Example" shows you how to select the right framework for your own project requirements and then guides you through the process of installation, configuration, and customization. With three highly structured and meticulously designed projects to choose from, it is the ideal reference for both new and existing web developers who want to be able to augment their skills and showcase their content in a truly professional manner.
Responsive Web Design with HTML5 and CSS3 by
This book will lead you, step by step and with illustrative screenshots, through a real example. Are you writing two websites - one for mobile and one for larger displays? Or perhaps you've heard of Responsive Design but are unsure how to bring HTML5, CSS3, or responsive design all together. If so, this book provides everything you need to take your web pages to the next level - before all your competitors do!
RESTful Web API Design with Node. js by
If you are a web developer wanting to enrich your development skills to create scalable, server-side, RESTful applications based on the Node.js platform, this book is for you. You also need to be aware of HTTP communication concepts and should have a working knowledge of JavaScript. Knowledge of REST would be an added advantage but is definitely not a necessity.
Web Commerce Security by
A top-level security guru for both eBay and PayPal and a best-selling information systems security author show how to design and develop secure Web commerce systems. Whether it′s online banking or ordering merchandise using your cell phone, the world of online commerce requires a high degree of security to protect you during transactions. This book not only explores all critical security issues associated with both e-commerce and mobile commerce (m-commerce), it is also a technical manual for how to create a secure system. Covering all the technical bases, this book provides the detail that developers, system architects, and system integrators need to design and implement secure, user-friendly, online commerce systems. Co-authored by Hadi Nahari, one of the world s most renowned experts in Web commerce security; he is currently the Principal Security, Mobile and DevicesArchitect at eBay, focusing on the architecture and implementation of eBay and PayPal mobile Co-authored by Dr. Ronald Krutz; information system security lecturer and co-author of the best-selling Wiley CISSP Prep Guide Series Shows how to architect and implement user-friendly security for e-commerce and especially, mobile commerce Covers the fundamentals of designing infrastructures with high availability, large transactional capacity, and scalability Includes topics such as understanding payment technologies and how to identify weak security, and how to augment it. Get the essential information you need on Web commerce security as well as actual design techniques in this expert guide.
Beginning CSS : Cascading Style Sheets for Web DesignBooks in the library and online:
Use IvyCat to find materials in Ivy Tech Libraries and to link to ebooks.
Use this IvyCat quick search box for a search limited to ebooks:
