Billions of Entrepreneurs by Tarun KhannaChina and India are home to one-third of the world's population. And they're undergoing social and economic revolutions that are capturing the best minds--and money--of Western business. In Billions of Entrepreneurs, Tarun Khanna examines the entrepreneurial forces driving China's and India's trajectories of development. He shows where these trajectories overlap and complement one another--and where they diverge and compete. He also reveals how Western companies can participate in this development. Through intriguing comparisons, the author probes important differences between China and India in areas such as information and transparency, the roles of capital markets and talent, public and private property rights, social constraints on market forces, attitudes toward expatriates abroad and foreigners at home, entrepreneurial and corporate opportunities, and the importance of urban and rural communities. He explains how these differences will influence China's and India's future development, what the two countries can learn from each other, and how they will ultimately reshape business, politics, and society in the world around them. Engaging and incisive, this book is a critical resource for anyone working in China or India or planning to do business in these two countries.
Call Number: HF3836.5 .K593 2007
Publication Date: 2007-12-24
The Entrepreneur's Guide to Business Law by Constance E. Bagley; Craig E. DauchyThis book contains 17 chapters that follow the progression of a start-up business and anticipate its legal concerns through the stages of growth up to an initial public offering. The new edition integrates e-commerce and international issues where appropriate. This text is appropriate at both the undergraduate and graduate level for those courses that cover legal issues and entrepreneurs. Depending on the course, it could be used as either a core text or a supplement.
From Head Shops to Whole Foods by Joshua C. DavisIn the 1960s and '70s, a diverse range of storefronts--including head shops, African American bookstores, feminist businesses, and organic grocers--brought the work of the New Left, Black Power, feminism, environmentalism, and other movements into the marketplace. Through shared ownership, limited growth, and democratic workplaces, these activist entrepreneurs offered alternatives to conventional profit-driven corporate business models. By the middle of the 1970s, thousands of these enterprises operated across the United States--but only a handful survive today. Some, such as Whole Foods Market, have abandoned their quest for collective political change in favor of maximizing profits. Vividly portraying the struggles, successes, and sacrifices of these unlikely entrepreneurs, From Head Shops to Whole Foods writes a new history of social movements and capitalism by showing how activists embraced small businesses in a way few historians have considered. The book challenges the widespread but mistaken idea that activism and political dissent are inherently antithetical to participation in the marketplace. Joshua Clark Davis uncovers the historical roots of contemporary interest in ethical consumption, social enterprise, buying local, and mission-driven business, while also showing how today's companies have adopted the language--but not often the mission--of liberation and social change.
Call Number: HD2785 .D27 2017
Publication Date: 2017-08-08
Crushing It! by Gary Vaynerchuk (Contribution by)Four-time New York Times bestselling author Gary Vaynerchuk offers new lessons and inspiration drawn from the experiences of dozens of influencers and entrepreneurs who rejected the predictable corporate path in favor of pursuing their dreams by building thriving businesses and extraordinary personal brands. In his 2009 international bestseller Crush It, Gary insisted that a vibrant personal brand was crucial to entrepreneurial success, In Crushing It!, Gary explains why that's even more true today, offering his unique perspective on what has changed and what principles remain timeless. He also shares stories from other entrepreneurs who have grown wealthier--and not just financially--than they ever imagined possible by following Crush It principles. The secret to their success (and Gary's) has everything to do with their understanding of the social media platforms, and their willingness to do whatever it took to make these tools work to their utmost potential. That's what Crushing It! teaches readers to do. In this lively, practical, and inspiring book, Gary dissects every current major social media platform so that anyone, from a plumber to a professional ice skater, will know exactly how to amplify his or her personal brand on each. He offers both theoretical and tactical advice on how to become the biggest thing on old standbys like Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, Instagram, Pinterest, and Snapchat; podcast platforms like Spotify, Soundcloud, iHeartRadio, and iTunes; and other emerging platforms such as Musical.ly. For those with more experience, Crushing It! illuminates some little-known nuances and provides innovative tips and clever tweaks proven to enhance more common tried-and-true strategies. Crushing It! is a state-of-the-art guide to building your own path to professional and financial success, but it's not about getting rich. It's a blueprint to living life on your own terms.
Call Number: BROWSING HB615 2018
Publication Date: 2018-01-30
The Social Entrepreneur's Handbook by Rupert ScofieldMake the business of society your business No one knows the business of social entrepreneurship better than Rupert Scofield. Cofounder and president of FINCA International--a nonprofit microfinancing institution with 7,000 employees serving 750,000 customers in 21 countries--Scofield has been a social entrepreneur for 40 years. In The Social Entrepreneur's Handbook, Scofield leads you through the entire process of starting up and running a nonprofit, sharing personal success stories and advice on what not to do--valuable lessons he learned the hard way. The process, while risky, isn't as difficult as you might think. Practically speaking, you need only two things: an idea and a plan. The former comes from you and you alone. This book supplies the latter. The Social Entrepreneur's Handbook illuminates the path to building a successful nonprofit from the ground up. You'll learn how to: Create a realistic plan for getting started in your chosen cause Assemble the perfect team for putting your plan into action--and keeping it rolling in the right direction Develop a business model specifically designed to run a nonprofit organization Keep yourself, your staff, and your cause in solid financial shape One of the many beauties of social entrepreneurship is that it's never too late to start. You can be right out of school or working in the highest ranks of corporate America. It doesn't matter. Social entrepreneurship begins with a noble cause, which turns into a passion, and soon becomes a mission worth dedicating your life to. The Social Entrepreneur's Handbook is the one and only resource you will need to attain your dream of working full-time in service to others--and making a real, measurable difference in the world.
Call Number: HD60 .S395 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-13
The Entrepreneur Roller Coaster by Darren Hardy66 PERCENT OF SMALL BUSINESSES FAILAND IT'S NOT FOR THE REASONS YOU THINK*. This book is designed for those new (or early stage) to entrepreneurship or those who have watched from afar and have wanted/wished to join in, but the fear of the unknown has ke
Call Number: HD62.5 .H372 2015
Publication Date: 2015-03-03
The African American Entrepreneur by W. Sherman RogersAfrican American entrepreneurship has been an integral part of the American economy since the 1600s. On the eve of the Civil War, the collective wealth of free blacks was approximately $50 million. In 2006, African Americans earned a whopping $744 billion, a figure that exceeds the gross domestic product of all but 15 nations of the 192 independent countries in the world. As W. Sherman Rogers so ably demonstrates, African Americans have achieved these economic gains under difficult circumstances. Slavery, segregation, and legally limited access to property, education, and other opportunities have taken a heavy toll, even to this day. Besides providing a penetrating glimpse into the world of black entrepreneurship both past and present, this book urges African Americans to gain financial independence as entrepreneurs. Business ownership, Rogers argues, will bring security, wealth that can be passed to successive generations, and educated offspring with much greater earning power. The African American Entreprenuer: Then and Now explores the lower economic status of black Americans in light of America's legacy of slavery, segregation, and rampant discrimination. Its main purpose is to shine a light on the legal, historical, sociological and political factors that together help to explain the economic condition of black people in America from their arrival in America to the present. In the process, the book spotlights the many amazing breakthroughs made by black entrepreneurs even before the Civil War and Emancipation. Profiles of business people from the Post-civil War period through today include Booker T. Washington, pioneer banker and insurer A.G. Gaston, hair care entrepreneur Madame C.J. Walker, Ebony publisher John H. Johnson, Black Entertainment Television founder Robert L. Johnson, publisher Earl Graves, music producer Damon Dash, rapper Sean Combs, former basketball stars Dave Bing and Magic Johnson, food entrepreneur Michelle Hoskins, broadcast personality Cathy Hughes, former Beatrice Foods head Reginald Lewis, Oprah Winfrey, and many more. As Rogers points out, reading about remarkable African American entrepreneurs can inspire readers to adopt an entrepreneurial mindset. To further that goal and help readers take the plunge, he outlines many of the skills, tools and information necessary for business success-success that can help chart a new path to prosperity for all African Americans.
Call Number: HD2358.5.U6 R65 2010
Publication Date: 2009-12-14
100 Rules for Entrepreneurs by Neil LewisCOMPREHENSIVE, HARD-WON, NO-NONSENSE ADVICE100 Rules for Entrepreneurs covers every aspect of business from the entrepreneur's point of view. Unlike other guides it avoids mere theorising. Instead, everything is tackled in light of the realities of business in the 21st century, and through the lens of serious entrepreneurial experience.The rise of regulations, the impact of competition and the growth of globalisation means that start-ups have to be more flexible and robust than ever before in order to prevail. Mindful of this, Neil Lewis provides practical and original advice on:- how to properly measure profit - and what a really sustainable business looks like (and how it can be grown)- how to handle recruitment - and not only why freelance is the future, but how best to take advantage of it- how to manage your management team, set effective goals for your business and prevent the rot from setting in- the best time to sell your business (and how best to do it).He also brings to bear his experiences on dealing with dividends, shareholders and other advanced aspects of running a start-up.GRITTY WISDOMAccessible and memorable - counterintuitive at times, at times reassuringly simple; refreshingly realistic throughout - 100 Rules is the ultimate companion for today's entrepreneur. It is the direct and hard-earned wisdom of an entrepreneur who has seen it all: the giddying heights of reaching a #65533;12m valuation in eight years from a simple start in a back bedroom with a computer and #65533;2,000; the dizzying descent of losing it all in two, and the work required to pick up and start, successfully, again.
Minority Women Entrepreneurs by Mary Godwyn; Donna StoddardHow does gender and minority status shape entrepreneurial decision-making? This question seems long overdue since minority women in the US start new businesses at four times the rate of non-minority men and women. This book is about minority women entrepreneurs in the United States. Though these women are thriving as business owners, their stories are very seldom told, and few think of minority women as successful entrepreneurs. Therefore, the first purpose of the book is to give voice and visibility to US minority women business owners. The second purpose is to explain what makes these women different from the standard white male business owners most people are familiar with. Through in-depth interviews and first-hand accounts from minority women entrepreneurs, the authors found that, in innovative and exciting ways, minority women use their outsider status to develop socially conscious business practices that support the communities with which they identify. They reject the idea that business values are separate from personal values and instead balance profits with social good and environmental sustainability. This pattern is repeated in statistical evidence from around the globe that women contribute a much higher percentage of their earnings to social good than do men, but until now there was no clear explanation of why. Using sociological and psychological theories, the authors explain why women, especially minority women, have a tendency to create socially responsible businesses. The innovations provided by the women in this study suggest fresh solutions to economic inequality and humanistic alternatives to exploitative business policies. This is a radically new, socially integrated model that can be used by businesses everywhere. This book is intended for undergraduate and graduate students of business, sociology, race and gender studies as well as practitioners of entrepreneurship, aspiring entrepreneurs, and all those looking for new examples of holistic, sustainable and socially responsible business practices.
Publication Date: 2011-01-08
The Growing Business Handbook by Adam JollyThe Growing Business Handbook is a superb reference tool for all businesses with growth potential, filled with invaluable insights and guidance from SME specialists in finance, HR, marketing, innovation, people and IT, as well as help on enterprise risk and useful legal advice. It is the reference source of choice to help you ensure and manage business growth, particularly in challenging economic conditions. Now in its 14th edition, this book looks at all the areas ripe for exploitation by your growing business and discusses ways you can manage the associated risks.
Publication Date: 2012-09-15
Why Entrepreneurs Should Eat Bananas by Simon TupmanWhy should anyone eat bananas? Because they are good for you! Experts agree that, as a quick source of carbohydrate fuel, bananas are better for you than any other fruit. They are great for an energy boost. This book is packed with timeless, inspirational, energy-boosting tips and advice for today's entrepreneur seeking growth in their business and personal life.Simon Tupman provides 101 ideas to help you connect with existing customers, win new customers, connect with your employees and colleagues, and create a better personal life. Each idea can easily be implemented in any company, large or small. Together, they form a set of "best practice" that will lead to sustained success in business and a more satisfying life in general.
Publication Date: 2012-08-01
Find Grant Funding Now! by Sarah Beth AubreyA practical, proven system for finding, applying for, and winning grants for your small business This year alone, there is at least $350 million worth of grant money available for small businesses. But plenty of small businesses will miss out on that money because they either don′t know it′s there or don′t know how to get it. Written by a consultant who helps individuals, local governments, and nonprofits find and receive grant money, Find Grant Funding Now! provides proven, step-by-step guidance on applying for and win the grant money they need to succeed. Utilizing the simple five-step process that the author successfully uses for her own clients, this is virtually the only book on the market dedicated to helping small businesses get grants. It features a wealth of valuable resources and even a customized Grant Readiness Assessment Tool that helps entrepreneurs and small business owners make sure they′re fully prepared before they file the paperwork. Includes a proven and effective Five-Step Prosperity Process for finding and landing grants Features sample forms, checklists, budgets, merit reviews, 30- and 60-day grant project management plans, and more Written by the founder of a full-service funding firm that helps entrepreneurs, communities, universities, trade associations, and cooperatives obtain grant funds from governments and foundations If you need cash to start or expand your small business, Find Grant Funding Now! offers a practical system that gets real results.
Publication Date: 2013-12-31
The Woman's Advantage by Mary CantandoWhether you already own a business or are planning to start one, The Woman’ s Advantage: 20 Women Entrepreneurs Show You What It Takes to Grow Your Business is the book for you. Author and leading women’ s business expert Mary Cantando shows you how to harness often-overlooked resources— certification, referrals, and mentorship— and achieve lasting rewards by learning the lessons of top women entrepreneurs. The women featured, all owners of multimillion-dollar (and billion-dollar) companies, each started out small and grew their businesses through smart choices and by connecting with the right networks. Their hard-earned experiences offer a wealth of insights, including ideas on how to: • Position your business for breakthroughs • Differentiate your business from others in the same market niche • Leverage certification to reach companies eager to do business with woman-owned enterprises • Network to develop powerful alliances, partners, and mentors • Enhance your business success by maintaining a positive attitude, remaining healthy, and managing stress Although millions of women own businesses, fewer than 5 percent generate more than $1 million in annual revenue. The Woman’ s Advantage is THE comprehensive resource to both teach and inspire you to grow your business.
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
Investing in Entrepreneurs by Thomas S. Lyons; Gregg A. LichtensteinA compelling argument for placing entrepreneurship at the heart of economic development provides a guidebook for how this can be done efficiently, effectively, and equitably. * A unique tool for mapping and managing entrepreneurial activity in a community or region to permit the identification of the strengths and weaknesses of its economic portfolio * 50 examples from the field showing the development of entrepreneurial skills, the movement of businesses through lifecycles, and interventions to increase and improve entrepreneurial activity * Illustrations that explain the concepts graphically * Appendices with templates, plans, and more * A comprehensive bibliography of important reference sources in the enterprise development field
Publication Date: 2010-08-19
Social Entrepreneurship by David Bornstein; Susan DavisIn development circles, there is now widespread consensus that social entrepreneurs represent a far better mechanism to respond to needs than we have ever had before - a decentralized and emergent force that remains our best hope for solutions that can keep pace with our problems and create amore peaceful world. David Bornstein's previous book on social entrepreneurship, How to Change the World, was hailed by Nicholas Kristof in The New York Times as "a bible in the field" and published in more than twenty countries. Now, Bornstein shifts the focus from the profiles of successful social innovators in thatbook - and teams with Susan Davis, a founding board member of the Grameen Foundation - to offer the first general overview of social entrepreneurship. In a Q and A format allowing readers to go directly to the information they need, the authors map out social entrepreneurship in its broadest termsas well as in its particulars.Bornstein and Davis explain what social entrepreneurs are, how their organizations function, and what challenges they face. The book will give readers an understanding of what differentiates social entrepreneurship from standard business ventures and how it differs from traditional grant-basednon-profit work. Unlike the typical top-down, model-based approach to solving problems employed by the World Bank and other large institutions, social entrepreneurs works through a process of iterative learning - learning by doing - working with communities to find unique, local solutions to unique,local problems. Most importantly, the book shows readers exactly how they can get involved. Anyone inspired by Barack Obama's call to service and who wants to learn more about the essential features and enormous promise of this new method of social change, Social Entrepreneurship is the ideal first place to look.
Publication Date: 2010-04-16
Think Agile by Taffy WilliamsFunding falls apart. A similar product is unveiled by a more established company. A key employee jumps ship to work for a competitor. These are the unexpected obstacles that derail even the most promising new ventures. Entrepreneurs determined to keep up with today's constantly changing business environment need to stay nimble enough to shift their strategies, products, and services on a dime. Yet many fail to master this essential new mindset: agility. Featuring real-lifecase studies and invaluable tools, Think Agile helps entrepreneurs assess their level of flexibility and learn to be open-minded and option-oriented in key areas including: Funding sources; Launch timetables; Planning; Repurposing everything from products to people to names. When entrepreneurs lock themselves into one strategy, one product, one distribution method and one way of thinking about their business they limit their potential, and lower their chances of capitalizing on economic, industry, or market changes. Think Agile is an indispensable guide to an undeniably essential new skill.
Publication Date: 2014-11-19
ELearning or Training Business by The Staff of Entrepreneur MediaPossibly credited to advancements in technology or learning behaviors, or a rise in focus on personal development, the education and training industry is steadily growing, creating a demand for eager entrepreneurs. Exploring varied opportunities aspiring business owners will be given business ideas, teaching and training methods, and an overview of essential tools.
Publication Date: 2015-10-13
Find Books -- Print or Electronic
Books in the library and online:
Use IvyCat to find materials in Ivy Tech Libraries and to link to ebooks.
Use this IvyCat quick search box for a searchlimited to ebooks: