Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Essential Guide to Business for Artists and Designers by This second edition of the best-selling, comprehensive handbook The Essential Guide to Business for Artists and Designers will appeal to a wide range of artists, makers, designers, and photographers looking to set up and establish an arts practice or design business within the visual arts and creative industries. With fully revised content, three new chapters, and profiles of contemporary artists and designers from around the world, this guide leads the reader through the most important aspects of setting up and growing a profitable enterprise. Providing the vital knowledge and tools to develop a vision and achieve business growth, topics include- - Building networks and successful negotiation tactics - Promoting an engaging social media presence - Business planning and money management - Overview of legal, tax and intellectual property issues - Setting up a website and trading online - Exploiting innovation and future trends As well as specially tailored enterprise exercises and useful diagrams, this latest edition features apt quotations and indispensable resources including an extensive glossary and a list of key professional bodies and organisations based in the UK, USA, Canada, Australia and South America. This handbook is printed in a dyslexic-friendly font and includes new illustrated mind maps and colour pictures throughout.
Call Number: N8350 .B67 2017
Publication Date: 2017-02-09
The Copyright Zone by If you license or publish images, this guide is as indispensable as your camera. It provides specific information on the legal rights of photographers, illustrators, artists, covering intellectual property, copyright, and business concerns in an easy-to-read, accessible manner. The Copyright Zone, Second Edition covers: what is and isn't copyrightable, copyright registration, fair use, model releases, contracts and invoices, pricing and negotiation, and much more. Presented in a fun and easy to digest style, Jack Reznicki and Ed Greenberg, LLC help explain the need-to-know facts of the confusing world of legal jargon and technicalities through real world case studies, personal asides, and the clear writing style that has made their blog Thecopyrightzone.com and monthly column by the same name in Photoshop User magazine two industry favorites. The second edition of this well-reviewed text has almost doubled in size to ensure that every legal issue you need to know about as a photographer or artist is covered and enjoyable to learn!
Call Number: KF2042.P45 G74 2015
Publication Date: 2015-02-13
Move Fast and Break Things by *The book that started the Techlash* A stinging polemic that traces the destructive monopolization of the Internet by Google, Facebook and Amazon, and that proposes a new future for musicians, journalists, authors and filmmakers in the digital age. Featured in New York Times' Paperback Row A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice An Amazon Best Business & Leadership Book of 2017 Longlisted for Financial Times/McKinsey Business Book of the Year 2017 A strategy+business Best Business Book of 2017 Move Fast and Break Things is the riveting account of a small group of libertarian entrepreneurs who in the 1990s began to hijack the original decentralized vision of the Internet, in the process creating three monopoly firms--Facebook, Amazon, and Google--that now determine the future of the music, film, television, publishing and news industries. Jonathan Taplin offers a succinct and powerful history of how online life began to be shaped around the values of the men who founded these companies, including Peter Thiel and Larry Page: overlooking piracy of books, music, and film while hiding behind opaque business practices and subordinating the privacy of individual users in order to create the surveillance-marketing monoculture in which we now live. The enormous profits that have come with this concentration of power tell their own story. Since 2001, newspaper and music revenues have fallen by 70 percent; book publishing, film, and television profits have also fallen dramatically. Revenues at Google in this same period grew from $400 million to $74.5 billion. Today, Google's YouTube controls 60 percent of all streaming-audio business but pay for only 11 percent of the total streaming-audio revenues artists receive. More creative content is being consumed than ever before, but less revenue is flowing to the creators and owners of that content. The stakes here go far beyond the livelihood of any one musician or journalist. As Taplin observes, the fact that more and more Americans receive their news, as well as music and other forms of entertainment, from a small group of companies poses a real threat to democracy. Move Fast and Break Things offers a vital, forward-thinking prescription for how artists can reclaim their audiences using knowledge of the past and a determination to work together. Using his own half-century career as a music and film producer and early pioneer of streaming video online, Taplin offers new ways to think about the design of the World Wide Web and specifically the way we live with the firms that dominate it.
Call Number: HM851 .T365 2018
Publication Date: 2018-05-15
Pocket Business Guide for Artists and Designers by This handy pocket guide answers the most pressing questions artists and designers will have when setting up an art practice or creative business. Many visual artists who graduate from art school need to learn how to be self-employed or form a company. This book presents 100 useful business related things (explained in 250 words or less) that any creative should know. The book is divided into five sections that will help artists and designers achieve success and make money from their work: business, promotion, legal, money and last thoughts. This essential resource is packed with invaluable information for all creative practitioners.
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
It All Begins with the Music by The music industry is a worldwide business that generates more than 40 billion dollars each year. If you are looking to make your mark and grab a piece of this fortune, this is the book for you. It All Begins with the Music: Developing Successful Artists and Careers for the New Music Business offers practical information, career blueprints, and a world of wisdom for aspiring artists, managers, and executives on how to make an impact in today's music business. It provides a comprehensive examination of the new methods by which recording artists are discovered, developed, and nurtured in the modern music industry. Anyone can benefit, from potential recording artists and performers, to aspirants and professionals in artist management, major and independent music distribution channels, producers, agents, publicists, PR and marketing representatives, and music publishers. You'll find priceless behind-the-scenes information distilled from interviews with artists, managers, and executives at the forefront of the new music business. Get the insider tips you need, and begin your successful career in music today!
Publication Date: 2009-03-26
When Talent Isn't Enough - Business Basics for the Creatively Inclined by Many creative professionals focus too much on their artistic abilities and too little on their business interests. In When Talent Isn't Enough, copywriter and journalist Kristen Fischer offers powerful strategies and practical stories from some of today?s most prominent creative leaders to help you thrive. The result: an easy-to-read guide that covers all aspects of launching and managing a successful business for any creative entrepreneur or solo practitioner. When Talent Isn't Enoughoffers savvy and easy-to-apply business advice for writers, designers, and artists who want to: Run a profitable, fulfilling business Market themselves alongside seasoned pros, in-house talent and established agencies Understand the legalities of doing business Spearhead hassle-free accounting and bookkeeping practices Overcome challenging situations with clients Embrace self-promotion as a solo professional Cultivate lasting client partnerships
Publication Date: 2013-01-21
Starting Your Career As an Artist by In this comprehensive manual, veteran art career professionals Angie Wojak and Stacy Miller show aspiring artists how to evaluate their goals and create a plan of action to advance their professional careers, and use their talents to build productive lives in the art world. In addition, the book includes insightful interviews with professional artists and well-known players in the art scene. The second edition features a new chapter on social media and includes interviews with artists, museum professionals, and educators. All chapters cover topics essential to the emerging artist, such as: *Using social media to advance your practice *Health and safety for artists *Artist's resumes and CVs *Finding alternative exhibition venues *Building community through networking *Collaborating and finding mentors *Refining career aspirations This invaluable resource is sure to encourage and inspire artists to create their own opportunities as they learn how the creativity that occurs inside the studio can be applied to developing a successful career in the art world. Allworth Press, an imprint of Skyhorse Publishing, publishes a broad range of books on the visual and performing arts, with emphasis on the business of art. Our titles cover subjects such as graphic design, theater, branding, fine art, photography, interior design, writing, acting, film, how to start careers, business and legal forms, business practices, and more. While we don't aspire to publish a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are deeply committed to quality books that help creative professionals succeed and thrive. We often publish in areas overlooked by other publishers and welcome the author whose expertise can help our audience of readers.
Publication Date: 2015-11-03
Taking Aim! by Taking Aim! The Business of Being an Artist Today is a practical, affordable resource guide filled with invaluable advice for the emerging artist. The book is specially designed to aid visual artists in furthering their careers through unfiltered information about the business practices and idiosyncrasies of the contemporary art world. It demystifies often daunting and opaque practices through first-hand testimonials, interviews, and commentary from leading artists, curators, gallerists, collectors, critics, art consultants, arts administrators, art fair directors, auction house experts, and other art world luminaries. Published in celebration of the 30th anniversary of Artist in the Marketplace (AIM)--the pioneering career development program at the Bronx Museum of the Arts--Taking AIM! The Business of Being an Artist Today mirrors the structure and topics featured in the AIM program's weekly workshops and discussions. Each chapter focuses on the specific perspective of an "art world insider"--from the artist to the public art program director to the blogger. Multiple viewpoints from a range of art professionals provide emerging artists with candid, uncensored information and tools to help them better understand this complex field and develop strategies for building and sustaining successful careers as professional artists. The book ends with an annotated chronology of the past three decades in the contemporary art field and a bibliography of publications, magazine articles, online sources, funding sources, residency programs, and other useful information for emerging artists.
Publication Date: 2011-06-13
Artist's and Graphic Designer's Market 2016 by Build a Successful Art Career Do you want to establish or expand a career for yourself in fine art, illustration or design? 2016 Artist's & Graphic Designer's Market is the must-have reference guide you. Thousands of successful artists have relied on us to help develop their careers and navigate the changing business landscape. The 2016 Artist's & Graphic Designer's Market introduces a whole host of new features and guarantees the most up-to-date, individually verified market contacts possible. Grow your art business with these resources: A FREE 1-year subscription to ArtistsMarketOnline.com, where you can find industry contacts, track your submissions, get the latest art and design news, and much more (free subscription comes with print version only) Complete, up-to-date contact information for more than 1,700 art market resources, including galleries, magazines, book publishers, greeting card companies, ad agencies, syndicates, art fairs, and more Articles on the business of freelancing--from basic copyright information to tips on promoting your work Information on grants, residencies, organizations, publications, and websites that offer support and direction for visual artists of all types NEW! Informative articles on the art of business, online social networking, and the benefits of slowing down to create better work NEW! Special features on selling without begging, obtaining micro funding, beginning a Kickstarter campaign, and methods for accepting payment NEW! Inspiring and informative interviews with successful professionals including children's book author-illustrators David Macaulay and Melissa Sweet, fine artist Richard McLaughlin, manga author-illustrator Mark Crilley and editorial illustrator Rami Niemi Check out ArtistsMarketOnline.com for more interviews, tips for selling your work, and our easy-to-use searchable database of markets!
Publication Date: 2015-11-16
Selling Contemporary Art by A sophisticated examination of today's contemporary art market from an art dealer's point of view, this new book focuses on recent changes in the quickly evolving market. With an emphasis on how the market responded to the global recession that began in 2008, gallery owner Edward Winkleman moves from an examination of the factors beyond the individual dealer's command to those that the dealer can control. Sections cover: The rise of the art fair The rise of the mega gallery New online competition Models of post-brick-and-mortar art dealing Art dealers as art fair organizers Collaboration in a new era Coverage is also given to the specifics of contracts contemporary art dealers may need, including an examination of a variety of contracts for representation, consignment, and new forms of contemporary art. Exhibiting a wide range of interviews with international experts including dealers, collectors, art fair directors, journalists, and online art entrepreneurs, Selling Contemporary Art is a must-read for gallery owners, dealers, and artists affected by the rapid innovations in the art-dealing industry.
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
How to Start Your Own Theater Company by With advice and instruction from an experienced actor and theater director, this pragmatic, authoritative guide imparts backstage know-how for wouldbe playhouse practitioners on everything from fundraising and finding a space to selecting plays and navigating legal issues. Chronicling three seasons at Chicago's award-winning Congo Square Theatre, this journey behind the curtain reveals the nitty-gritty details--such as managing rent, parking, and safety issues; determining tax status and calculating budgets; and finding flexible day jobs--that are often overlooked amid the zeal of artistic pursuit. Inspired by Congo Square's own unique inception, the valuable how-to also speaks directly to the many underserved audiences who want to create their own companies, including African American, Asian American, Latino, physically challenged, and GLBT communities. With lists of Equity offices, legal advisers, and important organizations, this complete resource is sure to help ambitious theater lovers establish and maintain their own successful companies.
Publication Date: 2010-01-27
Find Books -- Print or Electronic
Books in the library and online:
Use IvyCat to find materials in Ivy Tech Libraries and to link to ebooks.
Use this IvyCat quick search box for a search limited to ebooks: