Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business - Sellersburg: Business & Economics: Business Lexicon

What is?

  What is a Lexicon?

lex·i·con

noun
1. a wordbook or dictionary, especially of Greek, Latin, or hebrew.
2. the vocabulary of a particular language, field, social class, person, etc.
3. inventory or record: unparalleled in the lexicon of human relations.
4. Linguistics .
a. the total inventory of morphemes in a given language.
b. the inventory of base morphemes plus their combinations with derivational morphemes.

Lexicons, Glossaries, Dictionaries

Dictionary.com

Dictionary.com is the world’s leading online source for English definitions, synonyms, word origins, audio pronunciations, example sentences, slang phrases, idioms, word games, legal and medical terms, Word of the Day and more. For over 20 years, Dictionary.com has been helping millions of people improve their use of the English language with its free digital services.

Washington Post Business Glossary

This glossary contains more than 1,250 business terms, organized and cross-referenced for your convenience. You can search the glossary for a particular word or search the full text of the glossary to find every reference to a word or phrase. Or, if you're a bit old-fashioned, you can browse the glossary at your leisure using the index. (The washingtonpost.com Business Glossary)

Dictionary of Financial Terms, Morgan Stanley

A comprehensive dictionary covering financial terms and definitions provided by Morgan Stanley.

BusinessDictionary.com

BusinessDictionary.com features over 20,000 terms and over 115,000 links between related terms providing a clear and concise description of any and all business terms. (BusinessDictionary.com - About Us)

Business Dictionaries 
        A selection of seven specialized business dictionaries

The Penguin Dictionary of Economics

The Penguin Dictionary of Economics explains a host of economic terms, from acceleration principle to venture capital, Euro to X-efficiency, globalization to zero-sum game.