Skip to main content

HUMS 269: Utilizing Databases for Your Topic

For Mary Garvey

Finding Articles in Library Databases

These databases touch on psychology, education, controversial issues, and psychology. If you're looking for articles on a specific topic but don't have a particular journal or magazine in mind, these are great resources to utilize.

CINAHL

"Provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more."

ERIC (EBSCO Database)

"ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds." 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

"Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions."

PsycARTICLES

"This esteemed collection from American Psychological Association (APA) provides access to the full spectrum of study in the field — including cutting-edge research from preeminent scholars, to the historical underpinnings of the behavioral and social sciences."