Skip to main content

Policies- Evansville Library: Circulation Policies

General Information

Carter Library is intended for use by Ivy Tech students, faculty, and staff.  Indiana residents may also use the library upon presentation of state-issued photo ID card.

Information Resources: Carter Library provides access to books, periodicals, videos, DVDs, and information databases.

Loan Period:

  • Books: 2 weeks, 2 renewals
  • Periodicals: 1 week, 2 renewals
  • Videos and DVDs: 1 week, 2 renewals
  • Laptops: 3 days, 2 renewals

Patron Responsibility: Library patrons are responsible for all materials checked out on their library card.  All library resources, both print and non-print, should be used in a lawful manner.

Removal of materials from the Library: All materials taken from the library MUST be checked out at the library circulation desk.  All materials should be returned to the library circulation desk drop box or the book drop outside the building.

What can be checked out: Students, faculty and staff have up to 15 items checked out on their account at a time.  Community patrons may check out three books at a time and there are no renewals.

Fees: When an item is 14 days overdue, the patron will be charged a $3.00 fee. At 29 days overdue, the fee will increase to $5.00. Laptops have a fee of $30 a day up to $150 and a $2.00 processing fee.  When an item is four months overdue it can no longer be returned to the library and the patron must pay the replacement cost of the item in addition to any overdue fees. The library will also charge replacement or repair costs for damaged items. If necessary, the college will initiate collection procedures on any fines.

Administrative holds will be placed on the Ivy Tech record of any student with library fines until materials are returned or replacement fees are paid. Holds may prevent students from:

  • Registering for classes
  • Receiving a financial aid refund
  • Graduating
  • Obtaining copies of transcripts

Library Cards

Students

Students should have their Ivy Tech Student ID to check out. Student IDs are issued at the Admissions Office in Room 112.  Students will need a state issued photo ID and proof of enrollment.  The first ID is free.  Replacements are $5.00.  

Faculty and Staff

Faculty and staff should have Ivy Tech photo ID or Ivy Tech name badge.

  • Any student, faculty or staff who does not have their library card may use their C number.  

Community Patrons

Indiana citizens who are not employees of Ivy Tech or registered as Ivy Tech students may use the libraries as Community Patrons.  Citizens who wish to check items out of the library may apply for a Library Card.  A Community Patron Library Card is valid for one (1) year and is renewable.

To apply for or renew a Community Patron Library Card, you must present a current Indiana driver's license or current Indiana state ID.

Collections

Browsing: A collection of leisure reading is available for check out.

General Collection: A large selection of books is available to assist students with assignments, study skills, certification testing, job searching, career guidance and more.

Reference, newspapers, magazines, and journals: Reference materials, newspapers, and current issues of periodicals may only be used in the library.  Back issues of periodicals may be checked out.

Reserve materials: Instructors may place books, videos, and other materials on reserve for student use.  These items may be used/viewed in the library.

DVDs: Video recordings are available on many subjects. Some may be checked out and taken home, while others are for in-library viewing only.  We also have streaming videos available through the library website. 

Learning College Collection: The library has a collection of books covering education and instruction for faculty.

Laptops: The library has 11 laptops available for check out.  

Other Materials

  • Headphones
  • Dry erase markers
  • Web camera