This A-to-Z reference is the first to focus on the junk food and fast food phenomena from a multitude of angles in addition to health and diet concerns. More than 250 essay entries objectively explore the scope of the topics to illuminate the American way through products, corporations and entrepreneurs, social history, popular culture, organizations, issues, politics, commercialism and consumerism, and much more. Interest in these topics is high. This informative and fascinating work, with entries on current controversies such as mad cow disease and factory farming, the food pyramid, movie tie-ins, and marketing to children, will be highly useful for reports, research, and browsing. It takes readers behind the scenes, examining the significance of such things as uniforms, training, packaging, and franchising.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets 2-vol. set presents authoritative, comprehensive information on special diets, popular diets, dietary concerns, nutrition basics, and effects of dietary choices on health. All entries are presented in a standardized and balanced format. Topics are organized around the development and history of a diet, its basic principles, any key figures that influenced the practice, and any public and regulatory concerns associated with the diet. Articles provide information across all age groups, from infants to the elderly, without the intention of endorsement of any one diet. Such subjects as the South Beach Diet, The Zone, nutrition literacy, diabetes, and obesity are covered.
Larousse Gastronomique has been the foremost resource of culinary knowledge since its initial publication in 1938. Long revered for its encyclopedic entries on everything from cooking techniques, ingredients, and recipes to equipment, food histories, and culinary biographies, it is the one book every professional chef and avid home cook must have on his or her kitchen shelf.
Since its publication in 1996, The Visual Food Encyclopedia has helped chefs find clear and precise information about a particular food item as quickly as possible. It contains practical information about the origin, description, purchasing, preparation, uses, cooking methods, and storage. Additionally, it presents the nutritional highlights for each food item. Finally, a glossary of terms along with a comprehensive index of the technical and most commonly known name for each food item are provided at the end of the book. In addition to providing clear and accessible information, this dictionary presents information in a highly visual manner. There are over 1,200 pictures throughout the book. Basic techniques are clearly illustrated with original step-by-step photographs.
This print and online resource provides consumer health information about dietary guidelines and eating plans for children, adults, and seniors, weight control, and related medical concerns. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
Food, Cuisine, and Cultural Competency for Culinary, Hospitality, and Nutrition Professionals comprehensively covers unique food traditions as they apply to health. The text explores the critical importance of cultural sensitivity and competency in today's work setting, addresses health literacy issues of diverse client bases, and helps readers identify customer communication techniques that enable professionals to establish trust with clients of ethnicity not their own. Written and peer reviewed by experts in the culture discussed, each chapter in this groundbreaking text covers a distinct region or culture and discusses the various contexts that contribute to nutrition and health: lifestyles, eating patterns, ethnic foods, menu planning, communication (verbal and non-verbal), and more. This book is consistent with The American Dietetic Associations Cultural Competence Strategic Plan.