Article Databases - RESP 103: Cardiopulmonary Anatomy and Physiology - Indianapolis - Ivy Tech Libraries at Ivy Tech Community College

Start Here! Best Databases forJournal Articles for Respiratory Care

CINAHL
The Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, and 17 allied health disciplines.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines as well as consumer medication information and patient education sheets from AHFS Consumer Medication Information.

PubMed Central (PMC)
PubMed Central is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Other Health & Medicine Databases

The library databases below are available 24/7 and provide access to more than 1,000 titles in the fields of health & medicine.

BioMed Central
BioMed Central publishes over 230 peer-reviewed open access journals which are available to the public for free. BioMed specializes in subjects related to science, technology and medicine.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic (EBSCO)
Designed for doctors, research scientist, students and clinical specialists, this database provides full text for over 100 journals in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study.
Health Business FullTEXT (EBSCO)
Provides full text coverage for nearly 130 journals covering the business of health care administration.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Medline Plus
From the National Library of Medicine, a part of the National Institutes of Health. This site provides patient level information on a wide variety of medical subjects and also provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)
Compiled by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is the world's most comprehensive source of biomedical information. It contains nearly eleven million records from over 7,300 different publications from 1965 to present.
PsycArticles (EBSCO)
Provides full text access to articles from journals published by APA. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
PubMed (Medline)
PubMed comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect
Access to more than 1,700 health science journals and eBooks, some of which are full-text. Ivy Tech access is limited to Open Access Journal Titles.