Free Databases
*Some databases may require creating a free user account to access records.
Chronicling America (Library of Congress)– Historic digitized U.S. newspapers from across the country (Free, Online)
Ellis Island & Castle Garden Immigration Records– Passenger lists and immigration records for arrivals through New York ports (Free, Online)
FamilySearch– Global genealogy database with census, vital, church, immigration, and family records (Free, Online)
Find-A-Grave– Cemetery records, gravestone photos, and burial information contributed by users (Free, Online)
Internet Archive– Digitized genealogy books, family histories, and archival resources (Free, Online)
National Archives (NARA)– U.S. federal records including military, census, immigration, and more (Free, Online)
U.S GenWeb Project– Volunteer-run site offering local histories, cemetery records, and transcriptions organized by state and county (Free, Online)
Free With Library Access
*Availability depends on your library. Check for local access.
Ancestry Library Edition– Access to census, military, immigration, birth, marriage, and death records (Free, In-Library Use)
Fold3.com– Extensive military records including service files, pensions, and historical documents (Free, Through Some Libraries)
HeritageQuest Online– Census records, city directories, family histories, and research guides (Free, Through Some Libraries)
Paid & Subscription Databases
Ancestry.com– Comprehensive genealogy research platform with global records, family trees, and DNA services (Paid Subscription)
Fold3.com– Specializes in U.S. military records, including documents, photos, and personal stories (Paid Subscription)
Newspapers.com– Historic and modern newspaper archives for family history and obituaries (Paid Subscription)
Newspaper Archive– Global newspaper collection for genealogy research (Paid Subscription)
American Ancestors (New England Historic Genealogical Society)– Records, databases, and resources for early American and New England genealogy (Paid Subscription)
HeritageQuest– Database of census, local histories, and family records (Paid, if not accessed through a library)
Databases & Resources for Indiana Genealogy
*Please note that this is not a comprehensive list.
Indiana State Library Genealogy Collections– Offers vital records indexes, county histories, newspapers, and extensive Indiana genealogy databases (Free, Online & On-Site)
Indiana Digital Archives– Searchable collections of military records, naturalization documents, court records, and more from Indiana state archives (Free, Online)
Indiana Historical Society (IHS)– Includes family papers, photographs, and local history collections, plus research assistance (Free for basic info, Membership Paid for full access & programs)
Indiana Genealogical Society (IGS) – Statewide organization providing databases, surname projects, county resources, and publications (Free for basic info, Membership Paid for full database access)
Hoosier State Chronicles– Digital historic Indiana newspapers from across the state (Free, Online)
Indiana Memory– Collaborative digital collection of Indiana's cultural heritage materials including family histories, photographs, and documents (Free, Online)
Ancestry.com Indiana Genealogy Collections– Access to Indiana-specific census, vital records, land records, and military databases (Paid, Library Access Available)
FamilySearch Indiana Genealogy Research Guide – Comprehensive research wiki and collections for Indiana genealogy, including church records, probate, and county guides (Free, Online)
Allen County Public Library Genealogy Center – One of the largest genealogy research collections in the U.S., offers free research help, databases, and digitized resources (Free, Online & On-Site)
Indiana African American Genealogy Group (IAAGG)– Supports African American genealogical research with a focus on Indiana families and history (Free for basic access, Membership Paid for some resources & events)
Indiana Pioneer Cemetery Restoration Project– Volunteer-run resource documenting Indiana's historic cemeteries and gravestones (Free, Online)
Indiana Marriage Index – Digitized marriage records from Indiana counties (Free, Online)
DNA & Ancestry Testing Resources
*Before taking a DNA test, carefully review the company's privacy policies, including how your data is stored, shared, or used by third parties. Be aware that results can reveal sensitive information, such as unknown relatives or unexpected ancestry. Consider the ethical implications, especially regarding marginalized communities and genetic data ownership. Sharing raw DNA with third-party sites may carry additional privacy risks. Always ensure you give informed consent and understand the possible personal and family impacts of testing.
AncestryDNA– Autosomal DNA test with ethnicity estimates and family tree integration, linking DNA matches with Ancestry.com records (Paid Test, Subscription for advanced features)
23andMe– Provides ancestry composition, maternal and paternal haplogroups, DNA relatives, and health reports (Paid Test, No Subscription Required)
FamilyTreeDNA- Offers autosomal (Family Finder), Y-DNA (paternal line), and mtDNA (maternal line) tests, with a focus on deeper ancestral origins (Paid Test, Free Basic Account)
MyHeritage DNA– Autosomal DNA test with ethnicity estimates and DNA matching, integrates with MyHeritage family trees and records (Paid Test, Subscription for record access)
GEDmatch– Free third-party tool to upload raw DNA data from other companies for extended matching and analysis (Free Account, Paid Tier for advanced tools)
The International Society of Genetic Genealogy (ISOGG)– Educational resource with wikis, guides, and best practices for using DNA in genealogy research (Free, Online)
FamilySearch DNA Resources– Guides on how to use DNA for family history research and interpreting results (Free, Online)
