Library Databases and Keywords - NRSG 115 - Culture Presentation Project - Ivy Tech Libraries at Ivy Tech Community College

For basic country and culture information, try searching Global Road Warrior - A guide to traveling the world featuring information on embassies, business, societies, culture, food, education, and much more.

Search databases using keywords

Many cultural, traditional, and healthcare practices are influenced by a group's religion. Including a religion in your keywords can help locate materials.

Keywords, or search terms, are the main points of your topic. Database searching works best when using keywords. Below are some terms to get you started:

Choose your assigned culture/religion/group:	Combine with these terms:
African American	traditional medicine or healthcare	immigration or migration
Amish or Anabaptist	healthcare practices or beliefs	gender roles
Appalachian Region	religious values or rituals	family dynamics or child rearing
Chinese or Chinese-American or Buddhist	dietary practices or nutrition	common health issues
Eastern European or Jewish	health literacy	health barriers
Filipino or Catholic	cultural awareness	case study
Asian Indian or Hindu	cultural competence	medical mistrust
Indigenous People or Native American or Miami Tribe	patient centered care	health disparities
Nigerian or Islam or Muslim	transcultural nursing	folk medicine
Serbian or Orthodox Christian	ethonursing	refugees
Hispanic or Latino or Latina or Latinx	Kampo or herbal medicine	discrimination
Polish or Poles or Roman Catholic	patient experience or satisfaction	health and hygiene
Japanese or Shinto or Confucianism	sexual or gender minorities
LGBTQ+ or transgender or gay or lesbian or queer

Use larger databases like Academic Search Complete and ProQuest Research Library.

Or databases that focus on health topics like CINAHL, and Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition and MedLine with Full Text.

Use the guide below to help you search for articles in the library databases.

Finding Articles

Using the library databases will provide results like this article that covers how different religions view the measles vaccination:

Wombwell, E., Fangman, M. T., Yoder, A. K., & Spero, D. L. (2015). Religious barriers to measles vaccination. Journal of Community Health, 40(3), 597-604. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1007/s10900-014-9956-

Permalink: https://allstate.libproxy.ivytech.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=108484770&site=eds-live

These articles contains general information about cultural competent care:

Cuevas, A. G., O’Brien, K., & Saha, S. (2017). What is the key to culturally competent care: Reducing bias or cultural tailoring? Psychology & Health, 32(4), 493–507. https://doi.org/10.1080/08870446.2017.1284221

Permalink: https://allstate.libproxy.ivytech.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=c8h&AN=121369467&site=ehost-live

Pais, N. D., Suresh, S., & DCunha, S. (2023). Spirituality and Spiritual Care in Nursing: Validity of the Spirituality and Spiritual Care Rating Scale in an Indian Context. Journal of Religion & Health, 62(3), 2131–2143.

Permalink: https://doi.org/10.1007/s10943-02https://allstate.libproxy.ivytech.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=c8h&AN=163334316&site=ehost-live2-01634-1

Permalink:

This article discusses death and end of life decisions from a variety of religious viewpoints:

Nayfeh, A., Yarnell, C. J., Dale, C., Conn, L. G., Hales, B., Gupta, T. D., Chakraborty, A., Pinto, R., Taggar, R., & Fowler, R. (2021). Evaluating satisfaction with the quality and provision of end-of-life care for patients from diverse ethnocultural backgrounds. BMC Palliative Care, 20(1), 1–11. https://doi-org.allstate.libproxy.ivytech.edu/10.1186/s12904-021-00841-z

Permalink: https://allstate.libproxy.ivytech.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=c8h&AN=152502112&site=ehost-live