Keywords, or search terms, are the main points of your topic, they can be a single word or a short phrase. Database searching works best when using keywords. For more information on how to select good keywords and develop a research question and strategy see: Credo Instruct - Using Keywords.
Below are some sample terms to get you started on your research for the project. Try combining the name of the mental health diagnosis AND the name of the medication OR medication type with any of the terms below when searching library resources or the internet. If you need help finding resources for your topic, please don't hesitate to contact the library to discuss keywords.
| Diagnosis OR symptoms | psychopathology |
| Interventions | administration or dosage |
| complications OR side efffects | treatments OR therapies OR therapeutic use |
| Contraindication OR precautions | client OR patient education |
| effectiveness | nursing considerations |
A multi-disciplinary database containing professional and peer-reviewed titles
Academic and professional journals, magazines, books, theses, and CEUs for Nursing and allied health professions.
A comprehensive and up-to-date resource used for clinical practice by mental health professionals, this resource includes the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5), the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), the DSM-5-TR Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, the DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases, the DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview, and the Spanish edition of Diagnostic Criteria from the DSM-5.
MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
Full text, peer reviewed, scholarly, and scientific journals on all aspects of psychology.
Academic journals related to psychology and behavioral sciences
