Credo Reference helps you start your psychology research with reference materials on personal, interpersonal, and social psychology.
The Unapologetic Guide to Black Mental Health by
An unapologetic exploration of the Black mental health crisis--and a comprehensive road map to getting the care you deserve in an unequal system. We can't deny it any longer: there is a Black mental health crisis in our world today. Black people die at disproportionately high rates due to chronic illness, suffer from poverty, under-education, and the effects of racism. This book is an exploration of Black mental health in today's world, the forces that have undermined mental health progress for African Americans, and what needs to happen for African Americans to heal psychological distress, find community, and undo years of stigma and marginalization in order to access effective mental health care. In The Unapologetic Guide to Black Mental Health, psychologist and African American mental health expert Rheeda Walker offers important information on the mental health crisis in the Black community, how to combat stigma, spot potential mental illness, how to practice emotional wellness, and how to get the best care possible in system steeped in racial bias. This breakthrough book will help you: Recognize mental and emotional health problems Understand the myriad ways in which these problems impact overall health and quality of life and relationships Develop psychological tools to neutralize ongoing stressors and live more fully Navigate a mental health care system that is unequal It's past time to take Black mental health seriously. Whether you suffer yourself, have a loved one who needs help, or are a mental health professional working with the Black community, this book is an essential and much-needed resource.
Psychopathology at School: Theorizing Mental Disorders in Education by
This book covers the complex intersection of psychology and education. It explores how mental disorders manifest in the school setting, shedding light on the challenges faced by both students and educators. Through comprehensive research and theoretical analysis, it offers an in-depth understanding of various mental disorders prevalent in educational institutions. By bridging the gap between psychology and education, this book provides practical strategies and interventions to support students with mental health issues. With its thought-provoking insights, Psychopathology at School is an essential resource for educators, psychologists, and anyone passionate about promoting mental well-being in the academic realm.
Child and Adolescent Psychopathology by
A unique, multi-discipline, developmental approach to childhood psychopathology Child and Adolescent Psychopathology is the only comprehensive text in the field to address genetic, neurobiological, and environmental factors within a developmental context. Based on cutting-edge research and aligned with the DSM-5, this book emphasizes how, when, and why disorders emerge among young people, and the ways in which symptom profiles change at different stages of development. This new third edition has been updated to include new chapters on OCD and trauma disorders consistent with DSM-5 classification, and includes new discussion on epigenetics and the neighborhood effects on the development of delinquency. Coverage includes extensive discussion of risk factors, from disturbed attachment relations and abuse/neglect, to head injury and teratogen exposure, followed by in-depth examination of behavior disorders and psychological disorders including Autism Spectrum, Schizophrenia Spectrum, and Eating Disorders. Psychological disorders in children are increasingly being explored from a relational perspective, and continuous advances in neurobiology research are adding an additional dimension to our understanding of cause, effect, and appropriate intervention. This book provides detailed guidance toward all aspects of childhood psychopathology, with a multi-discipline approach and a unique developmental emphasis. Discover how psychopathology emerges throughout the stages of development Learn how both genetics and environmental factors influence risk and behaviors Understand the prevalence, risk factors, and progression of each disorder Gain deep insight from leading experts in neurobiology and developmental psychopathology As the field of child psychology continues to evolve, behavioral and psychological disorders move beyond a list of symptoms to encompass the 'whole child'--biology, chemistry, environment, and culture are becoming increasingly relevant in understanding and treating these disorders, and must be considered from the earliest assessment stages. Child and Adolescent Psychopathology provides comprehensive information on childhood disorders from a developmental perspective.
Mental Health Disorders SB, 8th Ed by
Helping the Layperson Understand. Manage, and Avoid Serious Illness Omnigraphics' Health Reference Series is designed for the general reader seeking guidance on how to avoid serious illness by following preventive lifestyles and recognizing early warning signs. It also supports the layperson who has received a diagnosis of a serious disease or disorder as well as the family member or nonprofessional caregiver who must learn io care and to cope with the illness. Each volume in the series deals comprehensively with a particular area of medical concern and contains material found in publications issued by the National Institutes of Health and other agencies and associations. Nowhere else can general readers find this information conveniently collected, coordinated, and indexed in book form. Mental Health Disorders Sourcebook, Eighth Edition Mental health encompasses thoughts, actions, and feelings. Individuals who are mentally healthy are able to cope with challenges in life, handle stress, deal with anger, maintain meaningful relationships with others, and enjoy a normal life. Despite the benefits, maintaining a healthy mind is not always possible, hence mental disorders are common. According to the 2019 National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH) by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), atleast one in five adults in the United States live with a mental disorder. Mental illnesses include various conditions that differ in degree of severity, ranging from mild to moderate to severe and estimates suggest that only half of people with mental illnesses receive treatment. Mental Health Disorders Sourcebook, Eighth Edition discusses how the brain works, the components of mental health, and about developing and reinforcing mental wellness. It details the major types of mental illness and their treatments, including depressive disorders, anxiety disorders, psychotic disorders, personality disorders, and disorders that impact behavior, including impulse control disorders (ICDs). addictions, and eating disorders. A special section looks at pediatric menial-health concerns and another examines the distinctive concerns of other specific populations. Information about the relationship between mental health and other co-occurring illnesses, such as cancer, epilepsy, heart disease, pain, and steep disorder, are also included. The book concludes with a glossary of terms related to mental health, a list of crisis hotlines, and a directory of mental-health organizations. Book jacket.