Helpful Videos
How to Improve Your Search Terms
What is a Scholarly Journal Article?
Web Literacy for Student Fact-Checkers
"This is an unabashedly practical guide for the student fact-checker. It supplements generic information literacy with the specific web-based techniques that can get you closer to the truth on the web more quickly."
See how well you can spot fake news!
Want to test your fake news identifying skills? Check out Factitious, an online game that challenges you to correctly identify real and fake articles sourced from around the web. In 2020, Factitious creators released a pandemic edition of the game to address the explosion of deceptively fake articles about the COVID-19 pandemic.
To learn more about Factitious - Pandemic Edition, read creator Bob Hone's medium.com article: Factitious News Game Helps Students Spot Pandemic Misinformation
Website Evaluation Guide
Video, Audio, and Images
Films on Demand
Thousands of hours of streaming video on subjects ranging from literature to psychology.
History and Politics Out Loud
A searchable archive of politically significant audio material
ARTICLE DATABASES
Academic Search Complete
Provides full-text access to over 4,600 scholarly and popular press journals in all academic disciplines. You can limit your search results by date, etc. in the left column.
ProQuest Research Library
Includes thousands of full-text titles, with a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, important and general interest magazines.
FIND BOOKS IN IVYCAT
IvyCat is a database of all materials (books, ebooks, DVDs, etc.) in all Ivy Tech libraries throughout the State of Indiana. When searching for books, limit the LOCATION to your campus; the result set will include all print books available at your campus AND all electronic books, dvds, etc.
