Smithsonian American Art Museum
The Smithsonian American Art Museum is home to one of the largest and most inclusive collections of American art in the world.
Want to learn more about the painting you found while clearing out the attic? For answers, be prepared for a little detective work.
Americans for the Arts Public Art Network (PAN) develops professional services for the broad array of individuals and organizations engaged in the diverse field of public art. PAN is the only professional network in the United States dedicated to advancing public art programs and projects through advocacy, policy, and information resources to further art and design in our built environment.
Images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.
Find RBG and Hex #s
"Approximately 1 million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials, as well as hundreds of thousands of open access images from the Metropolitan Museum of Art."
"DPLA brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science."
"The Collections database consists of entries for more than 490,000 works in the Musée du Louvre and Musée National Eugène-Delacroix. Updated on a daily basis, it is the result of the continuous research and documentation efforts carried out by teams of experts from both museums."
Databases of art, architectural, and museum object images listed by the University of Michigan.
Contains information on 60,574 works from the National (UK) Portrait Gallery's collection of over 320,000 paintings, sculptures, drawings, engravings, and photographs
Contains 30,000 high-resolution digital images taken from the New York Public Library's extensive collection of books, magazines, newspapers, photographs, and prints. Most images are pre-1923, and the collection is especially strong in the areas of fashion and natural history.
Curated List provided by University of Michigan on their LibGuide, Free Databases (all subjects): Art
The Public Art Archive™ (PAA) is a free, continually growing, online and mobile database of completed public artworks throughout the U.S. and abroad. By uniting records from public art organizations and artists into one comprehensive resource, PAA aims to provide universal access to the complex stories that characterize public artworks not as static objects, but as dynamic, interconnected keepers of history, context and meaning.
FORWARD, a digital publication and conversation series from Forecast, a nonprofit that activates, inspires, and advocates for public art that advances justice, health, and human dignity. FORWARD highlights how artists are partnering with cities, institutions and communities to courageously tackle the vital issues of our time.
Selected links to interesting websites on public art, architecture, urban and landscape design, and resources relevant to public art practice from all over Europe.
