Patient Education Resources

Patient education should be based on the patient's educational needs, learning style, and understanding so they have the knowledge to manage their own health decisions or take prescribed drugs as directed.

The library has resources to help with patient education materials:

Consumer Health Complete has content designed to support the information needs of patients. Use this database to find examples of patient education materials and medical images you can use to make your own materials.
Health Source: Consumer Edition has information on many health topics including respiratory disorders. The Image Collection in this database includes graphs, diagrams, charts, and illustrations.
MEDLINE with Full-Text focuses on scholarly academic resources, consumer medication information, and patient education sheets.

Other Resources:

MedlinePlus is a resource for patients and their families and friends and is a service of the National Library of Medicine. It provides easy-to-read health information in multiple languages.

Health Literacy Online will help you learn how to design health information tools for patient education. This is a resource of the US Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion.

Consumer Health Databases

Alt HealthWatch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers full-text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
more...less...
Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.
Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete is designed for the everyday consumer of health care information. CHC provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles. Access drug information from AHFS Consumer Medication Information in both English and Spanish.
Consumer Health Reference eBook Collection
This ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general health topics, including disease such as cancer and diabetes; weight management and exercise; allergies; senior care; social emotional health; developmental disorders; and natural health.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is an online consumer health information resource. It provides patients with high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish.
more...less...
MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).