Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Books
Encyclopedia of American Studies (CREDO)
From Johns Hopkins University Press, "this book brings together a wide range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present; features African Americans, Italian Americans, Irish Americans, and more."
The Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
This work includes information on "ethnic and minority groups in the U.S. with with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. The encyclopedia also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish."
Reference Books in the Library
Search IvyCat for more print books, ebooks, videos, and other materials in Ivy Tech libraries.
Race and ethnicity in America
Shelved at E184.A1 B76 2018, this book "examines the differences between minority groups and white Americans across the economic, political, and social spectrums and explores the experience of African-Americans, Hispanics, Native Americans, Asian-Americans, and other minority groups living in the United States."
Multicultural America : an encyclopedia of the newest Americans
Shelved at E184.A1 M815 2011 in our reference collection, this four-volume set provides "a fascinating picture of the lives of immigrants from 50 countries who have contributed substantially to the diversity of the United States, exploring all aspects of the immigrants' lives in the old world as well as the new."