Books about art and visual communication are shelved by Library of Congress call number in the general collection and reference.
Ebooks are also available through our databases or by searching IvyCat.
Browse the N section to find books about art. Additional sections of interest are listed in the table below.
To see more information about the books below, hover your cursor over the 
icon.
| Visual Arts | N | Decorative Arts | NK | |
| Architecture | NA | Arts in general | NX | |
| Sculpture | NB | Landscape Architecture and Gardens | SB | |
| Drawing, Design, Illustration | NC | Photography | TR | |
| Painting | ND | Handicrafts, Arts and Crafts | TT | |
| Print Media | NE | Bookmaking, Writing(Paleography), Calligraphy | Z |
Africobra by
Formed on the South Side of Chicago in 1968 at the height of the civil rights, Black power, and Black arts movements, the AFRICOBRA collective created a new artistic visual language rooted in the culture of Chicago's Black neighborhoods. The collective's aesthetics, especially the use of vibrant color, capture the rhythmic dynamism of Black culture and social life. In AFRICOBRA, painter, photographer, and collective cofounder Wadsworth A. Jarrell tells the definitive story of the group's creation, history, and artistic and political principles. From accounts of the painting of the groundbreaking Wall of Respect mural and conversations among group members to documentation of AFRICOBRA's exhibits in Chicago, New York, and Boston, Jarrell outlines how the collective challenged white conceptions of art by developing an artistic philosophy and approach wholly divested of Western practices. Featuring nearly one hundred color images of artworks, exhibition ephemera, and photographs, this book is at once a sourcebook history of AFRICOBRA and the story of visionary artists who rejected the white art establishment in order to create uplifting art for all Black people.
By Her Hand by
A brand new look at the extraordinary accomplishments of early modern Italian women artists This generously illustrated volume surveys a sweeping range of early modern Italian women artists, exploring their practice and paths to success within the male-dominated art world of the period. New attention to archival documents and detailed technical analyses of the beautiful paintings featured here--ranging from historical subjects to portraits and still lifes--offer new insight into the ways these women worked and their accomplishments. Essays and catalogue entries by an international team of distinguished art historians examine the works of Artemisia Gentileschi, Sofonisba Anguissola, Lavinia Fontana, Fede Galizia, Elisabetta Sirani, Giovanna Garzoni, Rosalba Carriera, and other less known Italian women artists. Through these works of art in diverse media--from paintings to prints--the fascinating stories of early modern Italian women artists are revealed.
Crochet Step by Step by
Get hooked on crocheting with this crochet book for beginners! Filled with step-by-step illustrations for an easy-to-follow and fully visual experience, this foolproof guide will have you starting your first crochet project right away! If you've always wanted to learn how to crochet but thought it would be too tough, this is the ultimate book for you! From choosing the right hooks and crochet yarn to basic stitches and patterns, Crochet Step By Step explains all the tools, materials, and techniques you'll need to get started. You'll be making scarfs, blankets, baby hats, and cushions in no time! Inside the pages of this illustrative crochet reference guide, you'll find: * Over 100 key techniques and 20 easy projects to get you started * Clear step-by-step photography and easy-to-follow instructions * Advice on what materials you need and how to use them * An introduction to color theory and how to combine colors for optimum effect Even if you've never held a crocheting needle in your hand, the detailed illustrations and instructions will transform you into a crochet master! There are more than 100 techniques and crochet patterns to try, each explained step by step, with clear terms and methods. This basic crochet book includes a concise explanation of stitch symbols and abbreviations together with clear guidelines on how to read crochet patterns. There are 20 projects to practice what you've learned about stitches, techniques, and tools, so you can go from a novice to an expert crocheter! There's also helpful advice on which color combinations to use for beautiful results. On Your Marks. Get Set. Stitch! This newly updated edition includes a fresh design and brand-new photography that shows the stitches with gorgeous clarity. Gorgeous photos of finished projects will inspire you to pick up your crochet hook and get creative! It's the perfect gift for anyone who wants to learn how to crochet. Complete the Series: Fully illustrated and easy to use, the DK Step by Step series covers all the essential skills and techniques you need to succeed in all sorts of hobbies, whether you're a newbie or not. Once you've mastered the art of crocheting with Crochet Step by Step, why not learn how to master key carpentry skills in Woodwork Step by Step?
Graphic Design for Everyone by
Transform your ideas into powerful visuals--to connect with your audience, define your brand, and take your project to the next level. This highly practical design book takes you through the building blocks of design--type, photography, illustration, color--and shows you how to combine these tools to create visuals that inform, influence, and enthral. Grasp the key principles through in-depth how-to articles, hands-on workshops, and inspirational galleries of great design. Find out how to create a brand plan, discover how a typeface sets the mood, and learn how to organize different elements of a layout to boost the impact and meaning of your message. Then apply your skills to do it yourself, with ten step-by-step projects to help you create your own stunning designs--including business stationery, invitations, sales brochure, website, online newsletter and e-shop. There's also plenty of practical advice on publishing online, dealing with printers, commissioning professionals, finding free design tools, and much more. If you're ready to use powerful design to take your pet project or burgeoning business to the next level, Graphic Design for Everyone is your one-stop resource to help you become an effective, inspirational visual communicator.
How to Enjoy Art by
An entertaining and lively guide to rediscovering the pleasure in art How to Enjoy Art: A Guide for Everyone provides the tools to understand and enjoy works of art. Debunking the pervasive idea that specialist knowledge is required to understand and appreciate art, instead How to Enjoy Art focuses on experience and pleasure, demonstrating how anyone can find value and enjoyment in art. Examples from around the world and throughout art history--from works by Fra Angelico and Berthe Morisot to Kazuo Shiraga and Kara Walker--are used to demonstrate how a handful of core strategies and skills can help enhance the experience of viewing art works. With these skills, anyone can encounter any work of art--regardless of media, artist or period--and find some resonance with their own experiences. How to Enjoy Art encourages us to rediscover the fundamental pleasure in viewing art.
Morpho by
In this book, Michel Lauricella presents both his artistic and systematic methods for drawing the human body--with drawing techniques from the écorché (showing the musculature underneath the skin) to sketches of models in action. In more than 1000 illustrations, the human body is shown from a new perspective--from bone structure to musculature, from anatomical detail to the body in motion. Morpho is a rich, fascinating, and helpful book that can go with you everywhere on your sketching journey.
World Receivers by
Abstract paintings were being produced even before Kandinsky. Completely independently from each other, Georgiana Houghton (1814 - 1884) in England, Hilma af Klint (1862 - 1944) in Sweden and Emma Kunz (1892 - 1963) in Switzerland each developed an individual abstract pictorial language. What they had in common was a desire to make visible the laws of nature, the intellect and the supernatural. Their works are being presented side by side for the first time in an exhibition. The three women artists all found their artistic language within the context of the spiritual movements of their times: Houghton in spiritism, af Klint in theosophy and Kunz in naturopathy. Their artworks bear witness to a "mediumistic" praxis: Houghton and af Klint were inspired by higher beings to paint, while Kunz developed her drawings with the help of a pendulum.
Here is a list of Ebook Databases available through your Ivy Tech library.
Please make sure you are logged in to MyIvy to access content.
Extensive collection of online academic books in all subject areas.
Currently with 48,137 titles, this collection gives your patrons access to high-quality e-books covering a wide range of topics such as self-help, fitness, games, hobbies and cooking. This general reference e-book collection features titles for both adults and juveniles, as well as best-selling and recommended titles from leading publishers.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Very Short Introductions offer concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Expert authors combine facts, analysis, new insights, and enthusiasm to make often challenging topics highly readable to develop your core knowledge.
Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks of the world's great literature with a focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.
To access any of our ebooks, you will need to be signed in to MyIvy.
You have several options to search for ebooks through the library.
Click here to do an advanced search in IvyCat, Ivy Tech's online catalog. Under the Additional Limits section, choose Electronic Resources from the format type drop-down list.
For other ebook catalogs and databases, take a look at our A to Z list of resources. You can filter the type to Book and Ebook collections to see what's available.
Below are a few examples of the thousands of ebooks we have available:
Gothic Art by
Gothic art finds its roots in the powerful architecture of the cathedrals of northern France. It is a medieval art movement that evolved throughout Europe over more than 200 years.Leaving curved Roman forms behind, the architects started using flying buttresses and pointed arches to open up cathedrals to daylight. A period of great economic and social change, the Gothic era also saw the development of a new iconography celebrating the Holy Mary - in drastic contrast to the fearful themes of dark Roman times. Full of rich changes in all of the various art forms (architecture, sculpture, painting, etc.), Gothic art paved the way for the Italian Renaissance and International Gothic movement.
A Companion to Digital Art by
Reflecting the dynamic creativity of its subject, this definitive guide spans the evolution, aesthetics, and practice of today's digital art, combining fresh, emerging perspectives with the nuanced insights of leading theorists. Showcases the critical and theoretical approaches in this fast-moving discipline Explores the history and evolution of digital art; its aesthetics and politics; as well as its often turbulent relationships with established institutions Provides a platform for the most influential voices shaping the current discourse surrounding digital art, combining fresh, emerging perspectives with the nuanced insights of leading theorists Tackles digital art's primary practical challenges - how to present, document, and preserve pieces that could be erased forever by rapidly accelerating technological obsolescence Up-to-date, forward-looking, and critically reflective, this authoritative new collection is informed throughout by a deep appreciation of the technical intricacies of digital art
The Art of Fashion Illustration by
The Art of Fashion Illustration is the ultimate guide to fashion sketching. Inside, you'll find more than 150 beautiful illustrations from the international community's masters of illustration and rising stars including Adriana Krawcwicz, Sarah Beetson, Pippa McManus, Sarah Hankinson, Nuno Da Costa, Lovisa Burfitt, and Erin Petson. Peek behind the cloth and enjoy interviews with the illustrators, commentary from influencers in the industry and a discussion of illustration techniques. Expert stylist and fashion writer, Somer Flaherty Tejwani, provides your with an inside scoop on over 30 illustrators. Along with interviews with the illustrators and fashion influencers, you'll find additional fashion illustration techniques - how artists infuse movement and attitude in their drawings, watercolor versus pencil, insider information, fashion silhouettes and more. Create your own illustrations by using convenient tear sheets that are included in the back of the book. Fashionistas and aspiring designers will love the inspirations found in this book! You'll be creating stylish and contemporary looks in no time!
The Confusion Between Art and Design [EPUB] by
In the past century the borders have blurred between art and design. Designers, artists, aestheticians, curators, art and design critics, historians and students all seem confused about these borders. Figurative painting was reduced to graphic design while still being called 'art'. Figurative sculpture was reduced to nonfunctional industrial design while being called 'sculpture'. This fundamental blunder resulted from total misunderstanding of the concept of "abstraction" by the founders of modern art. Comprehensive analysis shows that so-called "abstract art" is neither abstract nor art, but a very simple, even trivial, kind of design. In this book the prehistoric, philosophical, logical, historic and religious sources of the confusion between art and design are analyzed.A new and coherent conceptual framework is proposed, to distinguish between art and design. Nearly one hundred distinctions, contradistinctions and comparisons between art and design are presented, showing clearly that they are totally independent domains. Philosophy of art books are written by philosophers for philosophers, not for artists and designers; therefore they are irrelevant for the latter, especially for students who normally lack the necessary conceptual training. This book is not only for theoreticians but for art and design practitioners at all levels. This is a new kind of book: an illustrated philosophical book for the art and design world, which can make philosophical knowledge accessible and useful for solving real problems for designers and artists who are mostly visual rather than conceptual thinkers. The book contains over two hundred images; thus art and design people can easily follow the arguments and reasoning presented in this book in their own language; images. Lack of distinction between art and design harms both. Design is contaminated by the ills of modern art, while modern art cannot recover from its current stagnation while under the illusion that it is actually art rather than design.
