- VADS Visual Arts
This image collection is very extensive, including design, fine art, crafts, fashion and more. You must register to search the 20 collections.
- Art and Architecture Thesarus Online
From the Getty Research Web site.
- Art Images for College Teaching
This collection of free-use images has five categories: Ancient, Medieval, Rennaisance and Baroque, 18th - 20th century, and Non-Western.
- Art Renewal Center
The mission of ARC is--To create the largest on-line Museum on the internet, with hundreds of thousands of oversized high quality images of all the known works of the greatest painters and sculptors in human history, cross referenced to the largest encyclopedic online art reference library of historical texts, essays, biographies and articles.--
- Art Serve at the Australian National University
--Art and architecture mainly from the Mediterranean Basin and Japan--
http://rubens.anu.edu.au/
- AskArt.com
This wonderful site specializes in American artists. A sample search for Alexander Calder contained 951 images, biographical information, and statistics. Over 27,000 North American artists are represented here.
- Ashmolean Museum Online Collections
The Ashmolean Museum - the Museum of Art and Archaeology at the University of Oxford - offers online collections for paintings, Eastern art, and Western art, among many others.
- ATLA CDRI
These images are from the repository of the Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative of the American Theological Library Association. This website provides access to a variety of digital images including woodcuts, photographs, coins, and manuscripts, among many others.
- British Library Images Online
Search or browse thousands of images from the British Library's collections.
- Digital Art Archive: Online Images from Boston College
Links to 18th, 19th and 20th century painting and sculpture.
http://www.bc.edu/bc_org/avp/cas/fnart/art/
- Digital Art Collection
This site is maintained by Kathryn Andrus, PhD., University of Colorado at Colorado Springs.
http://harpy.uccs.edu/collect.html
- Fine Art Museums of San Francisco
Choose from the de Young and Legion of Honor museums, and then browse the museum's current exhibitions and collections.
- Guggenheim Museum: The Collection
--The Guggenheim collection online premiered in April 2001 with a selection of works of art from the New York museum's holdings. Currently representing 169 artists, the collection online encompasses both the classic and the new—from the Guggenheim's earliest work, an 1867 landscape by Camille Pissarro, through more recent acquisitions, a 1998–99 sculpture by Robert Gober—striking a balance that reflects the dynamic tenor of the institution as a whole. Each work may be viewed at small, medium, or large resolution, and is accompanied by insightful commentary. The site also includes additional scholarly and contextual information, such as artist biographies, definitions of art-historical terms, concepts on art, and suggested readings, all of which form a searchable database.--
- Jacques-Edouard Berger Foundation
A slide library of world art treasures organized by artists, periods, countries, regions, and cities.
- Kimbell Art Museum
--The Museum is one of the few institutions in the Southwest with a substantial collection of Asian arts, and has also assembled small but select collections of Pre-Columbian and African art, as well as Classical, Egyptian, and Near Eastern Antiquities.-- Browse or search the image database to find pictures of the collection.
- National Museum of Women in the Arts
--View over 250 images from the permanent collection.--
- NYPL Digital Gallery
--NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.--
- Perseus Digital Library
Search or browse Perseus for ancient art.
- Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
--The Prints & Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and other units of the Library of Congress.--
- Russian Art
These images have the author and date only.
- San Diego Museum of Art Images Database
--Searchable database to over 300 images from the museum's permanent collection .. search by artist or genre .. includes brief encyclopedia style overview of each topic.--
- SILS Art Image Browser
Browse or search these images from the University of Michigan School of Information and Libraray Studies.
- Tate Online: British and International Modern Art
--Tate holds the national collections of British art and of international modern art. Over 65,000 works are available online. Each work has its own information page. Click the text tab.--
- UVa Art Museum
Search images from the University of Virginia Art Museum.
- University of Wisconsin-Madison Department of Art History
Click Image Search in the left-hand navigation menu and then guest access to search by creator, location, key words, date, culture, style, and/or object type.
- Vatican Museums
March 2005, Only 30 highlights of the collection remain available to the online public.
- Victoria and Albert Museum
--20,000 works and over 26,000 images from the V&A collections.--
- Vincent Van Gogh Gallery
Endorsed by the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam.
- Web Gallery of Art
--The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque periods (1150-1800), currently containing over 11,600 reproductions. Commentaries on pictures, biographies of artists are available. Guided tours, free postcard and other services are provided for the visitors.--
|
