Transitioning from the military to the civilian job market is not always easy. It is crucial to educate yourself on how to succeed in the corporate world. On this page you can find the resources needed to move from the military to civilian job. For more resources about job-searching, see our Employment Resources Guide.
Ivy Tech students can use databases to find magazine articles and other documents about a wide variety of topics. Use these databases and websites to find information relating to employment and veterans.
Information on required education and training, duties, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations nationwide. Also data by state. Search by occupation, projected growth, pay grade, education level. Recommended for Occupational Research assignments.
O*NET Online is a great tool for job analysis and career exploration with detailed descriptions of skill sets and career data.
Military-to-Civilian Career Transition Guide by
This handbook provides a career transition framework for service members and their families. Readers are given exit strategies for gracefully leaving the military; charts, checklists, and worksheets for planning each transition aspect; resume and cover letter samples and strategies; and interviewing and salary negotiation tips. The author also shares advice for surviving the first month on the new job and beyond. This enhanced edition includes a chapter on how to land a federal job, tips for online networking; a directory of online transition tools; and information on employment and retraining options for disabled veterans. An essential roadmap for transitioning service members and their families, this eye-opening guide addresses the entire transition process and includes the family perspective with it.
150 Best Jobs for Your Skills by
Studies show that employers favour candidates who possess a strong skill set over those with more experience. This is advantageous to job seekers, because their skills can position them for jobs they may have previously ruled out due to a lack of education, training, or experience. This information-packed reference helps readers identify their skills and connect them to a wealth of promising jobs. After completing a self-assessment, readers will discover their top three career skills. Then they'll be able to browse lists that feature the best jobs for each skill. These lists include eye-opening information such as the best-paying jobs, fastest-growing jobs, and best jobs based on education level. Next, readers can learn about the jobs that interest them through in-depth job descriptions. These summaries offer useful details about a job's earnings, growth, annual openings, work environment, education requirements, and more. In addition, this book defines what skills are, explains the importance of skills in the career choice and hiring process, and offers suggestions on how to develop skills. The skills highlighted represent the most important ones in today's economy: communication; computer programming; equipment use/maintenance; equipment/technology analysis; management; mathematics; quality control; science; social; and thought-processing skills.
150 Best Jobs for the Military-To-Civilian Transition by
Choose a Rewarding Civilian Job That Suits You As a veteran, you bring valuable skills and work habits to the civilian job market. But which job would be a good fit for your needs and interests? This book points you toward the best-paying, most rapidly expanding jobs that are actually held by recent vets. The 150 best jobs are organized by earnings, growth, education, personality type, and much more. Helpful Facts About the Best Jobs for the Military-to-Civilian Transition The author used the most up-to-date facts from government sources in this volume. Besides the best jobs lists, the book includes in-depth descriptions of 150 occupations and 91 job specializations that met the best jobs criteria. Among this book's many helpful facts: The job with the best combination of pay, growth, and number of openings that employs a large number of recent veterans is Software Developers, Systems Software. It has average annual earnings of $96,600, is growing at a rate of 32.4 percent, and has 16,800 openings per year. Among the fastest-growing jobs that employ many recent veterans are Veterinary Technologists and Technicians (number 1), Meeting, Convention, and Event Planners (number 2), and Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Mechanics and Installers (number 7). Some of the best jobs with a high percentage of recent veterans working part-time are Radiologic Technologists, Public Relations Specialists, and Medical Assistants. How This Book Works In Part I, learn helpful suggestions and identify key resources for navigating the transition from military service to civilian employment. Browse the 40+ best jobs lists in Part II to find jobs that interest you, match your needs, or fit your experience. Then look at the information-packed job descriptions in Part III for more details on earnings, growth, job tasks, skills, work environments, personality types, and more. Simple. Who Can Benefit from This Book? Want a good civilian career after leaving the military? Interested in connecting your military training with the best civilian jobs? This book is ideal for veterans making important career plans and decisions, especially those transitioning from enlisted, service. It also is valuable for educators, counselors, and others advising veterans. About the Author. Laurence Shatkin has 30+ years in the career information field, presents and blogs on career issues, and is the author of many career books. Book jacket.
Military-to-Civilian Career Transition Guide by
Janet Farley offers solid advice for comparing job offers and choosing the one that is best for the service member and his or her family. Helps service members evaluate their options and thrive in their new jobs. Worksheets help point readers in the right direction. After they land that job, readers can use this book's advice to help them adjust to the civilian world of work.
Expert Resumes for Military-to-civilian Transitions by
A collection of superior professionally written resumes and career strategies for service members leaving the military for a civilian job.
Quick Resume and Cover Letter Book by
America's leading job search and career guidance expert presents his definitive guide to resumes, offering well-researched and proven techniques; a friendly, easy-to-follow design, rock-solid advice to create outstanding resumes and, more importantly, use the effectively. The very easy-to-use first section of the book shows how to create a basic resume in about an hour and an improved resume in about half a day. The new edition includes more than 90 sample resumes written by professional resume writers for all types of jobs and people. This book also provides excellent career counselling sections to help people define their ideal job then go out and get is. The Quick Resume and Cover Letter Book can help anyone find a job, from high school graduates to high-level professionals.
Knock 'em dead : the ultimate job search guide, 2011 by
As America starts down the long road of recovery from the worst recession in more than a generation, millions are searching for new jobs. With unemployment peaking at more than 10 percent in 2010, strong job-search strategies aren't an option--they're a necessity. This twenty-fifth edition of Martin Yate's guide contains: Strategies for the long-term unemployed about how to best focus on their skills and strengths to win a job Completely revised "Where the Jobs Are" section, with new advice for where to find the best employment opportunities in 2011 A new introductory chapter that focuses on long-term career management Today more applicants struggle for fewer jobs. Yate shows you how to get an edge, whether you're a recent college graduate, unemployed, or contemplating a career change. And once you get a foot in the door, this book shows you how to ace the interview and clinch an attractive, exciting job offer. (From Google Books)
Military-to-Civilian Resumes and Letters by
Transitioning to the civilian work world is filled with challenges for over 250,000 military personnel who leave the various services each year. It's especially difficult for those who are uncertain how to clearly communicate what they do well and enjoy doing to civilian employers. Written by the authors of the popular "Corporate Gray Series" for transitioning military personnel (2.1 million copies distributed since 1998); this book provides all the necessary information for writing and distributing outstanding resumes and letters. The authors show how to produce, distribute, follow-up, and evaluate resumes and letters with maximum impact. Includes 65 key principles, a 6-step military-to-civilian language translation process, over 75 sample resume and letters, 100 top Internet employment sites, and more.
