Academic Earth is a user-friendly
educational system that will give internet users around the world the
ability to easily find, interact with, and learn from full video
courses and lectures from the world’s leading scholars. Their goal is to
bring the best content together in one place and create an environment
in which that content is remarkably easy to use and where user
contributions make existing content increasingly valuable. Browse by subject, university, instructor or playlist.
The Archaeology Channel is a streaming-media website for sharing archaeology research and its contributions to science and humanity. The site includes a Teacher Resources area that includes lesson plans.
Interviewer and broadcast journalist Charlie Rose engages America's best thinkers, writers, politicians, athletes, entertainers, business leaders, scientists and other newsmakers in one-on-one interviews and roundtable discussions. Episodes and segments are available back as far as 1993.
Folkstreams preserves and makes available documentary films about American roots and cultures including essays about filmmaking. The site includes transcripts, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites.
At History.com, watch video clips, browse photos, and listen to audio clips from programs shown on the History channel. Topics include state history, history by time period, U.S. Presidents, and a variety of people, places, and events.
iTunes U offers lectures from scholars at major universities around the world. Requires a free iTunes account. Go to the iTunes Store and select iTunes U from the top menu bar. Browse by categories, provider, or noteworthy lectures. Learn more about iTunes U.
The Living Room Candidate contains more than 300 commercials, from every presidential election since 1952. Browse by year, type of ad, or issue. The “For Teachers” section includes downloadable lessons.
At YouTube EDU you can view video lectures created by faculty around the world. Browse by category, subcategory, or college.
TeacherTube is an online community for sharing instructional videos created by teachers. Members are encouraged to not only upload educationally relevant videos, but also to make constructive comments and use the rating system to show appreciation for videos of value to one as an educator or learner.
Every semester, UC Berkeley webcasts select courses and events for on-demand viewing via the Internet. Webcast.berkeley courses and events are freely available to the public.
Open Yale Courses are free online video lectures of selected introductory courses offered at Yale.
The United States’ National Archives video channel includes historical video clips from the National Archives such as NASA history, United Newsreel motion pictures, and Department of the Interior motion pictures.
The Moving Image Archive at the Internet Archive is a collection of free movies, films, and videos. This collection contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
American Memory from the Library of Congress contains several collections of historical film footage covering a variety of topics including the 1906 San Francisco earthquake, early animated films, Coca-Cola advertising, work and leisure in America, Presidential Inaugurations, and more. Also included is footage from 9/11 including public reaction.
Annenberg Learner programs are intended for use by teachers, but are also useful for student learning. Browse their resources by subject and grade level. You can view their programs online with a broadband connection whenever you see the "VoD" icon.
Justice is one of the most popular courses in Harvard’s history. Listen to Professor Sandel's 12-part series about justice, equality, democracy, and citizenship. This course aims to help viewers become more critically minded thinkers about the moral decisions we all face in our everyday lives.
The Khan Academy provides over 2,000 videos primarily on topics in mathematics, and has expanded to include physics, finance, and history. Watch, practice, and learn concepts online for free. The Khan Academy is a not-for-profit organization with the goal of changing education for the better by providing a free world-class education to anyone anywhere.
Wisc-Online is a digital library of Web-based learning resources called "learning objects" covering all subject areas. Many of these learning objects are self-paced tutorials. Users can create a free account to access more of the site.
TED is a nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. It started in 1984 as a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, Design. Browse by topic, date, popularity and more to view videos. Anyone can browse TED Conversations, but to start or join a conversation, you'll need a free TED.com member account. Also take a look at TEDEd for videos for "lessons worth learning," and the TED YouTube Channel.
SchoolTube.com is the nation's largest K-12 moderated video sharing website that provides students and educators with a safe and free video sharing website that is exclusively endorsed by leading education associations. Their mission is to provide educators and students a safe and fun video sharing environment to enhance their classrooms and learning experiences. Videos are student produced and moderator approved through a innovative Chain of Accountability process. Browse by channels, categories, or schools.
National Geographic Video contains nearly 300 videos and video clips from National Geographic about the environment, music, science, travel, and culture.
At the Mayo Clinic YouTube Channel, watch videos created by the Mayo Clinic on a variety of medical and health topics.
The NASA Video Gallery includes videos from the Apollo Missions to the most recent space shuttle and space station missions.