Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here are websites that offer free downloadable eBooks.
- Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts
Browse Alex by Authors, Date or Title or search by keyword. Alex makes texts available to read online, or download in the following formats: PDF, Newton Paperback, Palm Pilot, or Rocket eBook.
- Amazon Kindle Free eBook Collections
Free classics and out-of-copyright, pre-1923 books, as well as limited-time free promotional ebooks available for Kindle.
- Barnes & Noble Free eBooks
Use on your Nook, Nook software or Barnes & Noble eReader software or app.
- Google Books
While there is no way to restrict search results to downloadable books only, you can limit your results to books that are fully viewable by using the Advanced Search feature of Google Books. Just select the "Full view only" option, enter your search terms and click "Google Search."
- Houston Area Digital Media Catalog
Access audiobooks and video through your local Houston and Galveston County public libraries. Must have a library card to access.
- Internet Archive
Download free books and texts. The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.
LibriVox provides free audiobooks from the public domain. There are several options for listening.
manybooks.net strives to provide eBooks in as many formats as possible.
- The National Academies Press
Download as PDFs or read online. Need a free account to download.
- Open Library
Open Library is a project of the non-profit Internet Archive. The goal is one web page for every book ever published. Not every book listed has a free eBook version, but there are many available through Open Library and you can limit your search to eBooks.
- Project Gutenberg
One of the most comprehensive collections of electronic texts on the Internet. Many books can be downloaded for iPad, Kindle, Nook, Android, iPhone, iPod Touch, Sony Reader.
- Sony ReaderStore: Google Books
Get books you can download to your Sony Reader, MAC or PC. Include free
Downloading to an e-reader from Gale Virtual Reference Library
Our Ivy Tech Ebrary
Collection has 1000s of scholarly e-books! Books from Ebrary can be read on-line or downloaded! Directions vary depending on the device
If you have an ipad or iphone or Android you can download the ebrary app.
To create an ebrary account, click the "sign in" link from the ebrary database, (located in the upper right hand corner) & create an account with a user name and password of your choosing.
You will also need an Adobe account. to download a book offline. Once an ebrary and an Adobe account are in place, one can download the ebrary app. After downloading the app, and loggin to your ebrary account, one can then read a book offline or online. (ebooks from EBSCO can also be read using this app)
EBSCOhost E-books Mobile
Our Ivy Tech EBSCO E-book collection offers thousands of high-quality titles from leading publishers.
E-books from EBSCOhost can be read on-line or downloaded! Directions vary depending on the device.
EBSCO e-book support
This EBSCO ebook support page offers tutorials and videos on downloading EBSCO ebooks to your mobile device.
Use this Mobile URL to access Britannica encyclopedia
OR add an Icon to iPhones and iPads:
1. On you iPhone or iPad, open this link
2. Click on the + sign or the arrow in a box pointing to the right depending on your device.
3. Choose Add to Home Screen.
4. Rename as Encyclopedia Britannica
Other Applications and Mobile URL's
Read over a million Google books from the public domain. Choose from a diverse collection of public domain titles -- from well-known classics to obscure gems. Using Google Books Mobile, you can find books such as:
Once you've selected a book, here is how to navigate:
- Tap on the bottom right corner and the page to flip the page.
- Tap on the bottom left corner to go back to the previous page.
- Scroll the text, just like a normal web page.
- World Cat - Search for library materials all over the world via this mobile URL.
- World Cat: Ivy Tech - Search for books from Ivy Tech Indianapolis libraires via this mobile URL.
Scan the barcode on the back of a book, find it in a library near you. Android, iOS, Windows. Click on the local tab to view library holdings. It will also give book reviews and suggested readings.
- Overdrive - This mobile app is often used by many public libraries for downloading e-books. Read and listen to eBooks & audiobooks from your library on the go or at home with OverDrive Media Console. The app is available for every major desktop and mobile platform, including Windows, Mac, iPad, iPhone, Android phones and tablets, Kindle, NOOK, Windows 8 PC and tablet, Blackberry and Windows Phone. IMCPL uses this platform. Instalation tutorials.