Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mobile Applications - Evansville: Articles

Content

Mobile Friendly Database URL's

ARTstor
Images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. The orange "Enter Here" button in the top right of the screen will automactically direct mobile users to the ARTstor mobile site. (Mobile users will need to register for an ARTstor account through the standard interface and use that account to log into the mobile interface.)

The Chronicle of Higher Education Online
Source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. (Mobile users will be automatically directed to the Chronicle mobile interface and will be given the option to switch back to standard view.)

EBSCOhost Mobile Academic
Mobile interface to selected EBSCO databases provided by GALILEO. Offers limited functionality such as basic searching, HTML & PDF full text, multi-database searching, image quick view, and more. (Off campus users will be prompted for their GALILEO password.)

JSTOR Mobile (Beta)
Full-text access to back issues of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. (The mobile interface is a separate website from the standard JSTOR interface, and is very beta. Off-campus access may be unreliable.)

Lexis Nexis Academic Mobile
Provides a quick news, business, or legal search for users on the go. While not all of the content in the full LexisNexis Academic version is accessible through the mobile interface, basic searches can be executed quickly and easily. (The mobile interface is a separate website so tablet users may prefer the standard interface.)

Other Resources

Zinio
Android or iTunes

Download popular magazines to your mobile device.
31 titles can be downloaded for free! Funded by the Indiana state library, login requires an Indiana state library card.

Indiana State Library Link - After doanloading the app, go to the Indiana state library link to download your selections.

Ivy Tech Research Applications

EBSCOHost
The EBSCOhost library link will adjust for a mobile device or download the app.
or Access all the Library's great EBSCO databases through the EBSCO App. Access to more than 30 EBSCO databases. These databases cover a wide range of subject areas.

 

  1. Go to Android or  iTunes on your iPhone, iPod or iPad and search for EBSCO
  2. After downloading the app, it must be authenticated from EBSCO. 
  3. Click the EBSCOhost iPhone/iPod Touch Application link at the bottom of any EBSCO page and enter your email address. An email with an authentication key will be sent to you.
  4. Access the email from your device and click the link found in the email to authenticate the application. You'll have 24 hours to access the key from your device to authenticate the app. If the key is not used within 24 hours, it expires and you will need a new key.
  5. Once it is authenticated, the app can be used for nine months, after which you must send yourself a new authentication key from the EBSCOhost interface. (Mobile app user Guide)
   

JSTOR

Search the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

JSTOR now has a Mobile beta website that allows you to search for and discover articles from your mobile device. The Mobile website was designed as a discovery service that helps you find articles and then email the citation to yourself so you can view the full article later from a computer. If you would like to view the articles on your mobile device, it does also have a zoom feature that allows you to zoom into specific pages if you are on an authenticated network address. Visit http://mobile.jstor.org on your mobile device and start discovering new articles today from any location!

 For more help, please visit the JSTOR website.

   

Gale PowerSearch

Gale's free AccessMyLibrary College app for Apple and Android devices provides you with access to all of Ivy Tech Library's Gale databases directly from your mobile device. First, you need to download the app onto your device from either Apple's App Store or the Android Market. When you open the app for the first time, choose the state "Indiana" and then choose "Ivy Tech Community College" as your school. On the next screen enter your Campus Connect email address. Gale will immediately send you a password to that e-mail address. Enter the password in the app and you will unlock unlimited access to all of the Gale databases from the Library.

ProQuest Goes Mobile

Now, you can access your ProQuest research databases on the mobile web, anytime, anywhere, from the device of your choice.

Natural Standards Mobile
High quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies including herbs, supplements, complementary practices, diets exercise and nutrition. However the mobile version does NOT contain all the resources avaiable from the desktop version.

Download the Skyscape App. Available for both the Android and iphone.

Follow the link above and provide your name and ivytech email address. You will receive a serial number via email to install Natural Standard within the Skyscape App.

 

Chronicle of Higher Education Online

Mobile site

Source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Mobile users will be automatically directed to the Chronicle mobile interface and will be given the option to switch back to standard view.