Articles and Journals - Science - Indianapolis - Ivy Tech Libraries at Ivy Tech Community College

Where to Find Articles

There are a couple ways you can find articles through your library.

Search

You can search IvyCat for print copies of magazines and journals in our collection.

You can also search for articles using our databases. You can see all our available databases on the A-Z list.

What's on this page?

On this page, you will see a narrowed-down list of recommended databases for your research.

There is also a separate page highlighting open access resources. These resources are openly available online.

Need help understanding how the research process works?

Click this link to see our "A Research IDEA" library guide: A Research IDEA

The following magazines are available in print. They can be checked out for 2 weeks at a time. Visit the library to check them out!

Discover	New Scientist
Journal of Chemical Education	Scientific American
National Geographic	Technology Review (MIT)

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
More than 1,200 reference works providing background information for topics ranging from agriculture to technology. Search within multiple sources using keywords, or browse topics in different subjects. Recommended for introductory research in all topics.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
This database provides over 25,000 general interest encyclopedia entries covering a variety of subject areas. Search by names and topics. ADA compliant.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database containing professional and peer-reviewed titles
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Portal to all EBSCO databases including Academic Search Complete, Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition, and more; select as appropriate from this entry page.
INSPIRE This link opens in a new window
Indiana State Library's collection of databases free to all residents. Includes Spanish, Portuguese, and French language databases. Recommended for all academic subjects at all levels. Also consumer research, genealogy and local history.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Reference works, Scholarly journals, Trade publications, and important General interest magazines covering core academic subject areas. Help Guide available.

AGRIS Agricultural Science and Technology Information This link opens in a new window
"AGRIS is the International System for Agricultural Science and Technology, a multilingual bibliographic database that connects users directly to a rich collection of research and worldwide technical information on food and agriculture."
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines with full text for almost 1,200 journals
Science Reference Source This link opens in a new window
A research database providing easy access to a wealth of full-text, science-oriented content. Designed to meet student researcher's needs, Science Reference Source contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other reliable sources. In addition, the database includes a vast collection of images from sources such as UPI, Getty, NASA, National Geographic and the Nature Picture Library.

The following list is of science magazines and journals available through your Ivy Tech library.

Not all magazines may be fully available online.

If you find an article you need, but you cannot access it, please Ask-A-Librarian and we can help you!

Discover
GSA Today
Open access journal from the Geological Society of America
National Geographic
Nature
New Scientist
Popular Science
Science
Published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Articles are searchable from 1986-present; however, due to a publisher embargo, you will need to contact the library to request full text articles from 2005-present.
Scientific American