Books about science and mathematics are shelved by Library of Congress call number in the general collection and reference.
Ebooks are also available through our databases or by searching IvyCat.
Browse the Q section to find books about science.
To see more information about the books below, hover your cursor over the 
icon.
| General Science | Q | Natural History and Biology | QH | |
| Mathematics | QA | Botany | QK | |
| Astronomy | QB | Zoology | QL | |
| Physics | QC | Human Anatomy | QM | |
| Chemistry | QD | Physiology | QP | |
| Geology | QE | Microbiology | QR |
Find Your Path by
Scientists offer personal accounts of the challenges, struggles, successes, U-turns, and satisfactions encountered in their careers in industry, academia, and government.This insightful book offers essential life and career lessons for newly minted STEM graduates and those seeking a career change. Thirty-six leading scientists and engineers (including two Nobel Prize winners) describe the challenges, struggles, successes, satisfactions, and U-turns encountered as they established their careers. Readers learn that there are professional possibilities beyond academia, as contributors describe the paths that took them into private industry and government as well as to college and university campuses. They discuss their varying preferences for solitary research or collaborative teamwork; their attempts to achieve work-life balance; and unplanned changes in direction that resulted in a more satisfying career. Women describe confronting overt sexism and institutional gender bias; scientists of color describe the experience of being outsiders in their field. One scientist moves from startup to startup, enjoying a career of serial challenges; another spends decades at one university; another has worked in academia, industry, and government. Some followed in the footsteps of parents; others were the first in their family to go to college. Many have changed fields, switched subjects, or left established organizations for something new. Taken together, these essays make it clear that there is not one path to a profession in science, but many. Contributors Stephon Alexander, Norman Augustine, Wanda Austin, Kimberly Budil, Wendy Cieslak, Jay Davis, Tamara Doering, Stephen D. Fantone, Kathleen Fisher, David Galas, Kathy Gisser, Sandra Glucksmann, Daniel Goodman, Renee Horton, Richard Lethin, Christopher Loose, John Mather, Richard Miles, Paul Nielsen, Michael O'Hanlon, Deirdre Olynick, Jennifer Park, Ellen Pawlikowski, Ethan Perlstein, Richard Post, William Press, Beth Reid, Jennifer Roberts, Jessica Seeliger, David Spergel, Ellen Stofan, Daniel Theobald, Shirley Tilghman, Jami Valentine, Z. Jane Wang, Rainer Weiss
My Remarkable Journey by
The remarkable woman at heart of the smash New York Times bestseller and Oscar-winning film Hidden Figures tells the full story of her life, including what it took to work at NASA, help land the first man on the moon, and live through a century of turmoil and change. In 2015, at the age of 97, Katherine Johnson became a global celebrity. President Barack Obama awarded her the prestigious Presidential Medal of Freedom--the nation's highest civilian honor--for her pioneering work as a mathematician on NASA's first flights into space. Her contributions to America's space program were celebrated in a blockbuster and Academy-award nominated movie. In this memoir, Katherine shares her personal journey from child prodigy in the Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia to NASA human computer. In her life after retirement, she served as a beacon of light for her family and community alike. Her story is centered around the basic tenets of her life--no one is better than you, education is paramount, and asking questions can break barriers. The memoir captures the many facets of this unique woman: the curious "daddy's girl," pioneering professional, and sage elder. This multidimensional portrait is also the record of a century of racial history that reveals the influential role educators at segregated schools and Historically Black Colleges and Universities played in nurturing the dreams of trailblazers like Katherine. The author pays homage to her mentor--the African American professor who inspired her to become a research mathematician despite having his own dream crushed by racism. Infused with the uplifting wisdom of a woman who handled great fame with genuine humility and great tragedy with enduring hope, My Remarkable Journey ultimately brings into focus a determined woman who navigated tough racial terrain with soft-spoken grace--and the unrelenting grit required to make history and inspire future generations.
Cosmos: Possible Worlds by
With lucid prose that recalls the best-selling and beloved Cosmos, Ann Druyan takes readers on an extraordinary journey through the vast and unexplored realms of Earth and space, past and future, fact and imagination. Written and published in coordination with the sensational international television debut of a second season of National Geographic's Cosmos,Cosmos Possible Worlds travels through more than 14 billion years of cosmic evolution and into an astonishing future where probes travel by light beams to distant stars, helping us solve enduring mysteries of our origins and dream of an unimaginable time ahead. Along the way, we meet the colorful characters who push beyond the boundaries of knowledge - both the little-known but monumental visionaries of the past and the scientists whose work is shaping our future. Color photographs, art, and diagrams based on graphics created for the television series - plus a foreword by Neil deGrasse Tyson, best-selling author, wildly popular science commentator, and host of Cosmos on the National Geographic Channel - complete this highly anticipated package.
Liquid Rules by
Sometimes explosive, often delicious, occasionally poisonous, and always fascinating: the New York Times bestselling author of Stuff Matters offers an "entertaining discussion of the various ways our lives are enriched by fluids" (The Wall Street Journal). We know that we need water to survive, and that, for some of us, a cup of coffee or a glass of wine can feel just as vital. But do we really understand how much we rely on liquids, or their destructive power? Set on one of the author's transatlantic flights, Liquid Rules offers readers a tour of these formless substances, told through the language of molecules, droplets, heartbeats, and ocean waves. We encounter fluids within the plane--from hand soap to liquid crystal display screens--and without: in the volcanoes of Iceland, the frozen expanse of Greenland, and the marvelous California coastline. We come to see liquids with wonder and fascination, and to understand their potential for death and destruction. Just as in his bestselling, award-winning Stuff Matters, Mark Miodownik's unique brand of scientific storytelling brings his subject to life in ways that will inform and amuse science buffs and lay readers alike.
A Gallery of Combustion and Fire by
A Gallery of Combustion and Fire is the first book to provide a graphical perspective of the extremely visual phenomenon of combustion in full color. It is designed primarily to be used in parallel with, and supplement existing combustion textbooks that are usually in black and white, making it a challenge to visualize such a graphic phenomenon. Each image includes a description of how it was generated, which is detailed enough for the expert but simple enough for the novice. Processes range from small scale academic flames up to full scale industrial flames under a wide range of conditions such as low and normal gravity, atmospheric to high pressures, actual and simulated flames, and controlled and uncontrolled flames. Containing over 500 color images, with over 230 contributors from over 75 organizations, this volume is a valuable asset for experts and novices alike.
Rocks and Rock Formations by
The first field guide that allows amateur rock enthusiasts to identify basic rocks and rock formations in a systematic way Many of us are fascinated by rocks--but identifying them can seem daunting. It's often tricky even for geologists, who rely on experience, intuition, and in-depth familiarity with rock-forming components. Rocks and Rock Formations allows everyone, amateur or professional, to successfully distinguish these amazing masses of minerals, using only careful observation, a magnifying glass, a pocket knife--and a bit of patience. Jürg Meyer provides a structured approach to the identification of all rocks within the three groups: sedimentary, igneous, and metamorphic. Bringing together more than 530 diagrams and photographs to illustrate essential characteristics, Meyer highlights some basics on rocks--their mineral constituents, structures, textures, fossils, weathering patterns, and more--which are important for a determination. The main part of the book is a handy and thorough identification key, which takes into account all possible rock variations, mixtures, and structural differences. The concluding section of the guide delves into rock systematics. Assuming little prior experience or knowledge, Rocks and Rock Formations is an invaluable resource for rock enthusiasts everywhere. Suitable for beginners and amateurs Helpful, systematic identification key Exploration of all types of rocks More than 530 diagrams and photographs
A Guide to Natural Areas of Northern Indiana by
The must-have field-guide for discovering the natural beauty of northern Indiana and "The Region" Beautiful and pristine, the natural areas of Indiana are perfect for nature lovers with a desire to explore. Featuring more than 140 beautiful color photos, A Guide to Natural Areas of Northern Indiana showcases the region's unique ecosystems and includes descriptions of the flora, fauna, geology, history, and recreational opportunities. For those who want excitement, there is information on hiking, camping, bird watching, horseback riding, boating, and more. Environmental writer and photographer Steven Higgs takes readers to the most exquisite natural areas across the region, including the JD Marshall underwater shipwreck preserve in Lake Michigan, the Indiana Dunes State Park, the Hoosier Prairie Nature Preserve, the Valparaiso Moraine, Spicer Lake, and many more. A must-have book for the explorer or nature lover, A Guide to Natural Areas of Northern Indianais the perfect resource for travelers who want to learn more about the region's distinctive natural heritage.
Here is a list of Ebook Databases available through your Ivy Tech library.
Please make sure you are logged in to MyIvy to access content.
Extensive collection of online academic books in all subject areas.
Very Short Introductions offer concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Expert authors combine facts, analysis, new insights, and enthusiasm to make often challenging topics highly readable to develop your core knowledge.
To access any of our ebooks, you will need to be signed in to MyIvy.
You have several options to search for ebooks through the library.
Click here to do an advanced search in IvyCat, Ivy Tech's online catalog. Under the Additional Limits section, choose Electronic Resources from the format type drop-down list.
For other ebook catalogs and databases, take a look at our A to Z list of resources. You can filter the type to Book and Ebook collections to see what's available.
Below are a few examples of the thousands of ebooks we have available:
Mars by
Mars is a small world with a big reputation. This mysterious, singular planet--with volcanoes that dwarf Mount Everest, a canyon system that would stretch fully across the United States, and curious landscapes that perhaps once harbored water--has fascinated us for centuries. In the most up-to-date account available of the elusive Red Planet, Stephen James O'Meara follows our longstanding love affair with this unique celestial body, from the musings of humanity's first stargazers to the imaginings of science-fiction writers, radio broadcasters, and filmmakers, to the latest images and discoveries from the Curiosity rover. The book also reviews plans for piloted missions to Mars--and what it will take for those missions to succeed.
Mathematical Physics by
This book is designed as an introduction to the mathematical concepts used to describe fundamental physics principles. Numerous examples and applications enable the reader to master complex mathematical concepts needed to define topics such as relativity, mechanics, and electromagnetics. Features: * Covers all of the mathematical concepts needed to study physics * Includes applications in every chapter * Instructor ancillaries for use as a textbook
Alcohol Oxidation: Reaction, Effects and Applications by
Over the last few years, there has been a growing interest in the development of sustainable processes for large-scale production of commodities. As such, Alcohol Oxidation: Reaction, Effects and Applications addresses recent developments in metal-catalyzed selective oxidation reactions of alcohols to carbonyl-containing compounds under unconventional conditions.Following this, the authors examine how simple alcohols have been used as feedstocks for the preparation of a variety of enantioenriched substances. Cascade reactions allow for the elaboration of complex molecules from simple starting materials in a very efficient way. Several bonds can be made in one-pot procedures without the need for intermediates to be isolated.Metal-organic frameworks and covalent organic frameworks are two classes of highly porous materials that have been heavily investigated in recent years. As such, in this compilation the authors focus on the use of metal-organic frameworks as heterogeneous oxidation catalysts.Enantiopure alcohols are important starting materials and intermediates for the synthesis of many biologically active compounds and fine chemicals. The use of enzymes for the kinetic resolution of racemates has produced affordable enantiopure compounds in good yields, however non-enzymatic chiral catalytic systems have been gaining ground. Accordingly, the effective non-enzymatic oxidative kinetic resolutions of racemic alcohols and related compounds such as diols or benzoins are summarized and discussed.Lastly, the potential employment of the electrochemical process to oxidize alcohols in a more efficient way than the usual chemical method is presented. The use of the electrode potential as a controllable variable and driving force of the process allows for the oxidation of some alcohol molecules without of the very aggressive nature of reactants.
Everything You Need to Ace Biology in One Big Fat Notebook by
Biology? No Problem! This Big Fat Notebook covers everything you need to know during a year of high school BIOLOGY class, breaking down one big bad subject into accessible units. Including: biological classification, cell theory, photosynthesis, bacteria, viruses, mold, fungi, the human body, plant and animal reproduction, DNA & RNA, evolution, genetic engineering, the ecosystem and more. Study better with mnemonic devices, definitions, diagrams, educational doodles, and quizzes to recap it all. Millions and millions of BIG FAT NOTEBOOKS sold!
