Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Diversity and Inclusion: Racism

Just Mercy [motion picture]

 

Just Mercy [motion picture]

Coming soon!

Films on Deman

Films On Demand offers more than 20,000 educational titles that are neatly grouped into convenient, subject-specific categories, including many titles on racism, diversity, and inclusion.

Let's Start with this Reader

"The excerpts in this volume--culled from works of history, law, sociology, medicine, economics, critical theory, philosophy, art, and literature--are an invitation to understand anti-Black racism through the eyes of our most incisive commentators."

Background Information: Pre-search to Research

Start your research here!
Reading 3-4 articles from the resources below will help you to better understand the scope and important issues of your topic.  As you read about your topic, you will discover which issues you will want to focus on in your paper. 
 

Best Bet: African American Experience
Developed by African-American librarians and subject specialists and organized by era, this vast and accessible database covers the topic of African American history and its relation to U.S. history through published articles, essays, objects and artifacts, ideas and movements, images, documents, and other historical and culturally valuable sources. The database also includes an "Analyze" section which poses key questions to stimulate critical thinking.

 

Credo Reference
Credo Reference is a collection of hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and handbooks.  Look for entries that have over 800 words. Here is a snapshot of a search for "race pay equity" in Credo.  

 

CQ Researcher 
Provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day in researched, footnoted, and fact-checked articles written by seasoned journalists. Below is a snapshot of a CQ Researcher article; note the options for accessing information with in the article on the left.

 

Find Articles and Books

Best Bet: Discover! 
Discover! searches thousands of articles in a number of research article databases (Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, etc.), as well as IvyCat, a database for all the materials available in our Library (books, ebooks, videos, etc.).

 

 

 

 

Opposing Viewpoints

Best Bet:  Gale Opposing Viewpoints 
Differing viewpoints (be aware of bias) on social issues found in magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles as well as video, audio, maps, statistics, reference sources and more.  Here is a snapshot of a search for immigration and refugees:


CQ Researcher
  

Each includes a Pro/Con section where experts present their viewpoint on the issue.  Here is the Pro/Con page from the same article, "Racial Conflict":