Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education - Sellersburg: Elementary Authors

A - C

Ardema, Verna
Why Mosquitoes Buzz in People's Ears won the Caldecott Medal as the most distinguished American children's picture book in 1976.
Ackerman, Karen
 
A colorful, active site with information on Karen Ackerman, her books, awards and more.
Ada, Alma Flor

Few images are more compelling than that of an encounter: a butterfly and a flower blended together in a brief burst of color, the sun rays and a raindrop joined in a rainbow, a mother and her newborn child, two pairs of eyes held in a deeply felt gaze, two hands clasped in friendship–and surely among the most meaningful encounters, the one between a child and a book. 
Ahlberg, Allan
One of the most acclaimed and successful authors of children's books - including the best-selling Jolly Postman series - says that he dreamed of becoming a writer since the age of twelve.
Ancona, George
A bi-lingual site for educators & families of English language learners
 

Berenstain, Stan & Jan
Complete biography on this author pair.
Blume, Judy
Judy Blume's official website: The One in the Middle is the Green Kangaroo.
Brett, Jan
A beautiful homepage filled with ideas and items to share.
Bridwell, Norman
Clifford, Big Red Dog.
Brown, Marc
Marc Brown Studio website.
Byars, Betsy
Betsy Byars official website, books listed by age.


Caldecott Society
The homepage of the Randolph Caldecott Society UK.
Carle, Eric
The Official Eric Carle Homepage.
Christopher, Matt
The writer young readers turn to when they’re looking for fast-paced, action-packed sports novels.
Cleary, Beverly

The World of Beverly Cleary.
Cole, Joanna
Read Magic School Bus books online at Goodreads.
Colville, Bruce
The official website of Bruce Colville. Lots of information and fun to be found here.
Cooney, Barbara
Find great books for preschool, elementary, and middle school children and teens along with ideas of ways to teach with them in the classroom across the curriculum.
Creech, Sharon
The author's website with a biography, bibliography, & contests.
Curry, Jane Louise
Time Travel, Fantasy, Mystery -- Books for Children and Young Adults

 

D - M

Dahl, Roald
This incredible official website includes biography, bibliography, links, & teacher resources.
Danzinger, Paula
Born in Washington, D.C. and raised in New York, Paula Danziger knew since the second grade that she wanted to be a writer. She is the author of many classic children's books, including The Cat Ate My Gymsuit, The Divorce Express, and the Amber Brown series.
DePaola, Tomi
The official website of author/artist Tomie DePaola, biography & bibliography.


Fleischman, Sid
Sid Fleischman's official website with biography, bibliography, magic trick, awards and writing tips.
 

Geisel, Theodore (Dr. Seuss)
Dr. Seuss website includes a biography along with National Memorial info.
Gibbons, Gail
Homepage of author Gail Gibbons including autobiography, bibliography, artwork & photos.
Giff, Patricia Reilly
Learn all about Patricia Reilly Giff at Random House Kids.
Gutman, Dan
Author Dan Gutman's homepage with biography, bibliography, lesson suggestions, excerpts from his books and surprises.
 

Hahn, Mary Downing
Author of spine-chilling ghost stories, spooky mysteries, and other books for children
Hamilton, Virginia
America’s most distinguished author of children’s books


Keats, Ezra Jack,

Ezra Jack Keats including a biography, bibliography of books featuring "Peter", the making of a book, and teacher resources.
Kellogg, Steven
An autobiography of the author and a link to his books.
.

Lewis, C. S.
An official web site devoted to C. S. Lewis.
Lowery, Lois
About Lois Lowery-- A site with biography, bibliography, book reviews, awards, & links.

M- Z

Mayer, Mercer
Brief biography, additional resource links.
 

Osborne, Mary Pope
The author's website including biography, annotated bibliography with book covers, and a link to Magic Tree House.

Paulson, Gary
Gary Paulsen is the distinguished author of many critically acclaimed books for young people, including three Newbery Honor books: The Winter Room, Hatchet, and Dogsong.

Polacco, Patricia
Author's homepage with books, biography, Facebook link & contact information.

 

Scieszka, Jon
Three aliens have invaded Brooklyn and disguised themselves as two 5th graders . . . and one 5th grade class hamster.

Sendak, Maurice
Author of Where The Wild Things Are

Silverstein, Shel
Shel Silverstein official website. Biography, bibliography fun & games plus learning resources.


Tolkein, J.R.R
A palace with a thousand and one entrances, J.R.R. Tolkien's world can be explored through a thousand and one doorways


Van Allsburg, Chris
Chris Van Allsburg page includes a  biography, videos, & news.

Viorst, Judith
Viorst writes in many different areas: science books, children’s chapter and picture books—including the beloved Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.
 

White, E.B
Auhor of such beloved children's classics as Charlotte's Web, Stuart Little, and The Trumpet of the Swan.

Wilder, Laura Ingalls
Her adventures come to life through interviews with historians, passages from the Little House books, archival photography, paintings from famous frontier artists, dramatic reenactments, a beautiful original score, and original artwork.

Wood, Audrey
The Audrey Wood Clubhouse site with biography, bibliography, parent/teacher section & contact info.


Yolen, Jane
This web book presents information about her over two hundred books for children. It also contains essays, poems, answers to frequently asked questions, a brief biography, her travel schedule, and links to resources for teachers and writers. It is intended for children, teachers, writers, storytellers, and lovers of children's literature.