Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Accounting - Wabash Valley: Academic Databases

Journals/Mags in Print

Current and back issues of magazines and journals held by the library in print format may be found on display racks in the Periodicals section of your library. Magazines and journals can only be used in the library, if you need to copy something use the copy machine on the east wall of the library by the reference shelves. 

E-Journals at Ivy Tech

Access to specific magazines and journals online (from our library databases listed in the central box on this page) can be found   Yes, you can browse an entire issue of an e-journal!

Click to see lists of journals under various business topics, or find them by using the drop-down menu in the search boxes below:

 

Find e-journals by title or ISSN

   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Accounting Databases

Online Accounting Journals

Full-text online accounting journals available from a variety of the
Ivy Tech Libraries’ subscription databases.

Business Source Premier from EBSCO

2,300 full-text business periodicals.

Company Dossier from Lexi-Nexis

Company dossiers, company profiles, accounting sources, and more.

Company Profiles from EBSCO

In depth reports including company history, SWOT analysis, products, competitors, and more.  

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar results are now linking to library databases! 
We don't recommend it as your first or only step in research --
but can be a useful tool to find scholarly articles available at Ivy Tech:

Google Scholar

New to using Google Scholar?  Start here (guide).

Peer-reviewed, Scholarly Publications

Some databases provide an option to narrow your result list to articles from peer-reviewed, scholarly journals. When you select this option the database will filter out any books, articles published in popular or trade journals, audio and video files, etc. Academic Search Premier and Proquest Research Libraries are two examples of scholarly databases.  Here is how Proquest explains the difference between scholarly and peer reviewed publications:

A publication is considered to be scholarly if it is authored by academics for a target audience that is mainly academic, the printed format isn't usually a glossy magazine, and it is published by a recognized society with academic goals and missions.

A publication is considered to be peer reviewed if its articles go through an official editorial process that involves review and approval by the author's peers (people who are experts in the same subject area.) Most (but not all) scholarly publications are peer reviewed. Some trade publications are actually peer reviewed, but ProQuest does not consider them when filtering on peer reviewed. This is because getting results from trade publications instead of academic journals can be frustrating to researchers. Instead, ProQuest excludes these peer reviewed trade publications and only considers publications that are scholarly in terms of content, intent, and audience.

Your instructor may also have specific criteria that you need to follow that is provided on your syllabus or during class.

See the links below for additional information on how to determine if an article is scholarly.

Subject Guide