Anatomy and Physiology - Nursing and Health Sciences - South Bend-Elkhart - Ivy Tech Libraries at Ivy Tech Community College

eBooks

The Human Body Book: An Illustrated Guide to Its Structure, Function and Disorders by Dorling Kindersley Publishing, Inc
Introduction to the Anatomy and Physiology of Children: a guide for students of nursing, child care and health by Janet MacGregor
Ebook Collection (EBSCO)

The Visible Human Project: informatic bodies and posthuman medicine by Catherine Waldby
Ebook Central
Anatomy by McGraw-Hill Medical 2008
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Human Brain Anatomy in Computerized Images by Hanna Damasio
Ebook Central
Gray's Anatomy
Full text of the 1918 edition of this classic human anatomy book.

Learning Resources

LEARNING RESOURCES

Acid-Base Tutorial by Tulane University, School of Medicine

A review of acid-base physiology, the Henderson Equation, respiratory and metabolic factors, and clinical considerations.

BBC Interactive Body
Basic information on parts of the body that challenges you to assemble various organs, bones and muscles in the right places, and tests your nervous system and senses. Requires Flash 5.

Cells Alive
Provides basic cell biology, microbiology, and immunology videos, micrographs and diagrams.

ECG Quizzes by Alan E Lindsay ECG Learning Center in Cyberspace

eSkeletons
eSkeletons provides an interactive environment in which to examine and learn about skeletal anatomy.

Multiple Sclerosis Tutorial by Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library, Utah
Animated graphics, images and videos present MS epidemiology, pathology, etiology, clinical presentation, and diagnostic criteria.

NeuroExam
Interactive online guide to the neurological examination.

The Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education by Mercer University School of Medicine
The WebPath® computer-aided instructional resource at this website contains over 2000 images with text that illustrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings along with radiologic imaging associated with human disease conditions. For self-assessment and study there are over 2000 examination items. There are more than 20 tutorials in specific subject areas.

The Skull Practical Exam (Loyola University Medical Education Network)

WebAnatomy (University of Minnesota)
A collection of study aids for entry-level anatomy and physiology students. Includes Self Tests, Timed Tests, Multiplayer Games and Image Bank.

Khan Academy

Khan Academy has many series of videos to help students learn about different topics. Here are some topics related to anatomy and physiology:

Structure of a cell: cells, prokaryotic & eukaryotic cells, extracellular structures & cell-cell junctions

Cellular and molecular biology: cell division, mitosis, meiosis, stem cells & cancer, cellular respiration

Human biology: Circulatory & pulmonary systems, neurons & nervous system, kidney & nephron, muscles

Health & Medicine: anatomy & physiology: advanced circulatory, respiratory, hematologic, endocrine, nervous, gastrointestinal, and muscular-skeletal systems physiology

Brain Atlases

The Human Brain Atlas (Michigan State University)

Online atlas divided into MRI sections through a living human brain as well as corresponding sections stained for cell bodies or for nerve fibers.
BrainMaps.com

BrainMaps.org is an interactive multiresolution next-generation brain atlas that is based on over 20 million megapixels of sub-micron resolution, annotated, scanned images of serial sections of both primate and non-primate brains and that is integrated with a high-speed database for querying and retrieving data about brain structure and function over the internet. Currently featured are complete brain atlas datasets for various species, including Macaca mulatta, Chlorocebus aethiops, Felis catus, Mus musculus, Rattus norvegicus, and Tyto alba.
Digital Anatomist: Interactive Brain Map (University of Washington)

Includes 2-D and 3-D views of the brain from cadaver sections, MRI scans, and computer reconstructions. From the Dept. of Biological Structure and the Integrated Academic Information Management Systems (IAIMS) Program, Univ. of Washington, Seattle.
Spinal Cord/Brainstem Interactive Atlas (Bellarmine University)

A web based, interactive, anatomical atlas consisting of twenty-seven plates of transverse sections of the spinal cord and brainstem.
Whole Brain Atlas (Harvard University)

"This is your brain in pictures. The best visual representation of what's inside your head gets even better. How many other sites offer you the top 100 (actually 106) brain structures? Each sub-page here consists of a nifty graphic and plenty of medical terms that, quite frankly, we don't understand. The folks at Harvard also display the visual results of brain ailments like stroke and Alzheimer's -- even Mad Cow Disease. Some section contain accompanying lecture notes and nearly all are geared.

Dermatology Atlas

Dermatology Image Bank

Includes images of many different dermatologic disorders. Maintained by the Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library, University of Utah Health Sciences Center. Multimedia items may be downloaded and used for educational purposes.
Dermatology Online Atlas

DermIS.net is the largest dermatology information service available on the internet. It offers elaborate image atlases (DOIA and PeDOIA) complete with diagnoses and differential diagnoses, case reports and additional information on almost all skin disease.

Gastroenterology Atlases

Atlas of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy

This atlas of endoscopy was produced by David M. Martin, M.D. and by Ralph C. Lyons, M.D.
El Salvador Atlas of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy

This atlas includes images and videos of endoscopic findings. Maintained by Dr. Julio Murra-Saca MD, Chief of the Department of Gastroenterology, Jerusalem Medical Center, San Salvador, El Salvador.

Muscle Atlases

Muscle Atlas - Musculoskeletal Radiology (University of Washington)
Master Muscle List (Loyola University)

View muscles by region or an alphabetical listing.

Ophthalmology Atlas

Atlas of Ophthalmology

"Public online database, free of charge, edited by specialists in the field." Endorsed by the International Council of Ophthalmology.

Nursing and Health Sciences - South Bend-Elkhart