Cognitive Therapy of Personality Disorders, Third Edition by
This widely used practitioner resource and training tool is the definitive work on understanding and treating personality disorders from a cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT) perspective. The prominent editors and contributors explain the nature of personality disorders and why they are so challenging to treat. Chapters addressing 12 specific disorders are organized around vivid, instructive clinical examples. The book provides up-to-date scientific knowledge about each disorder and describes effective strategies for differential diagnosis, case conceptualization, implementing individualized CBT interventions, and overcoming roadblocks. New to This Edition *Incorporates cutting-edge clinical approaches and research; expands the cognitive theory of personality disorder. *Chapters on neural mechanisms, cultural diversity issues, and depressive personality disorder. *Chapters on co-occurring disorders and management of clinical challenges. *Disorder-specific chapters now include sections on key treatment goals, progress and termination, and clinician self-care. *Discusses DSM-5 concepts and diagnostic criteria. *Reviews advances in assessing personality beliefs.
Borderline Personality Disorder by
This book is an ideal resource for general readers who want a clear understanding of people suffering with chaotic emotions, and for clinicians treating patients for Borderline Personality Disorder (BPD). * Provides a historical exploration of how the diagnosis of Borderline Personality Disorder emerged * Explains what causes Borderline Personality Disorder * Presents case vignettes that give readers an unprecedented look into the lived experience of persons suffering from emotional chaos
Obsessive-Compulsive Personality Disorder by
This unprecedented work is an invaluable resource for therapists treating patients with obsessive-compulsive personality disorder (OCPD), for individuals suffering from OCPD, and for friends, family, and coworkers of those with OCPD. * Explains how OCPD compromises not only the quality of life of its sufferers but also the lives of many of the people that surround each OCPD individual * Examines OCPD from multiple perspectives, documenting the author's eclectic treatment approach that views OCPD from multiple vantage points, including the psychodynamic, the interpersonal, and the cognitive-behavioral * Extends the discussion of OCPD to include OCPD-inspired bureaucracies and how treating these toxic environments can lead to substantially improved socioeconomic functioning worldwide * Serves therapists treating patients with OCPD; patients suffering from OCPD; friends, family, and coworkers of those with OCPD; and general readers interested in mental health issues * Provides a bonus section on self-help methods that can be employed by the OCPD sufferer and those in the path of OCPD fallout
Handbook of Borderline Personality Disorder in Children and Adolescents by
Diagnosing Borderline Personality Disorder (BPD) in young people has long been a tough call for clinicians, either for fear of stigmatizing the child or confusing the normal mood shifts of adolescence with pathology. Now, a recent upsurge in relevant research into early-onset BPD is inspiring the field to move beyond this hesitance toward a developmentally nuanced understanding of the disorder. The Handbook of Borderline Personality Disorder in Children and Adolescents reflects the broad scope and empirical strengths of current research as well as promising advances in treatment. This comprehensive resource is authored by veteran and emerging names across disciplines, including developmental psychopathology, clinical psychology, child psychiatry, genetics and neuroscience in order to organize the field for an integrative future. Leading-edge topics range from the role of parenting in the development of BPD to trait-based versus symptom-based assessment approaches, from the life-course trajectory of BPD to the impact of the DSM-5 on diagnosis. And of particular interest are the data on youth modifications of widely used adult interventions, with session excerpts. Key areas featured in the Handbook: The history of research on BPD in childhood and adolescence. Conceptualization and assessment issues. Etiology and core components of BPD. Developmental course and psychosocial correlates. Empirically supported treatment methods. Implications for future research, assessment and intervention. The Handbook of Borderline Personality Disorder in Children and Adolescents is a breakthrough reference for researchers and clinicians in a wide range of disciplines, including child and school psychology and psychiatry, social work, psychotherapy and counseling, nursing management and research and personality and social psychology.
The Power of Different by
A powerful and inspiring examination of the connection between the potential for great talent and conditions commonly thought to be "disabilities," revealing how the source of our struggles can be the origin of our greatest strengths. InThe Power of Different, psychiatrist and bestselling author Gail Saltz examines the latest scientific discoveries, profiles famous geniuses who have been diagnosed with all manner of brain "problems"--including learning disabilities, ADD, anxiety, Depression, Bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, and Autism--and tells the stories of lay individuals to demonstrate how specific deficits in certain areas of the brain are directly associated with the potential for great talent. Saltz shows how the very conditions that cause people to experience difficulty at school, in social situations, at home, or at work, are inextricably bound to creative, disciplinary, artistic, empathetic, and cognitive abilities. In this pioneering work, readers will find engaging scientific research and stories from historical geniuses and everyday individuals who have not only made the most of their conditions, but who have flourishedbecause of them. They are leaning into their brain differences to: *Identify areas of interest and expertise *Develop work arounds *Create the environments that best foster their talents *Forge rewarding interpersonal relationships Enlightening and inspiring,The Power of Different proves that the unique wiring of every brain can be a source of strength and productivity, and contributes to the richness of our world.
Messy by
"Utterly fascinating. Tim Harford shows that if you want to be creative and resilient, you need a little more disorder in your world." --Adam Grant, New York Times-bestselling author of Originals and Give and Take "Engrossing." --New York Times From the award-winning columnist and author of the national bestseller The Undercover Economist comes a provocative big idea book about the genuine benefits of being messy: at home, at work, in the classroom, and beyond. Look out for Tim's next book, Fifty Inventions That Shaped the Modern Economy. Messy: The Power of Disorder to Transform Our Lives celebrates the benefits that messiness has in our lives: why it's important, why we resist it, and why we should embrace it instead. Using research from neuroscience, psychology, social science, as well as captivating examples of real people doing extraordinary things, Tim Harford explains that the human qualities we value - creativity, responsiveness, resilience - are integral to the disorder, confusion, and disarray that produce them. From the music studio of Brian Eno to the Lincoln Memorial with Martin Luther King, Jr., from the board room to the classroom, messiness lies at the core of how we innovate, how we achieve, how we reach each other - in short, how we succeed. In Messy, you'll learn about the unexpected connections between creativity and mess; understand why unexpected changes of plans, unfamiliar people, and unforeseen events can help generate new ideas and opportunities as they make you anxious and angry; and come to appreciate that the human inclination for tidiness - in our personal and professional lives, online, even in children's play - can mask deep and debilitating fragility that keep us from innovation. Stimulating and readable as it points exciting ways forward, Messy is an insightful exploration of the real advantages of mess in our lives.
Understanding OCD by
One of the most experienced therapists in the world for treatment-resistant obsessive compulsive disorder (OCD) explains the disorder, the treatments available, and the skills needed to overcome and outsmart OCD. * Includes a list of normal "bad" thoughts versus obsessions * Features tests to rate one's guilt, scrupulosity, and OCD * Examines the ways in which guilt is an interfering factor in OCD treatment and recovery * Covers effective strategies for controlling the conscience-related aspects of the disease
The Selfishness of Others by
They're among us, but they are not like us. They manipulate, lie, cheat, and steal. They are irresistibly charming and accomplished, appearing to live in a radiance beyond what we are capable of. But narcissists areempty. No one knows exactly what everyone else is full of--some kind of a soul, or personhood--but whatever it is, experts agree that narcissists do not have it. So goes the popular understanding of narcissism, or NPD (narcissistic personality disorder). And it's more prevalent than ever, according to recent articles inThe New York Times,The Atlantic, andTime. In bestsellers likeThe Narcissism Epidemic,Narcissists Exposed, andThe Narcissist Next Door, pop psychologists have armed the normal with tools to identify and combat the vampiric influence of this rising population, while on websites like narcissismsurvivor.com, thousands of people congregate to swap horror stories about relationships with "narcs." InThe Selfishness of Others, the essayist Kristin Dombek provides a clear-sighted account of how a rare clinical diagnosis became a fluid cultural phenomenon, a repository for our deepest fears about love, friendship, and family. She cuts through hysteria in search of the razor-thin line between pathology and common selfishness, writing with robust skepticism toward the prophets of NPD and genuine empathy for those who see themselves as its victims. And finally, she shares her own story in a candid effort to find a path away from the cycle of fear and blame and toward a more forgiving and rewarding life.
Psychiatric Aspects of Criminal Behavior by
Eugene Revitch, M.D., was a prolific author, a seminal thinker, and truly ahead of his time. The papers he published many years ago are highly relevant today. He has written some of the first papers on sexual murder and sexual aggression long before there was widespread interest in these topics. He coined the term "conjugal paranoia," and was one of the first to study patients who kill their physicians, and made many contributions to the interface of psychiatry and neurology, specifically as it relates to explosive violence. The works of Doctor Eugene Revitch are as relevant today as when they were published fifty years ago. This book has been written in the hopes these important works of Doctor Revitch will not be abandoned nor forgotten. Among the key topics discussed in this volume are sex murders and aggression, mental disorders and crime, psychiatric aspects of epilepsy, and epileptoid violence. The first section of this book discusses extreme manifestations of sexual aggression and murder, the potential sex murderer, gynocide and unprovoked attacks on women, sexually motivated burglaries, and burglaries with sexual dynamics. The second section focuses on mental disorders and crime, the concept of psychopathic personalities, the pedophile offender, classification of offenders for prognostic and dispositional evaluation, patients who kill their physicians, the problem of conjugal paranoia, and the diagnosis and disposition of the paranoid marital partner. The third section explores the psychiatric and diagnostic problems in epilepsy, epileptic manifestations resembling psychiatric disorders, psychomotor paroxysms and manifestations of nonepileptic origin, and the social aspects of epilepsy. Case examples are used to illustrate specific points within various chapters. This book will make an important contribution in furthering the understanding of contemporary forensic issues, as well as the historic development of forensic psychiatric and psychological thoughts and practices. This unique and comprehensive text will prove invaluable to history buffs, forensic psychologists and psychiatrists, criminologists, legal professionals, and law enforcement personnel.
Social Psychology by
Written by well-known sociologists John D. DeLamater, Daniel J. Myers, and Jessica L. Collett, this fully revised and updated edition of Social Psychology is a highly accessible and engaging exploration of the question "what is it that makes us who we are?". With hundreds of real-world examples, figures, and photographs and grounded in the latest research, the text explores such topics as self, attitudes, social influence, emotions, interpersonal attraction and relationships, and collective behavior. The book also explains the methods that social psychologists use to investigate human behavior in a social context and the theoretical perspectives that ground the discipline. Each chapter is a self-contained unit for ease of use in any classroom.
Psychological Science under Scrutiny by
Psychological Science Under Scrutiny explores a range of contemporary challenges to the assumptions and methodologies of psychology, in order to encourage debate and ground the discipline in solid science. Discusses the pointed challenges posed by critics to the field of psychological research, which have given pause to psychological researchers across a broad spectrum of sub-fields Argues that those conducting psychological research need to fundamentally change the way they think about data and results, in order to ensure that psychology has a firm basis in empirical science Places the recent challenges discussed into a broad historical and conceptual perspective, and considers their implications for the future of psychological methodology and research Challenges discussed include confirmation bias, the effects of grant pressure, false-positive findings, overestimating the efficacy of medications, and high correlations in functional brain imaging Chapters are authored by internationally recognized experts in their fields, and are written with a minimum of specialized terminology to ensure accessibility to students and lay readers
Books in the library and online:
Use IvyCat to find materials in Ivy Tech Libraries and to link to ebooks.
Use this IvyCat quick search box for a search limited to ebooks:
